We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Boutique Hotel With Amazing Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #172 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel With Amazing Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Love this hotel. The location is perfect. The hotel feel is intimate and relaxing from the hussle and bussle outside. While the rooms are small, the decor is absolutely gorgeous. I especially loved the lite artwork about my bed. I had dinner in the Alqonquin's main restaurant and the service and food were fantastic. Exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    643
    188
    102
    61
See reviews for
273
779
117
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
234 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Location is perfect on 44th Street, within walking distance of many NYC sights. Staff very friendly. Especially the valet outside. The renovation makes the hotel much nicer. Updated bathrooms. Suite was good for our family of four adults. A diner next door was much cheaper for breakfast than the hotel prices, which were typical of hotels in this class.

Room Tip: Suite fit two parents and two adult children well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDucks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel!
Excellent staff and service. Very clean throughout.
However the room we had was extremely small. I know it is NYC and most rooms are small but this was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in NYC (and I travel there quite often)
Elevators were very slow, there are only 2.
Other than that a beautiful hotel in the middle of manhattan

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbaj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel lives up to everything written about it. The customer service is outstanding. The rooms are very nice and a good size for NYC hotels. Dont hesitate to spend the money. The location is great, nice bar, I dont know where to stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe7954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Even though I was ill the night we were at this hotel it was a nice hotel. I spent a lot of time in the room. Went to a Yankees game vs rangers. Easy to get to the train from hotel. Lobby gorgeous. Be prepared to drop a dime here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scjerseycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been staying at The Algonquin since 1996. There is absolutely no place in New York like the lobby of The Algonquin Hotel. The recent renovation has managed to keep the charm and warmth of this hotel, while creating a hip buzz that should appeal to the younger players in the city.

The rooms are all modern with classic appointments and a few nods to the hotel's literary past.

Those fantastic mattresses on the beds are worth the stay right there and the staff will do most anything for you. I am in New York a lot and this hotel is my home there.

Room Tip: Get a suite upgrade. You get much more real estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Algonquin hotel is a fabulous hotel filled with history and charm. My visits are mainly for business but I always incorporate my wife and if school is not in session my teenage son. The Algonquin became our home away from home this summer as we enjoyed the city for work and pleasure. Its location is perfect for the Manhattan Times Square area sites and tours without the busy crowds and noise. The staff is truly warm and welcoming and highly attentive to your needs. As we've become regulars we are always welcomed back and taken care of as if it were our first visit. The staff at the hotel really make the experience a pleasant one...from the restaurant staff proactively servicing you to the delicious and well made adult beverages of the Blue Bar, the meticulous job of housekeeping by the housekeepers and the Genuine smiles and greetings of the front desk staff and doormen. Even the operations and engineering deaprtment are more than accomodating and interested in making your stay a pleasurable one. The gym and business office are also immaculate and are of high standards. I will continue to make the Algonquin my first choice for lodging whenever business or pleasure bring me to NY City.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the corner units ending in 7 ie. 507, 707 etc. as these rooms are spacious and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#59 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,978 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#227 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#107 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#166 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing