We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC retreat”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NYC retreat”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My fiancée and I were there for the second time. I had picked up this hotel for its perfect combination of location , easy access to central park and to some of NYC' famous musea, comfort of room and friendly staff. We were not disappointed. Actually their staff make a real difference between a costly upper class hotel and a kind of boutique hotel closer to our European style. Will definitively go back .
Lili & Claude

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr Claude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    292
    103
    47
    36
See reviews for
378
841
125
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a layover back from Paris the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was restful and relaxing! The breakfast at Bouloud was fantastic. All around it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrmrs Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great Hotel in Upper East side (quiet area) very near to Central Park, Guggenheim & other museums, However, this by default means you are somewhat away from the centre of things and can't drop off all those shopping bags without lots of cab fares. Rooms very well appointed with comfortable beds. All staff were very helpful and friendly. Fabulous roof top bar (when you can get up there as it's only open from 5pm, or when Emma Watson hasn't privately hired it!!), and equally nice indoor bar. Only criticism is you can't get a coffee easily, as the cafe/restaurant closes after breakfast, and the bar doesn't open until 12, so you will have to find a drink somewhere else. We were advised that room service was available, but I don't want to sit in my room!
Overall a very good boutique hotel, and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The bathroom has two sinks and lots of room!! Beautiful hotel and you must go up to the rooftop and enjoy the view! Will be staying here again! The views from the rooms are beautiful and so close to Central Park. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is the most wonderful place, just a few steps away from Central Park, best area, rooms are amazing including view. Staff is extremely professional and helpful, will be back soon !!!
Karin Germany

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamousStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear FamousStyle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am thrilled that you enjoying our spacious guest accommodations and breathtaking views.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized, genuine and intuitive service delivery and I am thrilled that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at the Surrey for New Year celebrations, very cool hotel with very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us including getting tickets for a Broadway show, which was sold out. Bedrooms are excellent with lovely bathrooms also the bar was very relaxed but a bit pricy. The position of the hotel is great with Central Park at the end of the street and walking distance to the Met. Highly recommend this hotel and would return if travelling to New York

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnwhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Johnwhalley,

Thank you for taking the time to share such gracious feedback from your stay with us. We are honored to have been part of your most memorable New Year’s Celebrations.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location just steps from Central Park and with convenient access to the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

I am thrilled that our team was able to exceed your expectations from the caring and gracious services extended by our Concierge to our spacious guest accommodations.

We truly appreciate your advocacy for The Surrey and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is THE place to stay. It's a little pricey and the staff aren't overly friendly, but sometimes you can find a "deal," and then it's worth every penny. It's elegant and understated (decor is black and white and the scent of the candles in the lobby is the same as the scent of the high-end toiletries in the rooms) and in an ideal location. It's one block from Central Park (near the boathouse) and in a very quiet, not-so-touristy neighborhood. And they allow dogs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guapagirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene R, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guapagirl17,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location just steps away from Central Park and that our spacious guest accommodations and inspiring Lauren Rottet design exceeded your expectations.

Thank you especially for highlighting the warm and gracious service extended to you by our entire team as I am so proud to learn that we were successful in curating a most enjoyable stay.

We are proud to offer the Posh Pets Program providing special amenities and services for our four-legged guests.

We are truly grateful for your continued advocacy of The Surrey and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Rene Roman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 467 in New York City
727 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#264 of 467 in New York City
783 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#53 of 467 in New York City
1,459 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing