We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely renovated, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance to Times Square, The Empire State Building, Macy's, and many great places to eat. Check-in was fast, easy and pleasant. We were able to check in early. Our room was on the 8th floor, 2 double beds with a kitchenette that included a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, sink. We also used this area for luggage storage since the closet is rather small. The beds were comfortable and the hotel rooms were so quiet, I would have thought we were the only ones there. There were 4 of us in the room (2 adults, 2 children). We slept comfortably. The bathroom is small. The room was cold, but had to get used to the sound of the air conditioner (a little loud). This is my second trip to the Affinia Manhatten, so I obviously would return and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear TMfamilyof4,

Thank you for your lovely review! I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel very comfortable. Looking forward to welcoming you back a third time-very soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    1,635
    690
    300
    180
See reviews for
1,377
1,455
186
791
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Affinia was comfortable, stylish, and convenient. Great location circa Madison Square Garden and Times Square. The rooms were not particularly large, but with nice views and a very comfortable bed. Having little experience with hotels in NYC, this hotel offered good value relative to its peers based on my research and my expectations were met.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Christopher S,

Thank you for such a great review and feedback! We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this location during Fashion Week 2013. It was great having a separate bedroom and bath while she had the main living room couch that folded out into a bed, had her own bathroom and closet. Mini kitchen was awesome to help save on money. Not too far away from Time's Square. Also, less than a block away was a mini-mart where we bought groceries and cooked a few meal. Had a couple of issues with the air conditioner blowing a fuse but maintenance was right up to fix it. I would stay here again as it was reasonably priced and a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for high up to help with the noise of honking horns of taxi's and construction going on. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Lori W,

thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review!
It looks like you and your daughter had a great time at our hotel and found our location to be simply perfect for all of your NYC needs.
In the heart of Chelsea, there are restaurants galore as well as a very spacious Whole Foods just a few blocks south on Seventh Avenue. Thank you for some great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here after waiting to finally go on my "trip of a lifetime" to NYC, and needless to say the stay wasnt a pleasant one. Upon arrival there were no bell boys to help us with our bags, after waiting to check in i thought i should let family members know i had got to the hotel safely after telling my provider i wanted my phone restricted cellular use i was only able to contact family and freinds via whatsapp which runs via the internet, after several attempts to log on wifi, i found out that this was not free in the hotel and there was a surcharge of $25 per day for use of this!! we proceeded to check in, and after been assigned a room between two people and 1 double bed we immediately ran into problems as we booked a twin room the hotel changed this for us, but then we were asked to put $250 retention fee on the room, which we had not been warned prior to staying here. I the paid the money which came out of my spending money for the trip as i didnt want to run up a huge bill by taking my credit or debit cards. We then got to the room, the bathroom was very dated the air con was similar to that of a mouse breathing at you through a straw and there were no plugs at the side of the bed to charge devices such as phones etc. The overall trip in New York was fantastic however and we very rarely stayed in the hotel long enough to notice anything worse regarding the room, plus points of the hotel are, perfectly situated directly opposite Penn station and Madison Square Garden, 10 mins walk to Time Square, 5 minutes walk to Empire State this really did live upto the trip of a lifetime, i will most definetly be visiting New York again my favourite city in the world but unfortunately it wont be at this hotel. Going back to the $250 dollars i put down as a retention on the room, i am still awaiting this money back and have been back nearly a month, called them numerous times which they say they have released it but i have yet to recieve it. I will leave you to make your own mind up. Although i have put that the sleep quality was poor and the hotel was loud, they arent bad things, you are in the city that never sleeps, i wanted that.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0n24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sim0n24,

Thank you for your review.
It seems that there may have been some misunderstanding while at the hotel and I wish to take this opportunity to clarify: we are very happy to provide Wifi service throughout our entire hotel; all reservations booked directly on our website receive complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel. Any other reservations booked via a third party website can choose complimentary Wifi in our hotel lobby or in their guestroom or suite for $14.95 per 24 hours. In regards to the security deposit: it is a common standard for hotels to authorize a certain amount for on a guest's credit or debit card for any incidental charges during the stay. Should there be no incidental charges, this hold is released upon check out. If you are still not seeing the funds released, kindly contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger. Next time, please be sure to let our friendly and helpful staff members know should there be any questions or confusion, as we are all here to assist our guests 24-hours a day. Thank you for choosing our hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is across street from Madison Square Garden. It is an excellent place to stay if you are going to event there. The staff was very friendly. However, the front desk always seemed to have a line of people waiting. Our room was large; however, the bathroom was extremely small and shower stall was small and there was mold on tile floor. We used towel on floor when we showered. There was no bar for hand towel next to sink. The bed was comfortable and room, with the exception of the floor in the shower, was clean. The Restaurant/Bar attached to hotel was excellent! Great breakfast buffet/menu.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear 111Hunter,

thank you for your review.
Our hotel, being immdiately opposite Madison Square Garden, could not be more perfect for anyone attending any events or looking for a simplw travel options by using Penn Station. The location is simply suberb for being in the middle of it wall and having easy access for getting around.
Be sure to visit us soon again.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and arrived via the New Jersey transit train into penn station from Newark airport ($12.50 p.p). The hotel is across the street so very convenient for using the subway too. It is in a very good location, approx 10 minute walk from Times Square and Empire State Building.

Our room was lovely with a small sitting room area, as well as a huge bed. Yes the bathroom was slightly small, but how much time do you really spend in there?! We found the lifts to be very efficient and when necessary, the staff were really helpful. We had a drink and snack in Niles, which is attached to the hotel and this was lovely and responsibly priced.

You are staying on 7th avenue in the middle of Manhattan so constant noise is to be expected! We had no problems sleeping overnight. If you are wanting a quiet hotel, don't stay in manhattan!

The Flying Puck (over the road from the hotel) is worth a visit if you're looking for somewhere to eat and drink locally. We also visited Cafe Europa on a morning (just down the street from hotel) to get a takeout breakfast before a day of sight seeing!

The location of this hotel is great and I would definitely stay here again if we were to return.

P.s Visit the high line; a park in the sky above the city! Brilliant!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmRen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Earny,

Thank you for your lovely review and radiant feedback. I also appreciate that suggestions that you make for all our future guest and I have to concur that the High Line Park is simply phenomenal. Must visit when in NYC.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here with family for 1 night, and we were ultimately very pleased with our stay. Initially, it was disappointing to see the room we were given, because it looked dated, dirty and not completely renovated (such a letdown compared to internet pictures). However, Jonathan at the front desk promptly and kindly upgraded us to a spacious suite that did resemble the internet pictures. I appreciated how accommodating he was to our concerns. Thank you Jonathan!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjyk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear jjyk99,

Thank you for your review and great feedback for our front office team.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,660 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,846 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,772 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing