We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tip top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

From check in to check out, service was very good. Stayed 7 nights in corner room with king sized bed on floor 2. Our guestroom was spacious and had obviously been recently refurbished.

Excellent use of space in our room, however the outlook, onto fire escapes and the dark shadows cast by very close buildings meant we did not open the blinds during our stay. I had to crane my neck to be able to see what the weather was doing each morning, before deciding on day wear. Not particularly a problem, since we were out and about all day and the lack of natural daylight was otherwise not an issue to us.

L'Occitane products in bathroom. Compact and contained a very useful full length mirror incorporated into the internal door. Only drawback was that the shower head was not easy to change position and VERY high up on back wall - O.K. if you are tall. Shower was very powerful and hot. Effective hairdryer (not like those in some hotels that blow out token hot air). Housekeeping was effective and subtle.

Handy for use of Fitness Centre if you wish to use it and to use the self-serve coffee station also on floor 2. 3 computer terminals are available for guests' use and we found this useful for booking/ printing out tickets to shows etc.

The Blue Bar was too 'blue' - and was not comfortable to sit in for long. Consequently we used the lobby area for relaxing in, at the end of an evening where the staff and service were just the same - equally good. Drinks were on the expensive side (e.g. 22 dollars for a cocktail). The lobby served tea/ coffee until 10.00 am so we often used that to set us up for the morning before taking brunch later.

Quality decor and furnishings and the style of the hotel oozes history - and there is plenty of it to be seen about in this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room with a king bed but probably on a higher floor than floor 2 if you want natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    665
    196
    103
    62
See reviews for
288
803
120
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel charges your card additional monies after you check out. They claimed i broke a chair and decided to charge my card a few hundred dollars after I left. I did not break the chair, i doubt I even sat at the desk, and nobody ever contacted me about it before they decided to charge me. Further when they finally agreed to refund the charge they indicated they would not provide evidence of the refund and directed me to my credit card company.

Also, when I spoke to their GM Mr Budge he spoke to me in a condescending tone and, in my opinion, could have cared less about this. The property is decent - the attitude and culture is awful. In the end it's about interactions with staff and this hotel failed in many ways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Greetings and thank you for taking time to express your candid comments regarding your Algonquin Hotel visit. The feedback provided is appreciated by the hotel team. When an error is brought to the hotel’s attention, the hotel works to make the situation right. In this particular case, the charge for the furniture that was somehow broken was removed from the guests folio. The hotel notes this situation could have been resolved sooner.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Algonquin in July for 4 nights. We absolutely loved it! The location was perfect (literally a minute from Times Square but not on the main drag, so it was more quiet!). Complimentary coffee and tea were available in the lobby every morning so we could grab one to go and then there was a complimentary keurig coffee machine on the second floor for the remainder of the day. Nothing beat having free wifi which we were able to use on our own laptop in the room as well as a few computers on the second level. The service was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it! The room was clean and had all you needed for a comfortable stay. I will be back again!!! Also, Matilda, the lobby cat was pretty cute!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is very nice, small, courteous staff, fantastic location to Times Square, newly renovated rooms, average or above average room sizes for NY, however the noise was terrible. That is the only downfall. The rooms are not very soundproof from the other guest rooms & the noise during the night was so bad it was almost as if we didn't have windows. If our room did not face the street it may have been better. Marriott hotels are wonderful, but we've stayed at the one on 40th & it was chic & much quieter, yet still in the same area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingIsAMust4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you want to stay near Times Square but not right in the middle of the flashing lights, this is a GREAT hotel. It's location is perfect but it's also tucked away just enough to avoid a lot of the commotion. The hotel itself is very nice, modern and the staff is great. If you're looking for a suite, the Simon & Schuster suite is excellent and you can add 2 connecting bedrooms for a 3-bedroom suite. The Blue Bar downstairs is excellent. Technically it is a Marriott property but there is very little about this hotel that feels like a Marriott (more of a boutique feel), but you earn reward points and get perks if you are an elite member. It's a excellent addition to the Marriott portfolio in Manhattan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

It was pleasant, but I was with a group, otherwise couldn't have afforded it.... I love Dorothy Parker and the history including the Algonquin Round Table, the New Yorker, etc. But the Marriott ownership has both modernized the rooms and removed a lot of the history. I was directed to check out the second floor for memorabilia, but there were only a handful of photos of the round table crew. However, each room is adorned with a cute photo and quote from a writer of the era, and the hotel kept some of the framed New Yorker covers. As you would expect, food and drink are expensive in the hotel. Very convenient to the Broadway theatres-great location. Marriott kept the resident cat in the lobby, which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights in mid-August 2013. Fantastic location, excellent staff , great ambience. Small rooms but made up for by excellent surroundings and service. Would book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryveronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing