We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay first time to NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #152 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay first time to NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

MLK weekend stay. Very lovely hotel. Really like the locattion - near the shopping of Fifth Ave and close walk to Times Square. Hotel entrance is on 44th so it is off beaten path and not as congested. Much more quiet than the craziness of Times Square. Stayed in 1010. Suite. Had a King bed which was very comfortable and had nice linens. Bathroom was large and had a walk in shower and separate tub. Very clean. There was a lovely little sitting room with a couch, chair, tv and table. Very nice as we had guests come visit before we went to dinner. Heard a few sirens overnight but that is to be expected. Renovation done very nicely and didnt compromise the old school ambiance. Great towels and amenities in bathroom. Staff was friendly, room wasnt ready at 1pm when we arrived, they held our bags until we checked in at 4pm after shopping on Fifth Ave. I think 4pm checkin is too late - but whatever. Coffee was downstairs and I would go and get a couple cups and bring up to room. I liked the lobby area and found it to charming and regal.There was a safe in closet that was helpful and the furniture was clearly new and very nice quality.

Room Tip: We were in 1010 which is a suite - there seem to be a couple on each floor. It was helpful for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coppertonewillcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    613
    183
    93
    59
See reviews for
261
736
115
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Classic NYC hotel with ambiance and style. Great location to theater district, times square and restuarants. Rooms are on the smaller side but they have style, charm and warmth of a boutique hotel or a hotel of days gone buy. Excellent lobby atmosphere and bar. Staff is very friendly and helpful and dont miss seeing Matilda. This was my second stay at this property and I expect it wont be my last. I will say I am a Marriott Platinum Elite and I was treated as well or better at this property than anyother NY city hotels. The NY Marquis has the flash and the hustle and bustly and the Algonquin has the class, atmosphere and ellegance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Staying in this distinctive hotel always reminds me somehow of being in an Agatha Christie novel. I love the feeling of being transported back into the 1920's in this historic locale where the New Yorker was first created and Dorothy Parker et al had their famous Algonquin Round Table.

When we checked in, the striking house cat Matilda was perched on the front desk wagging her tail to greet us. Though it retains all its historic charm, the hotel was completely renovated in 2012 so everything is fresh and up to date. Though the rooms are smallish as compared to newly built hotels, it does not feel at all cramped.

I love spending time in the lounge in the lobby. Great ambiance, incredibly comfortable chairs and a selection of newspapers.

The only negative to the stay was that one of the two elevators in the hotel was out of commission for the 4 days we were there, which made wait times going back and forth considerable. Still, I would gladly put up with that inconvenience to experience the charms of this unique property.

This hotel is now part of the Marriott group which provides the added benefit of its reward program points. The midtown location is perfectly placed between the Times Square theatre district, Grand Central, and Fifth Avenue shopping.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from the elevators. Being old, they are rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebKToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Good: Tasteful renovation of the rooms and nice bathrooms. Bad: ridiculously small rooms, dark, crowded lobby, contemptuous front desk service, and 4PM checkin! You must be kidding. Offer a half day rate. Or just stay elsewhere. Frankly their residence inns are a fare better value. (Lots of hallway noise and no coffee in the rooms either.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jAlfano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
The Algonquin, like many New York City hotels is a very busy place, with high occupancy year around. As part of Marriott International’s Autograph Collection the hotel caters to many Marriott Reward Elite guests who in their status benefits do have the ability to receive late check out when possible.


The hotel does welcome arriving guests and assigns guest rooms when ever they are available and when they are aligned with the room type that was selected in the reservation information. This happens throughout the course of the day.


The hotel knows from experience that by 4:00 pm the majority of guest rooms have been properly prepared for our arriving guests.


Thank you for your visit to The Algonquin Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Algonquin hotel holds an important place in New York City history, which you can find on your own. It is a beautiful hotel conveniently located near Times Square and the Theater District. The lobby has beautiful, elegant charm with comfortable leather chairs and tables that just call your name to relax and watch the goings on. Our check-in process was quick and very pleasant. The room, a Queen Deluxe, was your usual small New York City hotel room but beautifully appointed with nice furniture and artwork. The hotel has its own sense of humor, with cartoons from the New Yorker magazine all over the place (related to its history - did you find that yet?) and also offering ear plugs (in the drawer next to the Bible) for those not used to the usual New York City street sounds, which we did not hear in our 5th floor room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
137 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very close to Times Square and Grand Central. Marriott-owned boutique has no real lobby (the entry area is largely taken up by a restaurant / bar). Many attributes that are par for the course for an NYC boutique hotel especially in this location: small elevators, narrow corridors and the rooms were very small but chic and clean. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels in Manhattan and this is by far the best one. You feel the history and charm the moment you walk into the hotel and while it is now owned by the Marriott, you would never know that (and I mean that in a good way). The people at the front desk are gracious and kind and so polite. I loved the rooms - the have been redone so well while still feel old world. The bathroom is small but had everything you need and the upgrades are quite impressive considering how small the area is! I loved the open stair cases through the hotel and the literary quotes on every door. The bar downstairs is the perfect place to meet people before going to Times Square, Bryant Park, Central Park or Rockerfeller Center. This is simply the best location to stay if you are looking for a great NYC experience. There are other comments on trip advisor about this not being a good place for Marriott Elites - i see the point since there isn't a lounge and other amenities, but the history and location far out weigh an evening appetizer!

My ONLY slightly negative comment is the lights on the bed posts have an odd blue glow on the on/off switch which makes the whole room light up ever so slightly at night - i ended up taping something over the light switches to darken the room - other people were commenting on this at breakfast too so I know i am not the only one to notice this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanG096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,051 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#55 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,747 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#210 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#93 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#164 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,112 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#121 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing