We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #313 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a charming place. The staff could not be more helpful ( they gave us an upgrade on the room!) and although a little dated the room was clean and comfortable. The wine bar was stylish and atmospheric.
The location was perfect for us,just five minutes walk from Penn Station and around the block from the Empire State building! It is in the Korean Sector surrounded by fascinating restaurants where we had a superb meal.
I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    781
    327
    86
    62
See reviews for
358
551
69
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is a bit shabby and outdated but you could not get a better location for the price and the staff are all lovely.
They are currently undergoing refurbishment and I'm sure that means the prices will go up. The wine bar on the 2nd floor was very well appointed and offered good value for money on all house drinks at 50% during happy hours.
The breakfast offered could be a little more interesting but it was quick and efficient to start your day.
2 computers available all day for free internet access and wifi throughout.

Room Tip: There is only one lift that you sometimes have to wait ages for so ask for a lower floor so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susi-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in late May because the Stanford is within walking distance of Penn Station. We arrived early and checked in, but the room wasn't ready yet. The front desk people were pleasant and got us into our room as soon as they could. This is an older hotel. Our room was nice enough - the windows faced a brick wall - clean and comfortable. Mattress was very firm with smallish pillows. Our room was located near the second floor lounge which had coffee for hotel guests during specific hours. Continental breakfast - bagels and pastries, fruit, etc. Took advantage of the location to eat in a nearby Korean restaurant. For tourists, hotel is near subway stations, Fifth Avenue, Herald Square, and the Empire State Building. Times Square is nearby. Would recommend to friends on a budget looking for a basic hotel. There was a small refrigerator in our room - no ice machine on the floor but someone brought me some when I requested it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKenzie, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our family of 4 spent 4 nights in Hotel Stanford last week. We had the queen suite - two beds and a living room area. This worked really well for us. The room and bathroom was quite spacious for New York. The bathroom was great - large shower and good exhaust fan. I have no complaints about the room. The locations was great too. Just around the corner from Macy's and two blocks from Empire State Building.

The one big negative was the breakfast. It was all muffins, pastries, bagels and it was all rather hard and dry. They also had apples, but some cereal and banana would have been really nice after 4 mornings of stale stuff.

Oh and just a little tip - when it comes time to leave, don't let the door man get a taxi for you. Get it yourself because the taxi driver will charge you a flat rate instead of running the meter and then the driver gives the door man money for using his cab. We tipped the door man for getting us a cab then I watched the cab driver tip him again and the driver charged us more money than we paid when we got out own cab at the airport. Now we know...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooksgirl2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed for one night on our travels. The staff were pleasant but the hotel really needs some work. It was a lovely old hotel and a bit of TLC would be great. Having said that our room was clean and tidy. The free breakfast was really cheap. It was advertised as a continental breakfast but there was no cereal and no bread, just bagels and pastries. We wanted to take a couple of muffins back to our room but the people at breakfast weren't too happy about that and said that there was no eating in the rooms. We think it was an excuse to keep costs low.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in early May for a business trip. The location, as others have said, is great. Right by Herald Sq and Penn Station. The rooms are small, but the beds are comfy; clean linens and towels. The bathrooms could use updating but no major complaints. The breakfast left something to be desired; carbs carbs and carbs. Overall, for the price and location, this is a good place to crash when you are seeing the sights in NYC on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linds B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Be Aware!!!! Our stay at this hotel (Korean run hotel which is nothing close to its name "Stanford") was nothing close to pleasant. Here is the list of items that we found it too far from the reviews posted on tripadvisor (something didn't add up).

1. Hotel is so old that the shower rods are rusted so badly and you can see them easily. Doors don't close properly and the hotel room's door seems open all night as light was coming in from the large gaps.
2. Water pressure was really poor in the shower.
3. The A/C wasn't able to cool down the room no matter how low we brought down the thermostat (not a good night sleep).
4. Our card was charged $30 dollars at the check in(as the front desk claimed that was a common practice to the hotel) for incidental charges. They said they would put the money back on our card later. We had never experienced that in any hotel. We understand any incidental charges can be charged at the check out on the card on the file. This only made the hotel owner capable of bringing money to his/her account that wasn't his/hers for the duration of our stay. We didn't have any incidental charges. We were not happy that we had to be charged for something that wasn't necessary.
5. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. The steam/moisture from the shower made the bathroom and the room quite stuffy. The amount of dust/dirt stuck to the fan in the bathroom showed how badly the hotel had been maintained in cleaning and quality assurance.
6. The lobby was too small and the continental breakfast was very poorly arranged. Not enough healthy choices of food was on the table. We decided to eat breakfast somewhere else.
7. The bathroom in the lobby was locked at all times with no sign that guests needed to ask for keys to the bathroom. It was a misleading way of making guests wait to get into the bathroom. Bathrooms were not maintained well. They were dirty and no paper towel to dry hands. The dryer machine wasn't working either.

8. Staff wasn't helpful in explaining the charge processes or other matters. Staff was a bit hard to understand as well as you are in the Korean part of the town.

All together, we DO NOT suggest staying at this hotel. We paid $240 for one night and this was more like a motel with a really poor choice for the money spent. Ultimately, we preferred to spend $60 or a bit more to have a much cleaner and better hotel room that we could sleep and not wake up from being so hot or at least being able to use the bathroom in the lobby without the harassment of the front desk or other guests.

Both of us were very disappointed by trusting the ratings that we read on tripadvisor. We wondered how this hotel got 4 star since it was so old and poorly maintained.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adventurer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#288 of 468 in New York City
2,505 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 468 in New York City
2,279 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#319 of 468 in New York City
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#100 of 468 in New York City
1,669 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#297 of 468 in New York City
1,053 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#304 of 468 in New York City
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Property: Hotel Stanford
Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelPower, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing