We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Surrey to your Saves list
The Surrey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night
Ranked #29 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a great hotel, great outstanding service, hughe rooms for NY standards, dont hesitate and select this hotel in your next trip. The service is off the chart, its close to the MET, and you can walk ti the 5th shops . Everyone is ready to serve you and the room is really really beaitiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariolazcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are humbled by your kind words and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations with our close proximity to Central Park, Museum Mile and the famed shopping on Madison Avenue.

We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of intuitive and personalized service and I am proud to learn that our team members were so successful in making you feel warm and welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was all gung ho about writing a review as soon as I stayed at the Surrey for a week before Christmas, I was annoyed that the room I had booked was not suitable for a mother and son..and I had to pay an additional $80 a night to have 2 beds, which is hardly the Christmas Spirit, considering the occupancy rate was low, and I had checked in around 9pm so this was not a good way for me to start off...I think the location is lovely, I really like the UES and have stayed at many NY hotels, this said, the decoration is rather strange, we stayed another 3nights after returning from Mexico and the room was nicer with a little side window affording a view of Central Park, much is made of the mattress's but to be honest they are OK..but not as amazing as Trump Soho, the water pressure was so strong and powerful I am sure this must be a waste...but of course others will like it...the room decoration could hardly be called eclectic ..sort of strange Amoire not really in keeping with a 5star hotel, and I have no idea why Kate Moss's picture is in the lobby, as when I viewed this I thought I was in for a modern treat...hardly...
On location this is a 10 out of 10, staff varied from being lovely to being superior (superior being the chap who found it great to charge $80 extra a nt so I did not have to sleep in the same bed as my son) Would I go back...Not whilst the likes of Trump Soho offer inroom nespresso, and views to die for and no charge for internet...and service that is CAN do, rather than CANT do.

Room Tip: we at first had a room on the 5th floor, large but looked straight into a man's townhouse, he wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback from your recent visit. We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations with our close proximity to Central Park, Museum Mile and the famed shopping on Madison Avenue.

Design can be so personal and I regret to learn that Lauren Rottet’s décor was not to your taste.

Our double queen bedded accommodations are limited in inventory and hence we tend to charge in accordance with our demand based on supply. Please know that it is not our intention to have you pay additional monies.

We hope that these incidents have not marred your overall impression of The Surrey and that you afford us the opportunity to regain your faith and restore your confidence in us. Kindly, please call me to 646.358.3605 when your travel plans next bring you to New York so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at the surrey when my house flooded in hurricane irene and i think the service is great but i stayed there for 6 weeks and they only had about 5 things on the menu and i'm a new yorker so i don't really mind going out because i know where to get good food bunt my mom started to go a bit crazy because the food there was gross and the restaurant downstairs was way to expensive. so we were all a bit sad my 4 year old sister but she was fine as long as she could get toys,my 13 year old brother, and me. and the food literally made me sick. like i said befor the people are nice the survice is great. the location is also amazing zitimers was right across the steat its a drug store and a toy store. also next door they had a great coffee shop. i hope you found this review help full. tere is also a park you just have to walk for about 2 min.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lila-z12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parana, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed 13 nights during January (I also stayed there during my previous visit to NYC).

I can not imagine a better place: the hotel is gorgeous, the decoration is excellent and the bed is the best I have ever slept on.

I also love the upper east side location, but really the best of all is the staff: they are very professional and friendly and make you feel at home; the Director of Guest Relations send me an e-mail to ask the estimated arrival time to minimize waiting time (of course, my room was ready when I arrived!!!); the guest service agents are really very helpful and friendly.

No doubt during my next trip I will stay at The Surrey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

Our unique design by Lauren Rottet and prime Upper East Side location are indeed some of our best attributes. We were truly pleased that you found our service to be professional and friendly, especially that of Mr. Jose Lema, our Director of Guest Relations. We pride ourselves on the gracious and warm service extended by our colleagues and I was proud to learn we were successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Shan Kangasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a short getaway and loved the location. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous! The room was large and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muribyortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our tranquil ambience and personalized service to our close proximity to Central Park, Museum Mile and the famed shopping on Madison Avenue.

We were delighted that our spacious guest accommodations exceeded your expectations and our custom Duxiana bedding and Sferra linens provided you with a luxurious sleep experience.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love this hotel. It is smaller and you get such personal treatment you feel like a guest in a friends home with the most incredible bedding. I also love the decor and intimacy of the bar. Just an all around great experience!

Room Tip: I have stayed there many times and never had a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janaherritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us.

We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of intuitive and personalized service and I am proud to learn that our team members, were so successful in achieving this with you. We were delighted that our custom Duxiana bedding and Sferra linens exceeded your expectations and provided you with a luxurious sleep experience.

We concur that the innovative libations at Bar Pleiades and intuitive design makes for a most memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really liked this hotel, I have stayed in many small hotels in NYC, but the service here was better.
The checking process was quick and efficient. Because we had tickets to the Ballet they reserved my room and held our bags. Upon return we were expected and welcomed it was a great room on the 19th floor corner room. Great view and quiet too. The hotel was making changes with their towels and robes so room maid gave us the new softer towels, really nice. It was nice having dinner down stairs and the Bar is modern and drinks really good. The neighborhood is just off Madison Avenue so many places to shop.. Complimentary coffee in early morning in lobby.
I will be back..

Room Tip: Worth the price to pay for high room if you can...great light..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that you were most impressed by our superb location with close proximity to Central Park and the famed shopping of Madison Avenue.
However, it is our exceptional level of intuitive and personalized service that we pride ourselves on and I am proud to learn that our team members were successful in making you feel warm and welcome. We concur that the innovative libations at Bar Pleiades and intuitive design makes for a most memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing