We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New York City
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,357)
Filter reviews
2,357 results
Traveler rating
1,645
372
188
89
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,645
372
188
89
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe boulud upper east side central park bar pleiades grand deluxe salon rooftop garden madison avenue new york room service in room dining luxury hotel favorite hotel turn down service bottle of champagne wonderful hotel rooms are large around the corner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,357 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed my stay at the surrey. Front desk was super friendly, Victoria was very, very professional, knowledgeable and made my stay more memorable. I had a great stay and will be definitely visiting again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank VioG202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_mgmt_team_365, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear VioG202,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and we will certainly share your kind words with Victoria. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again, and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Claes Landberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly and accomodating. Room and amenities outstanding. Great value for great room in an ideal location. Staff were fun and provided us with champagne at reception. (Forgot to ask identity of champagne; it was very good) Especially grateful to Manager for waiving "non refundable" fees when we were forced to leave two days early.

Room tip: We've staked out or favorite room but not sharing with others.
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Brillo4524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_mgmt_team_365, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Brillo4524,

It was a pleasure to have you with us, and we thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting your next trip to New York City.

Warm regards,
Claes Landberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

My stay at the Surrey was absolutely amazing! This was my first trip to NYC and the Surrey team really blew it out of the water! I was extremely impressed with the personable staff at the Front desk/Concierge (Victoria & Prani) and the very helpful doormen of which I do not recall their names. My room was very spacious and clean. I will definitely return when time allows.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jdweaver82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_mgmt_team_365, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear jdweaver82,

Thank you for allowing us to host your first trip to New York City. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Claes Landberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Wow, what an amazing experience we had at The Surrey! The luxurious bedding, comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom, all beautiful! Every member of the staff, lovely! Vivian and Dwight even helped me rescue my antique diamond earring that had fallen down the drain. Truly an amazing stay!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank boymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_mgmt_team_365, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Dear boymama,

Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to learn that our accommodations and service made for a memorable experience. We look forward to hosting you again on your next Upper East Side getaway.

Warm regards,
Claes Landberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

I have stayed at this property in the past and recommended, love location, not as pleased with stay this time as before. AC would not work with warm weather, was put in a handicap room (did not request) asked for ice one day 4 times, never received. Towels in room are very thin, need to update for 5 star property. Front door staff very unfriendly, hardly ever smiled

Room tip: Need updated towels and charging area on night stand by the beds.
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank transcodebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_mgmt_team_365, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Dear transcodebbie,

We were honored to be a part of your niece's birthday celebration, and we trust that she enjoyed her time in the city. While we are pleased to read that you were satisfied with your overall experience, we regret to learn that your stay fell short of your past visits. Please rest assured that your feedback will be discussed internally to ensure a better experience going forward. We thank you for taking the time to share your review, and we hope that you will allow us another chance to earn back your trust with a more flawless stay the next time you visit New York City.

Warm regards,
Claes Landberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews