We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Engagement”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #72 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect Engagement”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wanted to find a private terrace with a NYC skyline view on which to propose to my fiancé. A hotel was an obvious solution, and the The Surrey turned out to be the best choice. I made an appointment with the hotel to check out the 14th floor suite's private terrace to ensure the view was spectacular. The view was breathtaking and I could relax since I nailed down a critical aspect of the engagement.

Rachel coordinated with me to set up the room in advance of our arrival. Everything was perfect. When we checked in and they walked us to the elevator, they used a key to access our floor, which I thought was strange because I visited the hotel a few weeks prior and I didn't require a key to access the 14th floor. Turns out, we were silently upgraded to the penthouse suite, which surprised both of us!

The room was huge and spotless, comfortable and contemporary. Since we were only there one night, we didn't get to enjoy all the features of the room, but it has everything you might want from a kitchen to a whirlpool to a sound system. The wraparound terrace was unbelievable and contributed to a more romantic and impressive engagement proposal than either of us could have imagined.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okayjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such gracious feedback from your recent stay with us. We are truly honored that we were a part of your most special engagement.

I am so delighted that you enjoyed our spacious Penthouse Suite and the amenities in the room, including the kitchen, whirlpool and sound system, exceeded your expectations. We concur that the wrap-around terrace and lends to views that are truly breathtaking.

Thank you especially for shining a light on the personalized and intuitive service delivery provided by our team members, most notably Ms Rachel Leyland, Guest Relations Manager. I am thrilled that she was so successful in assisting you to ensure all details were to perfection.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, perhaps to celebrate your honeymoon.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    286
    102
    43
    35
See reviews for
370
829
124
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel was perfect . Met all of our expectations ,staff was wonderful ,the room and amenities were great . . The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner actually responded to our desired setting . They treated us like they really cared about our stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience at The Surrey.

I am delighted that your guest accommodations exceeded your expectations from our custom Duxiana bedding and Mitchel & Peach amenities to the responsive cooling system.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with genuine and personalized service delivery and I am so delighted that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A top notch small hotel between fifth and Madison, the Surrey is sophisticated and beautifully appointed. The rooms are a good size, with a high standard of decoration. There is a great bar, a Fantastic restaurant and a spa. It is stones throw from museums, shopping and great restaurants.
It is a real oasis in a big busy city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most gracious feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to museum mile, famed Madison Avenue shopping and world renowned restaurants.

We are thrilled that our inspiring Lauren Rottet design and spacious guest accommodations exceeded your expectations.

I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the innovative libations and culinary delights at both Coco Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades and Michelin starred Café Boulud. I concur that treatments at Cornelia Spa are truly soothing.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Rooms are lovely (with great beds and fabulous bathrooms!), service is absolutely excellent, and location is perfect - quiet, residential neighborhood yet very close to museums, shopping, and everything else you want in NYC. A home away from home in the city. Expensive but if you can afford it this hotel is a find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC-Picky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback from your recent visit with us.

I am delighted that your guest accommodations exceeded your expectations from the inspiring Lauren Rottet design to the custom Duxiana bedding.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to museum mile and famed Madison Avenue shopping.

Thank you especially for recognizing the service provided by our team members. They continue to be our pride and joy.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed here for my wedding night. We stayed one night and paid for a deluxe room and got a very reasonable rate. After that Michelle from guest relations REALLY hooked us up. We were upgraded to a deluxe 2 room suite and they even put the effort to shower the reaaally comfortable bed with rose petals and delivered a complimentary glass of champagne. The rooms are really beautiful. the next day we had a couples massage at their spa. Very relaxing spa, a but pricey, but that is to be expected at any NYC Hotel.
Overall, very classy hotel in a very classy location. Would definitely recommend again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at The Surrey. I am so delighted that we could be part of your most special occasion.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your suite accommodations with our inspiring Lauren Rottet design and custom Duxiana bedding.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized and gracious service delivery and I am so pleased to learn that our entire team, most notably Ms Michelle Paredes, Guest Relations Coordinator, was successful in achieving this with you. I have shared your feedback with Michelle who was thrilled by your most gracious praises.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your couples massage in Cornelia Spa and found the experience to be very relaxing. Our spa is definitely one of our best features.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to celebrate your anniversary. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
188 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

An excellent boutique hotel with an excellent location, between Madison and Fifth Avenue. Have a wonderful, very friendly and attentive to all your requests staff. First-class restaurant with rich wine list, plus a bar with interesting jazz concerts. If you are looking for something with prime quality, these is one of the best hotels in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mfaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience at The Surrey.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized service delivery and I am so pleased that our entire team has achieved this with you.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the culinary delights and extensive wine list of Michelin Star Café Boulud as well as Coco Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The most comfortable bed ever! A very smart hotel in a great location. We were on the 12th floor, so no noise from the traffic outside. The room was spacious and very clean and the bathroom well stocked.
The staff were very helpful, just one issue with the female concierge. She suggested the Hotel car take us out to dinner one evening and promised to book it. We think she forgot, as it didn't arrive and she seem flustered when we asked what had happened. She apologised and made excuses, instead of just being truthful. We walked to the restaurant instead despite the chilly evening.
The entrance really needs a revolving door, as the lobby felt cold because of the weather as the doors are constantly being opened and closed.

Room Tip: Higher rooms - less Street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed our custom-designed Duxiana bed and that your spacious and quiet guest accommodations exceeded expectations.

Despite these highlights, please allow me to extend my sincerest apologies for the lapse you experienced with our complimentary house car. This service is available on a first come, first serve basis to all guests and may not be reserved; I truly regret that there was a misunderstanding regarding the protocol of this service. I have discussed this incident with our Concierge team in detail so we may prevent a repeat occurrence. I am deeply sorry and hope this incident has not marred your overall impression of The Surrey.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further, whenever your schedule may permit. Please feel free to contact me by e-mail at shan.kanagasingham@thesurrey.com or by phone at 646.358.3605.

In the interim, I remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#36 of 468 in New York City
702 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#241 of 468 in New York City
769 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#225 of 468 in New York City
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#51 of 468 in New York City
1,436 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing