We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #37 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I highly recommend the Surrey Hotel. The hotel, restaurant are all first class. The location is close to Central Park with lots of high end shopping within walking distance. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Paul P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your gracious feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that our idyllic Upper East Side with close proximity to Central Park and famed Madison Avenue shopping was convenient and exciting for you.

We are also happy that you enjoyed the culinary delights offered at Michelin starred Café Boulud.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new home away from home and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    255
    81
    37
    26
See reviews for
328
768
107
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, close to Central Park and a fairly short walk to downtown.

Had a junior suite which was beautiful.

Eating and drinking in the hotel wasn't cheap, but this is not a cheap hotel, however there are plenty of places to eat and drink locally.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollybush_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Overall an Excellent Hotel and I can see why they are the only R&C in NYC. One of the best smaller Hotels that I have ever stayed in. The scale feels welcoming.

POSITIVES:
The Bar and Restaurant Cafe Boulud ( and therefore the room service ) are exceptional. I was able to get tables at the times that I wanted and always felt welcome. Room was very comfortable and clean.

SOME NEGATIVES:
These did not disrupt my overall stay but staff seemed overly busy on some mornings which led to late arrival of my room service breakfast on two occasions ( this was a 12 night stay ); and the Roof-Top Bar often seemed closed.

Bar and Cafe Boulud were incredibly good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Ying: This hotel is quiet! well located on the upper East side. Rooms are nicely furnished but not large. Loved the towels, coffee maker provided, water and newspapers provided at no extra charge. Very pleasant service, expensive hotel. But, the yang: $15/day charge for wireless; exorbitant in room dining costs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank vrkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I find the Surrey to be an oasis in NYC. This small hotel has a professional staff, well appointed rooms, a very good restaurant in Boloud, two bars in including a roof top bar for guests. The personalized service in this hotel is a throwback to the days when hotels actually served their guests. The hotel is located on 76 and Madison and is a block from Central Park so I always bring my workout clothes and try to squeeze in a couple of runs in the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RLissak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A beautiful hotel, in a wealthy area of New York. Tree lined streets, but not too far from 'the noise' of the city
All the front of house staff are immensely professional, but still have time for the individual.
Our room was beautifully appointed, and the very welcome air-conditioning was a life-saver.
We were very kindly given a complimentary late check-out,as we had an evening flight home.


I really feel very mean to make negative comments, BUT----
As a 'Brit' I would have liked some tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. I did go downstairs and help myself to the free morning tea in the lobby, but this meant getting dressed, and it's not quite the same to drink tea in bed out of a paper cup- I bought a china mug on the second day!
Our room wasn't 'made-up' on one day until the afternoon, and only after I asked for it to to be done.
The rooftop bar was very expensive, 50$ for 2 gins, when a bottle costs less than that!!
The bar downstairs, was much better value, but closed early.
On our last night we were told by the roofbarman that he was going home, and put covers on the chairs at out table. We still had half a bottle of wine left, but fealt we should 'hurry up' and leave. A shame, as it put rather a damper on our happy mood, and was completely out of character with the rest of the staff and service at the hotel.

We would happily stay at The Surrey again, and would highly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydnreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed at the surrey last week, but our stay was quite a disappointment. The staff seems to talk down to certain guests, lets them wait unnecessarily on more than one occasion, extra bed was very uncomfortable and cheap mattress, considering what we have paid for the room. We expected much more of our stay and were very disappointed. We had to pay 16 $ for WIFI, that was the first hotel in 2 weeks vacation (we were in 8 different hotels )where we had to pay for WIFI-ridiculous. The nice interior could not make up for the things mentioned-so sorry to say.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#19 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#244 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#31 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing