We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #191 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Historic, yet elegantly updated. This hotel has absolutely the friendliest most accomodating staff of any I've ever visited. Our suite was lovely, beds ultra comfy, and extremely soft sheets. The lobby and bar are chic and relaxing. Vodka martini with blue cheese olives was one of the best I'd ever had. Worth the $22. Great location. We highly recommend it, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the eighth floor and noise was not a problem, though ear plugs were supplied. Suite was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    694
    206
    111
    67
See reviews for
297
844
126
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had orginially booked a suite at Loews Regency on 61st but saw they were closing on Jan 1 for a complete renovation. I panicked when I saw their Trip Advisor reviews going downhill quickly and I certainly didn't want to be one of their last guests before they closed so I quickly grabbed a suite at Algonquin for similar price during Dec 27-30 (average $620 per night, which is good that time of year).

The Algonquin was perfect- except for the street noise. I took the advice of past travelers and asked for a high floor, away from the street. The street noise was DEFINITELY still apparent on the very top floor (12th floor, it's a small old hotel) but they provided ear plugs. By the second night I was used to it. The kids didnt' seem to mind but it you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you.

Other than that, the hotel was perfectly situated just one block away from Toys R Us on Times Square and one block away from Bryant Park and 5th Ave. Our kids loved the suite. Plenty of room for all of us. Nicely updated bath. Very comfy bed. And an incredible hotel staff. Very friendly and helpful.

We came back to the beautiful lobby every evening after dinner to enjoy a nightcap and hot chocolate. My kids were over the moon at their very own little pot of hot chocolate with extra plates of whipped cream. They also loved checking in on the hotel cat, Matilda, who resides behind the front desk.

Great history to building. Very grown-up and cozy without being stuffy. Will def go back.
Keep up the great service!

Room Tip: We had the Robert Sherwood suite on floor 12 in the back of building. A great location away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeMeAwayNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Loved hotel. Stayed a night when we traveled to NYC for a play. Staff was very friendly. Drinks are expensive but well worth it. Blue bar is attached, whole different feel but again great time, great drinks, and friendly bartenders. Would definitely recommend and stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadaketMystery87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights post Christmas holidays. The lobby is beautiful, the staff were amazing, the location was great, the room was average. This hotel has a beautiful old lobby that is comfortable and relaxing. The room was small and the shower/bathroom was even smaller. Our room looked out onto 44th street so it was rather noisy but they did provide ear plugs and around midnight the traffic dissipated enough that the noise level was negligible. The bed was very comfortable and they offer free wifi and water in the rooms. The hotel is a quick walk to Times Square and other attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carribeandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed the over Christmas for a short vacation with the Kids (19 & 23). It was a great hotel to stayt for 2 days. the elevators are still slow, but we didn't have to wait that long for them. Our suite was on the 4th floor and we did not have a view of anything worth while. Our waiters in the restaurant (for breakfest) and the bar were great. It was redone nicely, especialy the bar,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Love this hotel. The location is perfect. The hotel feel is intimate and relaxing from the hussle and bussle outside. While the rooms are small, the decor is absolutely gorgeous. I especially loved the lite artwork about my bed. I had dinner in the Alqonquin's main restaurant and the service and food were fantastic. Exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Location is perfect on 44th Street, within walking distance of many NYC sights. Staff very friendly. Especially the valet outside. The renovation makes the hotel much nicer. Updated bathrooms. Suite was good for our family of four adults. A diner next door was much cheaper for breakfast than the hotel prices, which were typical of hotels in this class.

Room Tip: Suite fit two parents and two adult children well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDucks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 467 in New York City
3,633 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
2,216 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#122 of 467 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
2,366 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing