We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super dog-friendly”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super dog-friendly”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here in June, July and September 2012 with our large dog; booked directly by e-mail; arrived by car; stayed a total of five nights. Parking is by valet and it takes about 15 minutes to get your car; there's also street-side parking right in front of the hotel, if you are lucky... - This was a great hotel experience from all points of view: perfectly appointed, large (!), clean rooms (we had a different room type on each stay and all were excellent), efficient and friendly service above and beyond expectations, and we cannot overstate how dog-friendly everyone was (including all fellow guests in spite of the very snug elevators, our dog being bear-size). The casual French restaurant (a Boulud place) is super-reliable and very good, as were the four different treatments we enjoyed at the spa. - Yes, it is all very expensive, but it's NYC and this is the only hotel of its category that is truly dog-friendly, and we cannot fault the place for anything.

PLEASE NOTE:
the reason for this review appearing with such delay is that we have only now (May 2013) been able to finally fight our laziness in reviewing the more than 60 hotels and B&Bs we stayed at in 2012 and, so far, in 2013.
As everyday (!) users of this site, we feel we must make the effort of contributing - we also think that there aren't enough real reviews by real people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam-Travel-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your experience in 2012.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations featuring custom Duxiana bedding and Sferra linens and we concur that Michelin star Café Boulud offers a most enjoyable gastronomic experience.

We pride ourselves on providing our guest with gracious and warm service delivery and I am proud to learn that our entire team was so successful in achieving this with you.

Thank you for your generous comments on our Posh Pets program which provides unique pet amenities and attentive pet services to our four legged guests. We were also pleased that you enjoyed Cornelia Spa and their intuitive treatments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    292
    103
    47
    36
See reviews for
378
841
125
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lubna, is an super concierge.She bought orchestra tickets for "Wicked" ---4 hours before the show)))).
Stephanie is fabulous morning "wake up" caller.(She will even offer to call you again ,in case you doze off--something that is rare in high end hotels.)And Rocky and
Pablo are welcoming doormen. As for the room, strong shower pressure and a luxurious bed, which is made up at least twice a day
Also, the hotel is a seven minute taxi ride across the Park to John Lennon's memorial, "imagine."
And dog friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobes303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback from your recent experience.

We are truly delighted that our idyllic Upper East Side location steps from Central Park with close proximity to “Imagine” exceeded your expectations. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our spacious guest accommodations featuring custom Duxiana bedding and Sferra linens as well as our oversized glass-enclosed showers featuring Waterworks bath fixtures.

We are truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations with the gracious and warm service extended by Ms. Lubna Datchler, Concierge, Ms. Estefani Wexler from Guest Services and our Doormen, Mr. Rocky Marmara and Mr. Pablo Castro. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized and intuitive service delivery and I was proud to learn that we were successful in creating a most enjoyable experience.

We are proud to offer our Posh Pets program which provides unique pet amenities and attentive pet services to our four legged guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Surrey for a weekend in February. The hotel is well located just a block from Central Park. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room was beautiful and very well kept. Our stay wasn't cheap but I'd say that if you want a treat it is worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback from your recent experience.

We are truly delighted that are tranquil Upper East Side location steps from Central Park exceeded your expectations. I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our inspiring Lauren Rottet design and spacious guest accommodations featuring our custom Duxiana bedding and Sferra linens.

We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of personalized genuine service and I am happy to learn that our team was successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

it was too hot and 2 staff members were unsuccessful in cooling it. We needed to call 2 times for ice on one of the hottest days. Concierge did not get requested tickets to museum. It is a lovely hotel with nice staff and good food but the bed and pillows were not that comfortable besides that it was too warm I await the reason concierge failed the one task requested.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peggyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent stay with us.

Please allow me to personally extend my sincere and heartfelt apologies for the frustration that you experienced in regards to the temperature in your guest accommodation. I have spoken with Mr Dave Stewart, Director of Engineering in efforts to prevent future such occurrences.

I am truly sorry that our Concierge team did not deliver on your request for museum tickets. Rest assured that your feedback has been received in the spirit intended. We have reviewed this incident with our entire Concierge team to ensure all guest requests are fulfilled and delivered in a timely manner without any such gaps.

These shortfalls are certainly not typical of us and we are sincerely dismayed to disappoint a guest such as yourself. I would welcome the chance to speak with you further regarding your experience and may be reached at (646) 358-3605.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I took my daughter who had just turned 16 and completed her first set of state exams. She deserved a treat and her first ever visit to New York and staying at The Surrey was the treat. I had chosen The Surrey due to its proximity to the Park, its small, luxurious, understated nature and the reports of wonderful staff. It lived up to expectation in all regards. The room was amazing. I have not slept better since. Great beds, blackout curtains that work, a shower to die for. Special thanks must go to the concierges who were so very helpful and seamlessly could advise on all manner of things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regular66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn that your daughter had a memorable experience…especially on her first ever visit to New York.

We are truly delighted that our idyllic Upper East Side location steps from Central Park exceeded your expectations. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our luxurious sleep experience featuring custom Duxiana bedding, as well as our bathrooms featuring glass-enclosed showers with Waterworks fixtures.

We pride ourselves on the warm and gracious service extended by our colleagues and I was proud to learn that our team members, especially our Concierge team was successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Surrey so that I could be close to Lenoxhill Hospital. My stay was amazing even though I only spent about 6-7 hours a day there! ANYONE coming to NYC should experience this,charming, elegant hotel. Thank you.
Bette Scott

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ms. Bette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most rewarding feedback from your recent experience. We love being referred to as a charming and elegant hotel.

We are truly delighted that our Upper East Side location with close proximity to Lenox Hill Hospital exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was my dream to visit New York city and after a week of no sleep staying near Time Square it was a pleasure to go to this wonderful hotel.
My friend and I arrived early however it was no problems for the wonderful staff who checked us in and gave us a upgrade to a suite which was beyond words,
The service from every staff member given to us was up and beyond but Koko was fantastic with his knowledge of where to get a decent coffee, directions and I loved having a chat with him. Koko is a asset to the hotel and he was one of the reasons the stay was a dream come true. A big thank you to all the staff and Koko

The bedding and pillows gave me the best nights sleep since I got to New York and if you want a room with enough room for all your New York shopping this is the place. The bathroom has one of the biggest bathtubs and I felt like a Queen of NYC soaking in the tub after a big day out.
The location is right near all the amazing museums and the Met which should be on every traveller's list when they visit. It fantastic to wake up refreshed and walking through Central Park instead of the traffic of Midtown was a highlight of each morning
I have been recommending this property and the staff to all my co workers and passengers who I book as it suites couples,friends ,honeymooners ,business clients and upmarket clients.
Thank you for a stay that has stayed in my memory and I hope to come back and visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meshelle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most generous feedback from your recent experience.

We concur that our idyllic Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park, Museum Mile and famed Madison Avenue shopping is one of our best attributes.

We are truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations with the gracious and warm service extended by Mr Koko Latt, Bellman. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized and intuitive service delivery and I was proud to learn that we were successful in creating a most memorable experience.

We were pleased that you enjoyed our spacious suite accommodations and that our custom Duxiana bedding made for such an enjoyable night’s sleep. I was also delighted that the bathroom featuring a large soaking tub exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 467 in New York City
727 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#264 of 467 in New York City
783 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#53 of 467 in New York City
1,459 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing