We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only hotel to say in in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #195 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 14, 2013

my second stay at the Algonquin was even better than the first. The room was cozy and clean. Matilda the cat was at the front desk which only adds to the charm of this establishment. The front desk staff are very helpful and friendly. it is always nice to be remembered when you return to the hotel after a full day of being out and about. Some of the staff have been there over 20 years which tells you something about loyalty. My husband and I had dinner and drinks in the Round Table restaurant on site and it was delicious. The continental breakfast the next morning was equally good. We both agreed that it is the only place to stay, full of charm and character and a far cry from every other big city hotels out there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billie09Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
There are newer reviews for The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Algonquin Hotel for eight nights. It was right after Sandy and we had no problems at all.

It was our return to New York after 10 years.

The Hotel is conveniently located at a walking distance from Times Square and the theaters. It was a nice surprise to find that The Algonquin hasn`t changed at all. Although renovated, it remained the same friendly hotel that we like to find at the end of the day. The happy hour at the lobby has the same atmosphere and, thanks God, the same excellent dry Martini.
Everything is brand new, but seems to have always been there.

Besides, Matilda, the Hotel`s cat, was at the reception counter to welcome us upon our arrival.

Wanda & Sergio Teixeira
.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda-De-Andrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good customer service clean rooms. The hotel has a unique style; much different from any typical NY hotels. It is perfectly situated were minutes (I.e. 2 minutes) walking from Times Square & incredible restaurants.The only thing I wish that the rooms were a little bigger; but it's New York:)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJOZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We, too, spent 3 nights at The Algonquin recently and took advantage of the $199/night deal, which included continental breakfast and cocktails. At that price, I didn't know what to expect when booking. Upon arrival, any expectation that I might have had was surpassed. The lobby lounges are sexy and always packed. The staff were friendly and attentive. The drinks and food were superb. The shower in the room was a dream and stocked with high end product. The bed was comfy and offering 24 hour complimentary coffee was a nice touch. The location is PERFECT and if I had the chance, I would return here in a heartbeat. Kudos to The Algonquin for a job well done!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTravelMan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I can't write enough good things about The Algonquin... The staff is exceptional (so friendly and hospitable - they took care of all of my needs and then some), the rooms/beds/baths are top notch - modern luxury but maintain a cozy/comfy feel (the hotel is part of the Marriott "Autograph Collection" luxury line and the hotel completed an extensive renovation in 2012), the hotel itself is charming and has a very interesting history and then you can't beat the location. A coworker recommended the hotel as it is her favorite place to stay in NYC and after my recently completed ten day stay, it is now mine too! I highly recommend The Algonquin!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for an extra long weekend with our small children. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We didn't experience any of the elevator delays other reviewers mentioned and the rooms were quiet. We were on the 11th floor room 1110. By NYC standards, this room was HUGE. The hotel staff were also very kind and considerate regarding any of our needs. The location is great for a quick walk to Times Square and Broadway for theater shows. We will certainly consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsa-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Quick trip to NYC to visit family and see a play. Our night at The Algonquin was delightful. We walked from Penn Station in the pouring rain and arrived drenched and long before check-in. Our bags were stored and we were invited to relax in the lobby. We opted to go out to breakfast and our phone number was taken so that we could be informed when our room was ready. We were given umbrellas (ours had broken during our walk) by the very friendly doorman. When we returned we read in the beautiful lobby until our room was ready. We had requested an upgrade to a suite by e-mail and we were delighted to be given one on the 12th floor. It was lovely - a king bedroom and a separate living room and quite large bathroom for NYC. The hotel was very close to many restaurants and our theater (Lucky Guy with Tom Hanks was terrific!) Our morning coffee (free from the lobby) was disturbed from the noise of work being done on the heating system, but they clearly waited until most people had left for work or tourist attractions before the banging started. All in all, we had a wonderful time and will definitely return to The Algonquin. I am startled by the negative comments about the staff -- each one was friendly and helpful to us.

Room Tip: 1215 - a suite - was wonderful
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,677 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#267 of 468 in New York City
2,229 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#120 of 468 in New York City
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#181 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
6,530 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#87 of 468 in New York City
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $262 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing