We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #95 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very nice hotel, close to Central Park and a fairly short walk to downtown.

Had a junior suite which was beautiful.

Eating and drinking in the hotel wasn't cheap, but this is not a cheap hotel, however there are plenty of places to eat and drink locally.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hollybush_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Overall an Excellent Hotel and I can see why they are the only R&C in NYC. One of the best smaller Hotels that I have ever stayed in. The scale feels welcoming.

POSITIVES:
The Bar and Restaurant Cafe Boulud ( and therefore the room service ) are exceptional. I was able to get tables at the times that I wanted and always felt welcome. Room was very comfortable and clean.

SOME NEGATIVES:
These did not disrupt my overall stay but staff seemed overly busy on some mornings which led to late arrival of my room service breakfast on two occasions ( this was a 12 night stay ); and the Roof-Top Bar often seemed closed.

Bar and Cafe Boulud were incredibly good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Ying: This hotel is quiet! well located on the upper East side. Rooms are nicely furnished but not large. Loved the towels, coffee maker provided, water and newspapers provided at no extra charge. Very pleasant service, expensive hotel. But, the yang: $15/day charge for wireless; exorbitant in room dining costs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank vrkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I find the Surrey to be an oasis in NYC. This small hotel has a professional staff, well appointed rooms, a very good restaurant in Boloud, two bars in including a roof top bar for guests. The personalized service in this hotel is a throwback to the days when hotels actually served their guests. The hotel is located on 76 and Madison and is a block from Central Park so I always bring my workout clothes and try to squeeze in a couple of runs in the park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RLissak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A beautiful hotel, in a wealthy area of New York. Tree lined streets, but not too far from 'the noise' of the city
All the front of house staff are immensely professional, but still have time for the individual.
Our room was beautifully appointed, and the very welcome air-conditioning was a life-saver.
We were very kindly given a complimentary late check-out,as we had an evening flight home.


I really feel very mean to make negative comments, BUT----
As a 'Brit' I would have liked some tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. I did go downstairs and help myself to the free morning tea in the lobby, but this meant getting dressed, and it's not quite the same to drink tea in bed out of a paper cup- I bought a china mug on the second day!
Our room wasn't 'made-up' on one day until the afternoon, and only after I asked for it to to be done.
The rooftop bar was very expensive, 50$ for 2 gins, when a bottle costs less than that!!
The bar downstairs, was much better value, but closed early.
On our last night we were told by the roofbarman that he was going home, and put covers on the chairs at out table. We still had half a bottle of wine left, but fealt we should 'hurry up' and leave. A shame, as it put rather a damper on our happy mood, and was completely out of character with the rest of the staff and service at the hotel.

We would happily stay at The Surrey again, and would highly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sydnreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed at the surrey last week, but our stay was quite a disappointment. The staff seems to talk down to certain guests, lets them wait unnecessarily on more than one occasion, extra bed was very uncomfortable and cheap mattress, considering what we have paid for the room. We expected much more of our stay and were very disappointed. We had to pay 16 $ for WIFI, that was the first hotel in 2 weeks vacation (we were in 8 different hotels )where we had to pay for WIFI-ridiculous. The nice interior could not make up for the things mentioned-so sorry to say.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We loved The Surrey for the comfort and level of genuine warmth of the staff. It was elegant without being pretentious which is important for people who are new to an environment. The rooftop bar was fabulous and in general the staff couldn't be more helpful. All the little things were done right!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mrs. Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy P, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Mrs. Melissa C,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback from your recent stay at The Surrey. We are honored to be considered a splendid oasis in New York City.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our inspiring elegant Lauren Rottet design throughout our hotel making you feel comfortable in your home away from home.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized and intuitive service which is why we are especially pleased to learn that our team was successful at attending to every detail.

We are also happy that you enjoyed our amazing Private Roof Garden and experienced the breathtaking views of New York City.

We look forward to welcoming back to The Surrey and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Troy Pade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#99 of 473 in New York City
784 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#283 of 473 in New York City
841 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#210 of 473 in New York City
722 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#41 of 473 in New York City
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $412 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926 as a residence hotel, the original Surrey was home to many of New York's most eccentric celebrities. JFK, Bette Davis, Claudette Colbert, and other famous faces who recognized the allure of exceptional, discreet service. In re-creating The Surrey, we collaborated with acclaimed interior designer Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio—to maintain the integrity of The Surrey’s history while modernizing New York's most intimate address. Rottet's inspiration was a New York City townhouse passed down through the generations. The Surrey is New York City’s only Relais & Chateaux boutique hotel, where discreet service allows guests to retreat from the public—and keep a low profile in an otherwise high profile lifestyle. The Surrey is a residential haven and luxury Upper East Side hotel getaway where guests access and revel in what makes New York City special—without compromising calm personal space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing