We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights post Christmas holidays. The lobby is beautiful, the staff were amazing, the location was great, the room was average. This hotel has a beautiful old lobby that is comfortable and relaxing. The room was small and the shower/bathroom was even smaller. Our room looked out onto 44th street so it was rather noisy but they did provide ear plugs and around midnight the traffic dissipated enough that the noise level was negligible. The bed was very comfortable and they offer free wifi and water in the rooms. The hotel is a quick walk to Times Square and other attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carribeandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed the over Christmas for a short vacation with the Kids (19 & 23). It was a great hotel to stayt for 2 days. the elevators are still slow, but we didn't have to wait that long for them. Our suite was on the 4th floor and we did not have a view of anything worth while. Our waiters in the restaurant (for breakfest) and the bar were great. It was redone nicely, especialy the bar,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Love this hotel. The location is perfect. The hotel feel is intimate and relaxing from the hussle and bussle outside. While the rooms are small, the decor is absolutely gorgeous. I especially loved the lite artwork about my bed. I had dinner in the Alqonquin's main restaurant and the service and food were fantastic. Exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Location is perfect on 44th Street, within walking distance of many NYC sights. Staff very friendly. Especially the valet outside. The renovation makes the hotel much nicer. Updated bathrooms. Suite was good for our family of four adults. A diner next door was much cheaper for breakfast than the hotel prices, which were typical of hotels in this class.

Room Tip: Suite fit two parents and two adult children well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDucks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel!
Excellent staff and service. Very clean throughout.
However the room we had was extremely small. I know it is NYC and most rooms are small but this was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in NYC (and I travel there quite often)
Elevators were very slow, there are only 2.
Other than that a beautiful hotel in the middle of manhattan

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbaj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel lives up to everything written about it. The customer service is outstanding. The rooms are very nice and a good size for NYC hotels. Dont hesitate to spend the money. The location is great, nice bar, I dont know where to stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe7954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Even though I was ill the night we were at this hotel it was a nice hotel. I spent a lot of time in the room. Went to a Yankees game vs rangers. Easy to get to the train from hotel. Lobby gorgeous. Be prepared to drop a dime here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scjerseycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,635 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,511 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,297 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing