We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay, Very much want to return”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #211 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My girlfriend and myself visited New York last December, just before Christmas 2013 for my 21st birthday. Staying at the Affinia Manhattan definitely contributed to the incredible holiday we had.
The lobby of the hotel is spectacular and on arrival all the staff were friendly and very attentive. My girlfriend had arranged to have a birthday cake delivered to our hotel room as a surprise for my 21st and had been e-mailing the hotel prior to help! They were fantastic and gave information for a great cake company, plus the concierge at the hotel they were just as helpful and accommodating to sort out the delivery, all of which arrived as a surprise to me on the morning of my birthday! (Not to mention the cake that arrived was amazing- ‘Empire Cakes’ if you are ever celebrating!!!)
We stayed for a total of 5 nights; our room was very spacious and clean with a good size bathroom/shower for the two of us, big, comfy beds, a small seating area and well applianced kitchen. Noise from outside was as expected from being in New York City but nothing excessive and it did not disturb us nor cause a nuisance. It is in a great location to Times Square and we were surprised with how short a walk (less than five minutes) it was, close also to Macy’s and the Empire State building which we loved.
We have both expressed how much we enjoyed our stay at the Affinia Manhattan and would not hesitate to stay here again when we next visit The Big Apple.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ethan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear ethan23,

Thank you for sharing your Affinia Manhattan story! We love hearing our guests experiences both at Affinia Manhattan and in New York City. Additionally, I’m delighted to hear that our team did a fantastic job in arranging some amenities to help you celebrate your 21st birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more occasions and celebrations.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,680 - 3,686 of 5,611 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for a 4 day trip.
Had problems with the wifi in the lobby and with the bathroom door, apart from that excellent location, hotel and experience.
Free wine tasting between 5-6 pm nightly and basically everything you would want, including an ironing board and iron.
care though, if you are a light sleeper, my room as noisy from the road junction and nearby fire station

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yngsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear yngsally,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review!
It looks like you enjoyed your four day stay with us at Affinia Manhattan especially our central location and our newly renovated hotel. We appreciate your feedback and use it to continually improve our product, infrastructure and service. Thank you for choosing the Affinia Manhattan and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After flying into JFK we arrived at the Affinia to find an Italian couple furiously arguing with the receptionist about their room. That set the tone for our stay. My wife and I had requested a quiet room on a high floor. What we got was a room on the sixth floor overlooking Madison Square Gardens on one side and a fire station on the other. It wasn't the people hanging out around Madison Square Garden that disturbed our sleep, it was the noise of the fire trucks sounding their horns at all times of the night that would wake us.

The room looked tired and shabby but as we had a packed schedule and were only resting our heads in the hotel it was passable.

On our second full day we had an answerphone message saying their was a message for us at reception. We went down to be told that their had been an error with our booking and that the room rate we had was invalid. We would need to pay an additional $50 a night.

For an extra $50 a night we could have stayed in a proper boutique hotel.

I went back to our room to get our booking confirmation. After ten minutes patiently arguing with a receptionist called "Diesel" they finally agreed to honour the room rates on our booking confirmation. It was at that point that I asked to speak to the manager.

I told the manager/supervisor that if it hadn't been for the offense caused by them asking us to pay an additional $50 a night and the patronising way they went about it I wouldn't have mentioned the following about our room:

- mould on the bath tub
- cracked sink in the bathroom
- peeling paint on the ceiling
- worn carpets
- cigarette burns on the table
- food stains on the sofa
- dusty and generally dirty

I showed the manager/supervisor our booking confirmation that said "welcome to the newly refurbished Affinia Manhattan" and asked whether we were staying in a refurbished room. Amazingly, he said we were! After listing out the issues with the room two or three times the manager agreed to send up a housekeeping manager to look at the room, to honour our original room rates and to deduct a further $50 from our bill. As we only had one more night, as we were tired and were now running late for brunch with friends we took it.

When speaking to the receptionist and the manager it felt as if they struggled to communicate with people when things went off script. It was if they couldn't use their initiative or common sense. There were a lot of "computer says no" moments.

Maybe we got a dud room but there seemed to be too many disgruntled visitors for that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank McRedser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear McRedser,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
While I am disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel, I understand that our Assistant Director of Front Office Operations has already been in touch with you regarding the AAA rate you had booked, and I apologize should there have been any confusion. If we can be of more assistance in clarifying the AAA rate booking, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Extremely well located, and very good and friendly staff makes this a hotel I would recommend without any hesitation. We were in the Junior Suite, and our entire stay was pleasant and happy. Angel was really helpful and truly an angel for us. They went out of their way to do so many things that made our entire holiday easy and tension free. The check in and check out process was so swift that I was amazed at the efficiency. Housekeeping staff was friendly and reasonably efficient and the minor problems with the bathroom sink and the airconditioning was promptly addressed. I do suggest that the air conditioning in the bedroom be looked into as the bedroom has no window at all. All in all, excellent value for money hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NilouferD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear NilouferD,

Thank you for such a lovely review and kind comments! It’s very exciting to read your story and our team was extremely happy that they made such a difference in your stay. Whenever you decide to visit New York City again, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly as we would love to accommodate you again.
Thank you for selecting Affinia Manhattan.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Looked good as we entered the lobby, but all downhill from there on. People were dissatisfied all along the counter, rooms not ready on time, giving other people,s room bookings to other people. Our room was not the one advertised online, they gave us a slightly bigger room , then tried to charge us extra for a room which we were told we would be having when we booked earlier. Friendly smiling staff, but front desk and bookings need sorting out

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Paul R,

Thank you for your feedback.
It seems that you enjoyed our friendly staff but am disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations this time and am reviewing your comments with our team. While we strive for operational excellence, we did experience a system glitch which affected our room type availability. This unfortunate incident has immediately been attended to and resolved allowing for normal operations to resume. I do hope that we’ll be given another opportunity to accommodate you in the near future and welcome any questions or inquiries directly at the hotel. Again, we highly appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Affinia Manhattan really saved our butts. My friends and I were travelling from Toronto and on our ride to NYC we got an email saying our previous (and cheaper) hotel had cancelled our reservations. Booking.com made some calls and the Affinia Manhattan had agreed to accommodate us. They only charged us what we had paid for the first hotel, and covered the rest of the cost themselves, which was nearly a $500 difference. We had a double room with two double beds. It was clean and accommodated four people nicely. The staff was all very friendly, except for the one older woman at the concierge desk who apparently felt the dire need to correct my pronunciation of "Houston." Two complaints, no free wi-fi in rooms and the street noise.For tourists, wi-fi is a must, but for students visiting, its too expensive! $15 for a 24hr period is ridiculous. Its very inconvenient and annoying, especially when you have a rude concierge. And the hotel is right beside a fire station, so sirens go off at all times of the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geetika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Geetika L,

Thank you for your review.
It looks like overall you enjoyed your stay and I’m happy to see that we were able to accommodate you in this situation. Next time, please be sure to book your stay with us directly on our website which includes complimentary Wifi. Thank you for staying with us this time.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Charged $50 additional dollars beyond the rate (not a $50 hold until they charged-- additional!) with no notice.
I stayed 6 hours (missed the last train home) the room was fine, though certainly nothing near being worth $380! But to add a fifty dollar 'hold' on my card in addition to that, with no warning, is outrageous.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Elizabeth W,

Thank you for your review.
I do apologize that the incidentals hold might not have been as clear. It is a standard practice for hotels to secure a certain amount for incidentals per night. Depending on the utilization of any incidentals, that hold is typically released upon check out. If this is not the case, kindly contact me directly and I will be happy to review your reservation.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,056 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#177 of 473 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 473 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#137 of 473 in New York City
1,684 reviews
Midtown
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square So...
#192 of 473 in New York City
4,012 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 473 in New York City
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $156 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing