We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good and special choice very close to Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #163 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good and special choice very close to Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I like the Marriott hotels and Algonquin is part of the chain. It is also listed on our corporate approved hotel. I stayed there 5 nights mainly because my first choice was fully booked. I prefer modern hotels, but Algonquin offers great modern facility inside authentic old building. The rennovation paid attention to the minor details and the rooms are of very high standard. However, most of them are small as one would expect from NYC hotel. Bath room is clean and modern with shower, but everything is dense in a way that works nice. The room and bath are very clean and greatly maintained. They offer La-Occitane bath products, which is very nice. There is also good coffee 24x7 at the lobby, and 24x7 small gym that despite its small size offers reasonable options for work out.

The staff is great. Very polite, willing to help and helpful in the restaurant, reception and bell boy.

I had 2 dinners there. The food is good and the pricing of the fixed manu is also good. However, if you go a-la-cart you will pay significantly more.

I liked the location. 3 minutes from Times square, but still relatively quiet with good sleep quality.

The things I like less are:
1. Most of the rooms are facing back yard. This is good in terms of noise, but there is very little day light in the room (I stayed at 6th floor).
2. Breakfast pricing is exaggerated. Granola parfiat, which is small cupt with granole and about two spoons of yogurt with some berries cost $16; add coffee for additional $7... Don't get confuse the coffee is not included even though they offer it to you as if this is free. wWell NYC is not cheap, but $23++ for cup of coffee and cup of granola....at least they could have put more yogurt so one doesn't eat dry granola. Other products are as much expensive for breakfast.
3. Afternoon and in the evening there was no hot water, but more like warm water.

There is convenient parking across the street for $35 to hotel guests. There are good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Go to higher floor. There are very little rooms facing the street. I did not say in one. Back yard f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    606
    180
    93
    59
See reviews for
255
732
112
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

my second stay at the Algonquin was even better than the first. The room was cozy and clean. Matilda the cat was at the front desk which only adds to the charm of this establishment. The front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. it is always nice to be remembered when you return to the hotel after a full day of being out and about. Some of the staff have been there over 20 years which tells you something about loyalty. My husband and I had dinner and drinks in the Round Table restaurant on site and it was delicious. The continental breakfast the next morning was equally good. We both agreed that it is the only place to stay, full of charm and character and a far cry from every other big city hotels out there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie09Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Algonquin Hotel for eight nights. It was right after Sandy and we had no problems at all.

It was our return to New York after 10 years.

The Hotel is conveniently located at a walking distance from Times Square and the theaters. It was a nice surprise to find that The Algonquin hasn`t changed at all. Although renovated, it remained the same friendly hotel that we like to find at the end of the day. The happy hour at the lobby has the same atmosphere and, thanks God, the same excellent dry Martini.
Everything is brand new, but seems to have always been there.

Besides, Matilda, the Hotel`s cat, was at the reception counter to welcome us upon our arrival.

Wanda & Sergio Teixeira
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda-De-Andrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good customer service clean rooms. The hotel has a unique style; much different from any typical NY hotels. It is perfectly situated were minutes (I.e. 2 minutes) walking from Times Square & incredible restaurants.The only thing I wish that the rooms were a little bigger; but it's New York:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJOZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We, too, spent 3 nights at The Algonquin recently and took advantage of the $199/night deal, which included continental breakfast and cocktails. At that price, I didn't know what to expect when booking. Upon arrival, any expectation that I might have had was surpassed. The lobby lounges are sexy and always packed. The staff were friendly and attentive. The drinks and food were superb. The shower in the room was a dream and stocked with high end product. The bed was comfy and offering 24 hour complimentary coffee was a nice touch. The location is PERFECT and if I had the chance, I would return here in a heartbeat. Kudos to The Algonquin for a job well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTravelMan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I can't write enough good things about The Algonquin... The staff is exceptional (so friendly and hospitable - they took care of all of my needs and then some), the rooms/beds/baths are top notch - modern luxury but maintain a cozy/comfy feel (the hotel is part of the Marriott "Autograph Collection" luxury line and the hotel completed an extensive renovation in 2012), the hotel itself is charming and has a very interesting history and then you can't beat the location. A coworker recommended the hotel as it is her favorite place to stay in NYC and after my recently completed ten day stay, it is now mine too! I highly recommend The Algonquin!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for an extra long weekend with our small children. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We didn't experience any of the elevator delays other reviewers mentioned and the rooms were quiet. We were on the 11th floor room 1110. By NYC standards, this room was HUGE. The hotel staff were also very kind and considerate regarding any of our needs. The location is great for a quick walk to Times Square and Broadway for theater shows. We will certainly consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsa-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,988 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#55 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,667 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#203 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#94 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#156 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#47 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing