We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Surrey
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$195
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$336
$281
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Parker New York(New York City)
$415
$403
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$295
$234
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$689
$617
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
$228
$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$168
$140
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,959)
Filter reviews
1,959 results
Traveler rating
1,447
304
116
52
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,447
304
116
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe bouludupper east sidecentral parkbar pleiadesgrand deluxe salonrelais chateauxmadison avenuerooftop gardennew yorkmuseum mileroom servicein room diningluxury hotelfavorite hotelbottle of champagnewonderful hotelturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
893 - 898 of 1,959 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I highly recommend the Surrey Hotel. The hotel, restaurant are all first class. The location is close to Central Park with lots of high end shopping within walking distance. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Paul P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your gracious feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that our idyllic Upper East Side with close proximity to Central Park and famed Madison Avenue shopping was convenient and exciting for you.

We are also happy that you enjoyed the culinary delights offered at Michelin starred Café Boulud.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new home away from home and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very nice hotel, close to Central Park and a fairly short walk to downtown.

Had a junior suite which was beautiful.

Eating and drinking in the hotel wasn't cheap, but this is not a cheap hotel, however there are plenty of places to eat and drink locally.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hollybush_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Overall an Excellent Hotel and I can see why they are the only R&C in NYC. One of the best smaller Hotels that I have ever stayed in. The scale feels welcoming.

POSITIVES:
The Bar and Restaurant Cafe Boulud ( and therefore the room service ) are exceptional. I was able to get tables at the times that I wanted and always felt welcome. Room was very comfortable and clean.

SOME NEGATIVES:
These did not disrupt my overall stay but staff seemed overly busy on some mornings which led to late arrival of my room service breakfast on two occasions ( this was a 12 night stay ); and the Roof-Top Bar often seemed closed.

Bar and Cafe Boulud were incredibly good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Ying: This hotel is quiet! well located on the upper East side. Rooms are nicely furnished but not large. Loved the towels, coffee maker provided, water and newspapers provided at no extra charge. Very pleasant service, expensive hotel. But, the yang: $15/day charge for wireless; exorbitant in room dining costs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank vrkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I find the Surrey to be an oasis in NYC. This small hotel has a professional staff, well appointed rooms, a very good restaurant in Boloud, two bars in including a roof top bar for guests. The personalized service in this hotel is a throwback to the days when hotels actually served their guests. The hotel is located on 76 and Madison and is a block from Central Park so I always bring my workout clothes and try to squeeze in a couple of runs in the park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RLissak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews