We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #305 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Prime midtown location at a comparatively low cost. Our room was clean, with comfortable beds, new carpeting and a recently renovated bathroom that had bright lighting and a large mirror that not many older hotels have. We were happy to find that the room had good closet space with a simple-to-use safe and an compact refrigerator. Included in our room price was 'breakfast' which we passed over for the Starbucks around the corner on 5th.

The only downside was the small single elevator that served the 12 floors.

The Hotel is located near good restaurants, F subway, Macy's flagship store and the Empire State Building. Also close to one of the best rooftop bars - the address and name of the bar is '230 5th' where on the 20th floor you have an open air, panoramic view of the NY skyline.

Room Tip: We stayed in 803 where our view was the brick wall next door - good for sleeping as it was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindaoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    769
    320
    81
    60
See reviews for
348
536
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

As so many others have written, the location is truly the best part of this property. The public areas are looking a little worn, the breakfast was not worth the effort, and the bathroom could have used a deep cleaning.

But this is an older building, so the small elevator and room sizes are to be expected. Our room was at the rear of the building facing the lightwell, so it was quiet, if gloomy. Made for good sleeping. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were lacking. We appreciated the mini-fridge and safe, but would have liked in-room coffee.

If your trip is only a couple of nights, and you won't be in your room much, the Hotel Stanford will do just fine. The subway station is just a few steps from the door, with plenty of good connections.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank churchofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This Manhattan hotel may not be top class but we found it to be very well priced, clean and friendly and all within 20 yards of Broadway and the subway staion. The best thing this hotel has goin for it is its location. Most of the top tourist attractions are within easy walking distance or readily accessable by near by public transport. Breakfast was included in the price of the room but it was very basic. At least it was something to have to get you started for the day. There are plenty of places close by if this style of breakfast is not for you. Very friendly staff and very clean rooms. Good value for money and well woth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1964Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The rooms are smallish, the A/C won't freeze you out, the furnishings are old and the elevators a bit smallish and slow. That said, the bathrooms were very large and redone nicely and the beds were comfortable.

The staff is also really great and very helpful to out of towners, but the best thing is the great location. Walk one street over to the Empire State Building, it's near the garment district which means GREAT shopping. Easy walk to Macy's and more and the subway station is really close and safe.

We enjoyed our two days there and could have stayed more. This will be a hotel we'll be happy to return to because it gave lots of value for the money and was very clean, safe and well run.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfiinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
287 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I will preface my review by stating that I have no prior experience with New York City hotels, although I have travelled extensively throughout the United States and stay in numerous hotels each year. I am sure that being in such a huge city like New York, the hotel may have some of the same features as other hotels I am going to describe here.

First, I will say that the check-in was quick and efficiently carried out. Thr people at the desk were friendly and professional in both their attire and manner.

We stayed on the sixth floor. There was no view from our room, which was okay. The room was exceptionally small for us, but it was comfortable and quaintly old-fashioned. The hallways were incredibly narrow, the likes of which I had never seen before. I could not even stretch out both of my arms when walking down the hallway.

We have a couple of complaints for the management. The first one I addressed while we were there. When we entered our room, it was 62 degrees, which is not exactly a comfortable room temperature, especially in the summertime. We complained to the people at the front desk before we left to eat dinner. They told us to just turn up the dial. We had already done that. We came back later on, and the room was still freezing, so we called the front desk again. They sent somebody up to our room. The man entered and said, "Oh, it's cold."That was all he said before he left. A half hour went by. Nothing happened. My husband opened the window to let some outdoor heat in. The vent continued to blow very cold air into the too. We called the front desk again, and this time a man appeared with a heater and a blanket and apologized for the temperature. I would like the management to be sure that all rooms are kept at room temperature to ensure a guest's comfort.

The second issue we had was the breakfast. The hotel is large, but has extremely limited space for breakfast. The hotel has a free breakfast, but they want to charge you $10 if you don't want to wait in the long line to take it out.

Finally, we were charged $30 at check-in for incidentals. When we were checking out, we asked for a return of that money. It should have been immediately returned to our card, but they said it would take a week to do that. I don't know why.

Other than that, we enjoyed the hotel. A couple of blocks of walking takes you to Macy's and the Empire State Building. Penn Station is very close by. Times Square is a short hop away on the subway. The Korean food we ate at the food court next door was outstanding. We enjoyed the neighborhood.

I would not mind returning to this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked this hotel wanting a clean hotel in a good location that didn't cost us a fortune! We certainly got that! Our room was on the 12th floor and we couldn't hear ANY street or traffic noises from the room- the first morning I woke up wondering if we were actually in Manhatten, it was so quiet!
I had read the rooms were small but the room we were given was certainly big enough!!
The little bar is useful for a quick drink during the early evening happy hour, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We looked at the free breakfast on day one but didn't partake, it wasn't what we were after: lots of bread and sweet items!
But overall this hotel was great value for money and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourneg_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Hello, I just would like to say that for the price we paid (228$/night) the rooms and the accomodations were very good. One thing could be bettre: breakfast! There is not much room for a lot of guests and the food could be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#281 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
#238 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Property: Hotel Stanford
Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing