We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #37 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived and were greeted in a very friendly and professional manner. Though I arrived after 3 PM, the room was not ready, however Krystal offered me a glass of wine and I relaxed as they completed the preparation of the room. As a result of my prior review, a special effort was made to insure that the room was properly cleaned prior to our arrival. Our room was a perfect size and cleaned to perfection. I think that this is a very subtle hotel on the upper east side. It is not as luxurious as other Relais and Chateau hotels, but it is a first class hotel. I also like the new products in the bathroom. I loved hanging out at Pleides Bar. I am looking forward to our next stay in November and will review it one more time.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a view. Make sure you request a normal size room with a double vanity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations featuring Mitchell and Peach bath amenities.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with intuitive and gracious service delivery and I am so happy to learn that Ms Krystle Nieves, Guest Service Agent was successful in achieving this with you despite the slight delay on arrival.

I concur that Coco Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades is truly a delight and I am thrilled that you enjoyed the ambiance and innovative libations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in November. Please reach out to me personally so I may handle your travel arrangements. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    255
    81
    37
    26
See reviews for
328
770
107
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

With so many options in NYC and in this neighborhood, The Surrey is an amazing find. Our stay and experience was exceptional in every way. The staff was always accommodating, incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. No complaints, we highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so proud to learn that your experience was exceptional in every way.

I am so delighted that we exceeded your expectations from the personalized and intutitive service provided by our team members to our spacious and comfortable guest accommodations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is nice, quiet area; I had an excellent sleep, and the location is great. It is just off Madison avenue, with lots of shops and restaurant. It is just like a "Relais et Chateaux" institution! Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ms. Nelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share such gracious feedback from your recent stay at The Surrey. We are very proud to be a part of the Relais & Chateaux family.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our tranquil Upper East Side location with close proximity to famed Madison Avenue boutiques and world renowned restaurants.

I am thrilled to learn that our custom Duxiana bedding provided for an excellent night’s sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Surrey and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I loved everything about my stay at The Surrey. The room seemed much larger than the usual NYC postage stamp rooms. The bathrooms were divine. I loved the utilitarian.art deco feel and it was very spacious indeed. The Mitchell and Peach products were too die for. The roof top bar was perfect and whilst we were there witnessed a fantastic New York sunset. So glad we didn´t stay at The Carlyle across the road because we went in for a look and it very musty the bar. No comparison to the well designed bar in The Surrey. A bit on the pricey side however most definitely worth it which you can $270 and end up with something dreadful. Spend another $100 and you are guaranteed pure luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am so thrilled that you loved everything about your stay.

I am delighted that our spacious guest accommodations and bathrooms exceeded your expectations from the inspiring Lauren Rottet design to our Mitchell and Peach amenities.

We are proud to offer our guests exclusive access to our Private Roof Garden and I concur that the sunset views are breathtaking. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the design of Coco-Chanel inspired Bar Pleiades.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow... Where to start! The Surrey Hotel provided us with a perfect 6 night break away this September for my girlfriends birthday - a real retreat after a long day sightseeing in the big apple! The hotel is a little on the pricey side but I was very lucky to find an amazing deal on lastminute.com, with that said it really is worth every penny even at full price! From the moment you arrive the staff make you feel right at home. We aren't the 'usual' or 'typical' 5 star guests, but we were made to feel very welcome none the less. The doorman are so friendly and helpful. Coco, (I think that was his name? Asian chap with glasses?) is so down to earth and always made time to talk to us about our day and offer his recommendations on attractions and restaurants.
On my girlfriends birthday I ordered a delicious breakfast in bed from the in room dining menu. We had previously eaten at a few different places for breakfast, so we were surprised to find the in room menu and mini bar fridge to be very reasonably priced. The service to our room was very good and the food was outstanding! A real treat. Would highly recommend it.
Overall the hotel and our room met our expectations. Modern and smart decor, and probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! We stayed in room 1213, a standard room, with a king bed and a huge walk in shower - which really is as powerful as a fireman's hose! Our power shower back home now seems rather pathetic! The view of Central Park was a lovely surprise too.
The only points of criticism I can make to our entire stay we're the finishing touches in our room. The furniture looked quite tired and worn with quite a few scratches and dents, and the sofa had long pen marks on the fabric. I was surprised to see that the finish to the bathroom was really quite poor too. The mastic (seal) along the floor, wall tiles, door frame and in the shower was very poorly finished. It was very rough and messy. I am a plumber by trade, so I do have a tendency to notice these things. But even so, with a 5 star hotel I would have expected this to be finished off to a much higher standard with attention to detail.
Overall, it really was a fantastic stay! We didn't want to come home, and we are definitely looking forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: We saved an amazing 40% on our entire trip (flights and hotel) by booking with lastminute.com!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to have been part of your special birthday celebration.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized, genuine and intuitive service delivery and I am proud to learn that our entire team, most notably Mr. Koko Latt, our wonderful Doorman, was successful in ensuring you felt comfortable in your home away from home. I have shared your feedback with Koko who was thrilled by your most gracious praises.

I concur that our In Room Dining by Michelin Star Café Boulud is one of our most special amenities and I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided to you.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our inspiring Lauren Rottet design and that our custom Duxiana bedding and over sized glass enclosed shower and views of Central Park exceeded your expectations.

Despite these highlights, I am disappointed that we fell short in ensuring the furniture and upholstery details as well as the finishing details in our room were not completed to perfection. Rest assured that your valuable feedback was taken in the spirit intended and I have shared your feedback with Mr Dave Stewart, Direct of Engineering and Mr Erik Wood, Director of Housekeeping, in hopes that we can correct these product gaps moving forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the first time I stayed at this hotel - and found it to be absolutely outstanding. The room was very spacious for New York standards and very comfortable and well appointed. The staff was very proactive and service minded. While a bit pricy, the value received was well worth it and I will definitely stay here on my next trip to the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr. Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking a moment to share your most gracious feedback from your first stay at The Surrey. I am proud to learn that your stay with us was outstanding.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations and inspiring Lauren Rottet design.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with intuitive, personalized and gracious service delivery and I am so happy to learn that we were successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I love staying at the Surrey when in NYC. After being out and about all day it is the perfect spot to come back and relax. All of the staff are so welcoming. At night you can walk to many great spots.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleencook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ms Cook,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you were able to relax at The Surrey after a day out in the city and enjoy the many great close by spots in the evenings.

I am so proud to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the welcoming service provided by our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#19 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#241 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#31 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing