We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star just off Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #196 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Totally remodeled, updated with wireless internet, outstanding friendliness with all staff. You can't beat this for downtown ammenities. The only downsides is that the rooms are small (as you should expect in Manhatten) but very clean. The bar prices are quite high but, when it comes to being in the heart of the city, you really don't want to be anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
There are newer reviews for The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

I agree with the positive reviews. This old place is wonderful. Our room and bathroom, while small was totally clean and QUIET. I am a very sensitve sleeper and the first morning I slept in until 9:45! We were on the side with only a view of an office building, but given the quiet that was fine. The bathroom was smail, but had a shower instead of a tub, which I prefer. We had cocktail nightly at the Blue Bar and enjoyed it very much. Great location, very close to Times Square.

The only negatives - two small and slow elevators and the front desk area gets very crowded at check out. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruze-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've stayed at the Algonquin a couple of times over the years, but last weekend was my first since the rehab. I couldn't be more pleased. All the charm of the hotel, going back to the days of the Roundtable, are still intact, but all the upgrades, especially the bathrooms, are just perfect for today's traveler. And the hotel staff is among the best in New York. Everyone is courteous, helpful, and friendly, and it's obvious that they all share the pride of being a part of a New York icon. Our bellman told us he has worked at the Algonquin for almost 30 years and felt privileged to work for such a fine property. And it's good value, too.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed in the Lerner and Loewe Suite on the 11th floor. Very spacious and very quiet...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Precedent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had the opportunity, as a Marriott Platinum member and overall Marriott freak, to visit the Algonquin for the first time (I usually stay at the Renaissance and Marquis, both of which I enjoy for business). Long story short - I am very impressed. The staff is wonderfuly friendly, and, more importantly, the physical plant is impressive. Rooms are newly renovated and feature new LCD televisions. Plus, the hotel general manager was fantastic and upgraded me based on Marriott status, which I really appreciated.

Others have stated they think the rooms are small (or "modest") even for NY standards - this is true, but they also have character. The room had sufficient outlets for tech geeks, and overall internet speed was fairly decent (good enough). Bathroom products were superior to regular Marriotts.

Other impressive details: the gym is super, and the bar looks like they make some mean cocktails. Overall, for the price, this is a really good experience with a higher level of service. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here the night of 6/23/12. What a beautiful hotel! Very well done renovation with updated interior that still keep the historic feel of the hotel. Desk staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are tastefully appointed and have a very nice back lit picture of time square in the room above the bed, great touch! Only downside is a bit of noisy street, but it was International Festival Day, so that didn't help. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank erinshero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are looking for a good classic NYC hotel in close proximity to many of the city sights, then I recommend the Algonquin. Though I had never stayed there before the renovation, it's clear that they put lots of care and money into updating the infrastructure and style but being careful to retain the historic charm of the property. We loved how we were in walking distance to Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave, Times Square, Empire state etc, which helped to cut down on cab fare when compared to other sections we've stayed in.
Like others have mentioned, the rooms are small, but what do you expect, the Algonquin is over 100 years old. The newly renovated bathrooms featured lots of art decco details and great water pressure. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Even the doorman helped us with a sweet recommendation for dinner in Little Italy.
Though Marriott did an overall good job with the renovation, a couple of areas I feel missed the mark were the elevators (slow) and especially the air conditioners which were ancient. The temps in NYC were over 100 degrees and our AC wasn't cutting the mustard. Though the hotel did send someone to look at the issue, they did absolutely nothing to correct the problem, which as a Marriott rewards member, kind of rubbed me the wrong way.

Room Tip: Our room was on the backside of the hotel (1015). Though we had zero view of the city our room was...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musiclover1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

An old hotel (1902), but cozy and full of style. The lobby area is the ideal place to sit and read, relax, or talk. The Blue Bar is intimate, and feels like an oasis of calm in the heart of the city. Rooms are smallish (1902), but have been tastefully renovated. The staff is friendly and helpful without hovering.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,681 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#266 of 468 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#120 of 468 in New York City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 468 in New York City
2,392 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
6,538 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $260 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelPower, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing