We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #155 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classic and classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

3 nights with 'Cat on a Hot Tin Roof', the Guggenheim, the High Line and fine dining in mind. It all happened! Getting around the city is easy, lots of things to do nearby (Chrysler Building, Grand Central Terminal) and the staff, especially Peter and Chuck, were great. Drinks were a bit expensive but we had coupons, so thoroughly enjoyed the lounge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    613
    183
    93
    59
See reviews for
261
737
115
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Algonquin for 4 night in August 12, and couldn't have asked for a better location to see all that New York has to offer. The rooms were small, as was expected, but had everything you need, and when in New York, you are not in your room that often anyway! The bar/lounge area was nice for a quiet drink. Staff were excellent. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlass812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We’re pleased to report the passenger elevator at the Algonquin has been restored to service after extensive work by the elevator service provider to rebuild the hoist motor. We understand the importance of timely vertical lift and believed this level of repair was now necessary for safety reasons. It is accurate that associates, supplies and guests travel on the same elevator cars. The hotel has been successful on most occasions with timing vertical movement of supplies and associates to not interfere with guest travel, we regret that it did impact some guests while visiting the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the Algonquin for 3 nights this past week, and it was everything that we had hoped for. The place is a CLASSIC, and it is smack dab in the middle of all the restaurants and stores and bars and broadway shows and and and. The rooms are small, as we expected, but very well appointed. Shower was great, all tile, and some serious water pressure. Bed was very comfortable, and the linens/pillows were great. There is a great workout room on the 2nd floor that has free bottled water and breakfast bars. There is FREE coffee all day long. Staff was really helpful, concierge was crisp, and the doorman flagged down a cab to the airport in under 30 seconds, even though there were a dozen other peeps just a few businesses down looking for rides. The only complaint was that we couldn't find the cat (Maggie), but we will return to finish that off the checklist down the road. Great martinis in the Blue Bar (attached to lobby). Loved it..

Room Tip: Lower floors are better as elevators are a tad slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pppKKKooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Algonquin Hotel this past weekend as we were in town to see a Broadway show and did not want to make the mad rush to catch the LIRR for the trip home. The hotel was elegant. The lobby outstanding. The room was great, but small. This did not present a problem since we were not in NYC to stay in a hotel room. The staff was outstanding, very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.
The only short coming was the two elevators. Upon arriving one of the elevators was "temporarily out of service". The other elevator was in use on the upper floors (8 through 12), never coming down to the lobby. The reason appeared to be the housekeepping staff moving their supplies between floors. Finally the out of service elevator was returned to service after complaining to the front desk. The problem did not end at that point. Sunday morning we were going to check out, again one of the elevators had been removed from service. After waiting with two other couples with four large suit cases, we elected to walk down to the lobby. The problem again seemed to be the housekeepping staff moving supplies and eqipement between floors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We got a reasonable rate for a suite here on Christmas night, 12/25/12. Parked across the street and had a very comfortable room and stay. Did not eat at the hotel as it seemed pricey, but there is a convenient diner just up the block.

We appreciated the complimentary issue of the "New Yorker" magazine.

The business office is available 24 hours and free - very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Even though The Algonquin Hotel is owned by Marriott, the atmosphere and decor is one of a high-end independent hotel. The interior decoration and design of the room I stayed in was elegantly imaginative, more like a guest room than a hotel room. First class furniture and fixtures, which reminded me of a very good European hotel. The bathroom, again, very well appointed with a creative use of space, however, it would have been a challenge for even a slightly over-sized adult. Complimentary L'Occitane toiletries were a deluxe touch as was a very comfortable bathrobe. Marriott beds are the best and the queen-size bed in this room was no exception. Very nice sheets and pillows. Interesting and well-written reading materials on the history of the Algonquin, which allowed me to further appreciate its fame and popularity in former times. A complimentary copy of the New Yorker connected the past and the present.
I wasn't enamored with the service. The front desk was friendly and accommodating at arrival and I was pleased to be able to check in at 11:00am. Other interaction with the front desk and the doormen were less hospitable. Room service, which I used for breakfast, again, was aloof.
Not a hotel for young children was my impression. However adults can basked in the history, exceptional decor and enjoy staying in truly unique accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a post-holiday NYC weekend, and our stay was pleasant for the most part. If you are interested in staying here you probably know that this is a vintage 1920s hotel that played an important role in NYC literary history at that time. The hotel does not disappoint on vintage charm, though of course cramped, creaky, slow elevators and smaller rooms go along with that kind of charm; rooms here are completely refurbished however, and are very stylish, modern, and comfortable while still paying tribute to the past. Amenities include a really nice business center, free coffee all day, and a small fitness room on the second floor, and Starbuck coffee in the lobby during business hours. If you are in town to see a show, the pre-show $39 three-course dinner at the restaurant is a pretty good deal--decent food in a cozy environment, though nothing too astounding. I really wanted to see Matilda, the hotel cat, but I missed her--maybe some other time.

The most unpleasant feature of the hotel is unfortunately its staff. While the Concierge was extremely friendly and welcoming when we arrived, the bell staff and the clerk were distant, unhelpful, and uncommunicative in a manner and to a degree that I've never experienced before in a hotel at any star level. After we checked in, we went up to our room to take a short nap before dinner, but not twenty minutes later, there was a strange tentative knock on the door, which we first tried to ignore, but it was insistent. Finally we answered it--it was a hotel maid, and we asked her what we could do for her. She said "just checking, just checking" and walked off with no further explanation, leaving us baffled! The next morning, we received a phone call from a person who identified herself as the operator and who knew my name; she asked me if the Engineer happened to be in my room? When I said no, she simply said thank you and hung up, leaving me to wonder why she thought an Engineer WOULD be in my room, and if we could expect one at any time in the near future (no Engineer showed). These experiences made us a bit suspicious, since I have never had any similar experiences at a hotel before. Were they checking to see if we were out so they could use their passkey and rifle through our belongings? Or was something else going on with our room that they didn't want to explain to us (there was a strange wet spot on the floor the whole time we were there, so maybe there were plumbing problems?)? We didn't lose anything, but the rooms have safes so I would definitely use them if I stayed here again, just to be sure.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for Algonquin Round Table and New Yorker fans--it was very charming and the location was great. Just be a bit wary of the staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank develbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Greetings and thank you for the candid feedback on your recent visit to the Algonquin Hotel, Autograph Collection. We appreciate the time you have taken to point out the highlights of your stay and to note the interactions that you encountered with our team. Algonquin associates take great pride in creating positive experiences for the hotel’s guests. Algonquin associates have been the back bone of the business since it opened 110 years ago. Your feedback is valuable and will be used as a positive training tool to demonstrate how interactions can impact individuals and more importantly how the team could have handled your encounters more professionally and in a more caring manner. Good wishes in 2013, and please plan to return to the Algonquin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,055 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#55 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,750 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#211 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#95 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,778 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#163 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,114 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#122 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing