We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab Marriott rehab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #158 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ellicottville, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another fab Marriott rehab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location and Marriott did a great job of renovating what has been an iconic hotel in Manhattan for decades. You can feel the ghosts of the big city businesspeople and the broadway actors milling around the lobby. This hotel is the site of the historic Round Table group of writers who founded the New Yorker Magazine which is in your room and free to take. The rooms are not huge, but you don't need huge. The halls are small, too. There is a great breakfast and coffee room for Platinum guests that is extremely comfortable. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broctoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    632
    185
    96
    59
See reviews for
266
759
115
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect....close enough to theatre district and Times Square, subway, etc. yet far enough to avoid the noise, etc. there is also a reasonably priced diner next door. Plus they do have a cat and wi-fi is included.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Algonquin. It was the perfect location for us; close to Times Sq and the Theater District. Room was very nice. It was also small but we expected that. Noise level was very low and our room was opposite the elevator. Mattress was comfortable. We slept great.

The lobby was inviting. The blue bar was fun and crowded both nights we were there. The continental breakfast that came with our package was much better than I anticipated. It came with coffee, juice and three pastries for each of us. Staff was friendly. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because the elevators were very slow. We had to drag our bags down 5 flights. We were traveling light so not a big problem.

We were there on a Rue La La deal so I based the value for what we paid as excellent. Might not have been so generous if we had paid their rack rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've been going to the Alqonquin for at least 30 years and are pleased to report that "Matilda" the resident cat continues to reign supreme over the front desk, accepting respectful chin chucks from her adoring public. She used to greet us at the door, but NYC food regulations (and an electronic collar) prevent her from dropping off the counter.
The lobby, with some unfortunately gaudy chairs (many shiny touches throughout whose provenance is unclear but plastic) maintains its elegant bones. The rooms have had an overhaul, with the addition of good showers (but poor design that pitches water into the bathroom thorough poorly fitted glass doors) and nifty sinks and excellent hairdryers. The bed with down comforters are wicked comfortable and they won't change your sheets every day, saving money and water. Great towels!
The Round Table Room is staffed by excellent staff, some of whom have been there almost as long as we've been coming, and the food, while not as adventurous as DB next door, was excellently prepared and presented. The new function room that supercedes the Oak Room spills too much noise out into the restaurant (ask for the other side) and the fiftiies and sixties music is often much too loud. About the BLUE Bar the less said the better, suffice to say it is PAINFULLY BLUE, UGH!
All in all though, we love the Algonquin and its our best romantic getaway. Always a pleasure to be welcomed by the impeccable hotel staff and our quibbles are small. I was especially pleased to see younger families there as well-a whole new generation coming to the Algonquin!

Room Tip: Two Small elevators, easier to have a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
465 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I use the lobby of the Algonguin as a meeting place for business sometimes. The front part has ample tables, chairs, sofas and light for comfortable meetings. The dining room in the back can also be conducive to quiet conversation if they are not piping in Frank too loudly. My colleague and I consider it our home away from home in many respects though the service leaves a lot to be desired these days. It takes SEVERAL tries to flag waitstaff down and often we needed to get up and look for them in the back or in the Blue Bar. Surprising for a high end hotel. Food is pretty good. We had smoked salmon, chicekn quesadila, manhattan clam chowder, sparkling water and also white wine of the day by the glass. 2 large bottles of sparkling water with tax came to $40 plus tip (INSANE). A glass of white wine of the day is $23! (also INSANE).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the service in the Lobby area did not meet our usual standards, we also appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Please accept our sincerest apology. We hope that you will continue to visit us so that we may be able to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Algonquin during our first trip to New York. It is such a great location; we walked everywhere (NBC studio/30 Rock, Times Square, Pier 84, Empire State Building, subway to museum/Central Park). Of course the room was small, but well decorated, clean, and cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was the (sporadic) street noise during the night, however the hotel supplies ear plugs or you can just turn on the furnace/ac fan. I would stay there again! Side note: the doorman suggested John's Pizzeria (just a few blocks over) and it is wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyA731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I like the Marriott hotels and Algonquin is part of the chain. It is also listed on our corporate approved hotel. I stayed there 5 nights mainly because my first choice was fully booked. I prefer modern hotels, but Algonquin offers great modern facility inside authentic old building. The rennovation paid attention to the minor details and the rooms are of very high standard. However, most of them are small as one would expect from NYC hotel. Bath room is clean and modern with shower, but everything is dense in a way that works nice. The room and bath are very clean and greatly maintained. They offer La-Occitane bath products, which is very nice. There is also good coffee 24x7 at the lobby, and 24x7 small gym that despite its small size offers reasonable options for work out.

The staff is great. Very polite, willing to help and helpful in the restaurant, reception and bell boy.

I had 2 dinners there. The food is good and the pricing of the fixed manu is also good. However, if you go a-la-cart you will pay significantly more.

I liked the location. 3 minutes from Times square, but still relatively quiet with good sleep quality.

The things I like less are:
1. Most of the rooms are facing back yard. This is good in terms of noise, but there is very little day light in the room (I stayed at 6th floor).
2. Breakfast pricing is exaggerated. Granola parfiat, which is small cupt with granole and about two spoons of yogurt with some berries cost $16; add coffee for additional $7... Don't get confuse the coffee is not included even though they offer it to you as if this is free. wWell NYC is not cheap, but $23++ for cup of coffee and cup of granola....at least they could have put more yogurt so one doesn't eat dry granola. Other products are as much expensive for breakfast.
3. Afternoon and in the evening there was no hot water, but more like warm water.

There is convenient parking across the street for $35 to hotel guests. There are good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Go to higher floor. There are very little rooms facing the street. I did not say in one. Back yard f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#36 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,124 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#55 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,849 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#213 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#109 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#171 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,147 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#129 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing