We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms!”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #87 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. It was fantastic, we stayed in a grand deluxe room and it was amazingly spacious, basically you get a room big enough for 2 queen beds with one king bed and a lounge area, I think it's worth the upgrade if you can. We felt like all that space was a real treat, especially in NYC. The location is superb, one block from Central park, we aren't big shoppers but you can be in your favourite stores on madison or 5th within a few minutes.. One of our nicest evenings in the city was spent on the roof terrace, well worth it for a cocktail or two if you get the chance, the views are beautiful and the ambience was relaxed but very luxurious. We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant, it was great, but we didn't eat there in the evening or use the spa so can't comment. If they are up to the standard of the rest of the hotel I am sure they are great. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially our friend and doormen (Keko??) who chatted to us daily, made some great recomendations and generally made us smile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for sharing your positive feedback from your recent stay at The Surrey. I am so thrilled that we were a part of your honeymoon celebration.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park and famed Madison Avenue shopping.

We are so pleased that your Grand Deluxe Salon exceeded your expectations in respect to the spacious layout.

Thank you especially for taking a moment to shine a light on the thoughtful, warm and friendly service provided by our entire team. I am so proud to learn that Mr Koko Latt, our wonderful Doorman was successful in providing you with great recommendations and conversations. I have shared your feedback with our team members who were thrilled by your most gracious comments.

I concur that our Private Roof Garden is one of our most special amenities and I am so thrilled that you were able to take advantage of delicious hand crafted cocktails, breathtaking views and relaxing ambiance of this signature Surrey feature. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast at Michelin Star Café Boulud.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and I sincerely hope you have a chance to enjoy a massage at Cornelia Spa on your return trip to The Surrey.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Exciting, comfortable, excellent staff, very modern! Loved the hotel room and bathroom. Go to the rooftop bar and enjoy a drink, or just sit there in the evening and admire the view. The staff were just so helpful ... Nothing too much for them. Enjoyed the jazz band in the bar, while we relaxed for a drink. This small hotel has it all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katymaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such gracious feedback from your recent experience at The Surrey.

I am so delighted that we exceeded your expectations in so many ways from our inspiring Lauren Rottet design to our spacious and comfortable guest accommodations and bathrooms.

We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of personalized and gracious service and I am so proud that our entire team achieved this with you.

I am also thrilled that you enjoyed the hand crafted cocktails on our Private Roof Garden and took in the breathtaking views from this signature Surrey feature. The band in Bar Pleiades is such a wonderful entertainment and I am so happy that you were able to relax and enjoy while listening to jazz music.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Far and away our favorite place to stay not only in NYC but, arguably, anywhere. The staff is always fantastic and we are always treated as welcomed guests. Couldn't recommend more highly! This was our 6th stay at The Surrey and we were just as impressed as our first visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mr. David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your most gracious feedback from your recent experiences at The Surrey. We are truly humbled to be considered your favorite place to stay.

We pride ourselves on providing our guest with warm and gracious service and I am thrilled that we achieved this with you. I have shared your feedback with our entire team who were delighted by your high praises.

We truly appreciate your continued patronage to The Surrey and look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home away from home.

In the interim, I remain at your service,

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel- modern, but too hip. excellent service. Prices fluctuate based on different factors- at times the prices are quite high, but sometimes quite reasonable and they have some good specials.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our inspiring Lauren Rottet design and that the personalized and genuine service provided by our team members exceeded your expectations.

We are pleased to offer our guests special packages and promotions in order to enjoy The Surrey and New York City. We change our packages and promotions seasonally which are featured on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would like to update a previous review and compliment the entire staff of the amazing job they are doing! We had a few issues during a previous stay but those days are gone! The Surrey is our favorite place to stay - the rooms are lovely, the service spectacular and the attention to their guest, their needs and request are just wonderful and met with a smile. We have stayed at The Surrey numerous times and are returning with friends later this month! We cannot wait to share this gem of a hotel that feels more like "home" with them and enjoy another fabulous trip! It is truly a special place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtohavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us and for noting the improvements from your previous stay.

We pride ourselves on providing our guest with genuine and intuitive service delivery, and I am delighted that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you. I have shared your feedback with our team members, who were thrilled by your gracious praises.

We truly appreciate your word of mouth recommendations and for sharing The Surrey with your friends and family.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I loved the hotel! The room was stunning, spacious and very clean. The walk in shower is joy to come back to after a day of sight seeing. We enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant on two mornings and has a lovely dinner on the patio one evening. For dinner I had the best Risotto that I have ever had. Wish I had the recipe. At breakfast, the coffee was $6 a cup which I think is somewhat pricey. Check in was a breeze. The car was gone and parked for us without any problem. I had hoped for an room upgrade as I was told upon booking there might possibly be one as it was our 40th wedding anniversary. My husband and I did not get the upgrade but my son and his wife did, so at least one of the couples got an upgrade. My son was thrilled with his room. We were very surprised to receive a complimentary bottle of sparking wine upon our arrival as a gift from the hotel in honour of our anniversary. Thank you Hotel Surrey. Bottled water is available for guests in the lobby which is a nice touch. There are two small details that I wish the hotel would change: I like to get my own ice (ice has to be ordered and it can take time to be delivered) and I would enjoy having tea/coffee available in the room. We loved the Surrey and appreciated the individual attention that we received. Thank you for a memorable stay in New York at the Surrey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience at The Surrey.

I am so touched that we could be a part of your most special 40th wedding anniversary trip to New York and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your personalized welcome amenity.

I am delighted that our spacious guest accommodations and oversized glass enclosed shower exceeded the expectations of you and your family. Having said that, I wish we had been able to offer an upgrade for both you and your son.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the culinary delights of Michelin Star Café Boulud for breakfast and al fresco for dinner. I have shared your compliments on the risotto with our Chef who was humbled by your high praises.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized and intuitive service and I am so proud to learn that the individual attention provided to you and the swift arrival experience provided by our team members exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and please know that your comments are taken in the spirit intended. We provide coffee and tea set ups in guest rooms upon request. It is also our service standard to provide ice as a convenience to our guests and we will be delighted to have ice in your room upon arrival going forward. Please call on me at 646.358.3605 so I may learn of your contact information and update your profile so we may ensure your preferences are executed seamlessly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A couple of months ago, I stayed at the Surrey in NY for the first time and I look forward to my next visit. Very well located and a real 5 star hotel. Some noice from work on Madison Avenue but with the AC on, it blocked most of it. My only complaint was that I had been caught in a rain storm and when I got to my room, soaking wet mind you, the AC was set on about 65 and it was like walking into a freezer. I'm sure if I hadn't been wet, it would have felt wonderful but... All in all a very nice stay and I felt safe traveling by myself.

Room Tip: I'd definitely try for a corner suite or higher room for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Ms Elliott,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback from your recent experience with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our idyllic Upper East Side location, however I am disappointed that your first visit to The Surrey coincided with the emergency utility work on Madison Avenue that created excessive noise pollution. I am confident that your return visit with us will be much more tranquil.

I was further disappointed to learn that you were uncomfortable with your room temperature upon returning from being caught in a rain storm. We typically do not adjust the temperature controls once a guest arrives. Having said that, we will ensure we are more diligent moving forward. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences we may have caused you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#33 of 469 in New York City
751 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#289 of 469 in New York City
807 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#37 of 469 in New York City
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 469 in New York City
2,916 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#190 of 469 in New York City
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $408 - $1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing