We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms with a view”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #73 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms with a view”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

It's worth the extra dollars to get a room on the higher floors. Its nice to be able to open the windows for fresh air. The rooms are excellent with a nice big shower. And the choice of pillows was a little luxury I appreciated a lot. A couple of issues though..I would have liked to have control of the air cond. unit. Damn thing ran 24/7 and rattled away all night. No iron in the room? It's cheaper to buy a couple of shirts than pay to have them laundered(but that's NY). And what is it with the upper priced hotels and the internet? Why is it they charge to provide Wi-fi yet a cheap hotel will provide it for free? Just takes the edge of a nice time. A good breakfast buffet at a reasonable price for NY.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pd5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most detailed feedback. We were pleased that our luxurious sleep experience, excellent views and innovative culinary offerings at Café Boulud all attributed to a memorable experience.

I have shared your comments with Mr Dave Stewart, Director of Engineering so that we may review our in-room temperature controls in an effort to prevent future such guest dissatisfaction. Rest assured that we take your feedback very seriously and are in the process of outfitting our guest accommodations with both irons and ironing boards. We will certainly take your feedback into consideration as we periodically review our pricing strategy for internet services.

Kindly please call me when your travels next bring you to The Surrey so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    287
    102
    45
    36
See reviews for
373
833
125
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I have plenty of negative experiences with Hotels in New York so it was a surprisingly good experience to stay at the Surrey. The rooms are large for New York and the staff very helpful and friendly. Since most of the buildings around are not as high you can get a nice view from your room. The location is great with its proximity to central park. The whole decoration of the hotel is modern but in a comfortable way. We were traveling with a one year old and the staff from cleaning crew to concierge were very helpful, fast and personal which is very unique in New York. The room was very clean. Our bathroom was also relatively big for New York. We stayed over hurricane Irene weekend and although there was minimum personnel the service was still good and our beds got made every day. Very nice is also the roof terrace where drinks and snacks are served. The restaurant of the hotel is a one star Michelin rated place with great food. It's popularity had its drawbacks though since it was basically impossible to just go eat without reservations. Also the hotel lobby is tiny. There are about 4 chairs and a sofa to sit on. Internet was about 60 USD per week (wireless only and not very fast). The spa is very basic but convenient. The business center is below average since printing from your own laptop is basically impossible. There are two computers and two printers that are outsourced to some service provider that charges per minute of computer use and per page printed. For "business" it is useless but for emergency business it should do.

Overall we had a great experience and we were positively surprised by the team of the hotel. I would stay there again and also recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a floor higher than 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My family recently stayed at The Surrey after being evacuated during Hurricane Irene. They showed up at 6:30 in the morning with a car full of stuff and a cat. Not a picture that just any hotel would warm to. Melinda, Lorena and Pablo, took care of everything. My wife didn't expect to get into a room until check in time at 3:00, but because of the unusual circumstances(traveling with a cat) she asked for an early check in. She left to feed the kids and when she returned they had everything ready at 8am! They were extremely professional, but also very personable. It made all the difference in the world and the service just continued from there. They brought them everything they needed and really cared about their guests despite a skeleton staff due to the storm. Andrew was also extremely good at his job at the concierge desk. The Surrey is one of those places that is perfectly located for Madison Ave shopping, Central Park strolling, and Hurricane Evacuating. It is a lovely hotel that is unique and makes you feel as though you have stumbled onto a jewel. Chris Bauer

Room Tip: We had two rooms, a full bath and a powder room. Much more room than most NY hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobojungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your heartfelt experience from your family’s recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that we executed gracefully despite challenging circumstances with Hurricane Irene.

I have personally thanked our Guest Services colleagues, particularly Ms Melinda Manning, Guest Services Agent; Ms Lorena Ringoot, Chief Concierge; Mr Andrew Mellor, Concierge and Mr Pablo Castro, Bellman for their exemplary service delivery to you and your family.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful stay in New York that even Hurricane Irene could not spoil thanks to the wonderful team at The "New" Surrey. First, a word about our history with The Surrey, dating to the mid-'00's when we lived there for several weeks while on assignment in NYC. We loved our home-away-from-home: our enormous suite, the lovely neighborhood and the kind housekeeping staff who tended to us morning and evening. Despite the shabbiness of the increasingly threadbare, traditional decor, we just pretended that our Surrey suite was on loan to us by a beloved, elderly UES aunt and nested there happily. Naturally, we were dismayed when The Surrey closed for renovation and transformation into a chic, hip boutique hotel, having experienced the very mixed bag these establishments can be. Too often style substitutes for substance and service and the young staffs mistakenly think it's all about them, not their guests. Consequently, we have avoided The "New" Surrey for several years in favor of our fond memories of The "Old" Surrey.
Needless to say, we were thrilled beyond compare by the delightful surprise The "New" Surrey proved to be during our four-day stay over "Hurricane Irene Weekend". Altho' our Grand Deluxe Salon on the 8th floor was half the size of our old suite, having been created from only one of the rooms of the old one-bedroom suites, we loved it! Incomparable in decor and comfort, we fell in love with The Surrey all over again.
But, our most ardent praise goes to the wonderful, young staff at The "New" Surrey. Beautifully trained and completely committed to their guests' comfort and safety, they proved themselves beyond question during a stressful weekend when Hurricane Irene brought "The City That Never Sleeps" to a halt. Whether testing flashlights in guest rooms, providing umbrellas for the driving rain, ensuring that guests had breakfast and dinner at hand when many UES restaurants closed for the hurricane's duration or re-booking transportation in the aftermath, they performed with complete commitment and quiet assurance. They personified the phrase "Esprit de Corps", i.e., the capacity of a group to maintain belief in a goal, particularly in times of stress, and to pull together persistently and consistently in pursuit of a common purpose. Kudos to the management and staff of The Surrey!! We were deeply impressed and touched by the wonderful way all of you demonstrated a genuinely caring attitude despite many disruptions, reduced staff and long hours on the job. The Surrey is once again our home-away-from-home in NYC. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamminjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were truly delighted to learn that you have made The Surrey your home away from home and that we continue to retain your loyalty. “Merci infiniment pour votre fidélité!”

Our colleagues are indeed an asset to us and I have shared your comments and personally thanked them for their outstanding service delivery throughout Hurricane Irene. We pride ourselves on being able to touch the heart and soul of each and every one of our guests and it is only with a dedicated and passionate team that we were able to have achieved this with you.

We were truly delighted that not even Hurricane Irene could spoil your visit and sincerely hope that Mother Nature is much kinder during your future travels to New York City. We look forwarding to welcoming you home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband spent hours in our room on conference calls and I never enjoyed NY more knowing I was coming back to The Surrey every night! Comfortable over-sized upholstered chairs face each other to allow a well-planned seating area, a big comfortable bed and a great bathroom --- what else does one need in a hotel room?

An added treat is outdoor penthouse patio with wifi -- a hidden gem in NY.

Lots of room service as this became a traveling office -- he thought it was much better than average despite the cost.

Only question is why does the bathroom having a sliding door?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie20817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your high praise and rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that our spacious and tastefully appointed guestrooms and amenities, including our private Roof Garden, exceeded your expectations. We were truly delighted to see that you enjoyed the innovative culinary offerings of our in-room dining menu crafted by Café Boulud.

We hope that during your next visit, your husband has an opportunity to enjoy the city with you and we look forward to welcoming you home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at this Hotel the week prior to Thanksgiving. He had business and we decided to add some fun days to the trip. We would get up early every morning and walk through Central Park since it was so close and then get our Starbucks. The rooms are spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable. Loved the beautiful Marble Bathrooms. The Surrey Hotel knows how to do it right!! I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52packrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were pleased to learn that you chose us for some rest and relaxation and that we excelled and surpassed your expectations.

We concur that our prime location to Central Park, tastefully appointed accommodations, bespoke Duxiana bedding and floor to ceiling Carrara marble all make for a most memorable and enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Loved this place! Not a huge fan of modern interiors but this was really nicely done. Clean & beautiful, with great service. Perfect location! Could do without the huge pic of Kate Moss staring at me every time I used the elevator but no complaints & will definitely stay again next time we're in NYC. So glad we found it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were truly delighted to learn that you have made The Surrey your new home and we have earned your love and loyalty.

We appreciate your comments on our perfect location and tastefully appointed décor. We pride ourselves in providing a superior level of service that is warm, gracious and attentive and are so proud that we successfully achieved this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 466 in New York City
718 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#249 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#206 of 466 in New York City
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 466 in New York City
1,449 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#62 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing