We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #190 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
murwillumbah
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Historical beauty”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We particularly wanted to stay at this hotel because of its links to the past. We were not disappointed. Yes, the room was small, but it is an old hotel - recently renovated - and the appointments were luxurious. The receptionists delightfully friendly and the bar staff attentive. It is a great pity that Matilda the incumbent cat is not allowed to roam, because of some "politically correct" nonsense - if someone is unable to enjoy the wonderful companionship of a cat - then by all means find another hotel! The witty writers of the past who frequented the "round table" would, I am sure, be sad that Matilda must remain behind the reception desk at all times. No one seems to complain about the labradors at The Fairmont in Vancouver. Apart from this, we were delighted with our six night stay at the famous Algonquin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gretamurwillumbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    690
    204
    111
    66
See reviews for
297
840
126
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a very beautiful hotel with lots of history. The location is great, near many attractions, but on a quieter street. We had a king room, and the only negative was how small it was. However, this is not unusual for NY. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get up in the morning. Service was good overall, although the doorman seemed more interested in texting. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakiwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The Algonquin is a beautiful historic hotel right next to Times Square and the theatre district. What makes the hotel is its staff- their friendliness, attentiveness, kindness to our children, and overall warm atmosphere made the hotel for us. Matilda the cat was a hit with our girls but not as much as Kevin, Peter and Sean who all got hugs as we left for the many ways they looked out for us (umbrellas, bag watching, cab grabbing in pouring rain-all with a smile).
Every nice hotel has good furnishings, nice beds and shampoo- very few have staff that make you want to return just to see them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Checkmatedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I had no idea what we had booked except that the hotel had a connection with Dorothy Parker going back to the 1920s and that it was one of the older Manhattan hotels. On arrival we were made welcome and managed to get an early check in. Good start.

The hotel is part of the Marriott Group Autograpg collection and is "bijoux" as such but the bedroom had adequte room and a comfortable bed. There was a big cupboard with an iron and ironing board, Very useful. The bathroom was supplied with fine soft towels and although there was no kettle in the room, coffee was readily available from a perculator type machine on the 2nd floor for free.

The lobby area had comfortable couches and chairs and although the drinks I thought were a bit more than our budget might afford, it was worth the opportunity to sit and relax aftrer a long walk around the many, many sights of Mid Town New York.

Free WiFi fast enough for me once you worked out how to connect.

Downsides - the rooms at the front and I would think the lower floors get all the road noise plus deliveries and collection of trash at two or three in the morning. maybe a bit of soundproofing is required at the front.

The location was quite good being close to Broadway and Times Square as well as abundant subway coneections to all parts of town.

Room Tip: Back rooms may be the best. Lower rooms get all the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanmarut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a nice old New York Hotel with tons of character. Rooms are small as youi'd expect in an older hotel but nicely remodeled and very comfortable. Too small for more than two people. Service was also great but the best part is the location which is ideal, especially if you like to walk.
The downside is no movies........at all. HBO and regular channels. I wouldn't want to stay there with my family as a result. The bigger problem is the internet is about as slow as dial up. Simply not workable for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Europe-07-09-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Double room very cramped;not enough room to open suitcase.However many positives;staff friendly and helpful;well-positioned for Times Sq/theatre district;good value Pre theatre dinner in hotel restaurant;free coffee/papers in lobby each morning.
Would be keen to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BXK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a quick overnight stay and the service was impeccable. The rooms are on the small side but very nicely appointed. Location is great for walking to Times Square. The bar is magnificent. If your looking for an ultra modern hotel, this is not the place for you. If you'd like to stay in NY and feel a part of days gone by, this place is great. Due to the age of the building and its local, they even provide you with earplugs to assure a quite nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a suite if you can, its well worth the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbenz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,616 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
2,210 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#183 of 467 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
6,437 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#203 of 467 in New York City
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Business Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing