We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short break”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #200 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short break”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for a 4 day trip.
Had problems with the wifi in the lobby and with the bathroom door, apart from that excellent location, hotel and experience.
Free wine tasting between 5-6 pm nightly and basically everything you would want, including an ironing board and iron.
care though, if you are a light sleeper, my room as noisy from the road junction and nearby fire station

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yngsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear yngsally,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review!
It looks like you enjoyed your four day stay with us at Affinia Manhattan especially our central location and our newly renovated hotel. We appreciate your feedback and use it to continually improve our product, infrastructure and service. Thank you for choosing the Affinia Manhattan and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,133
    1,716
    724
    319
    194
See reviews for
1,475
1,530
199
864
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After flying into JFK we arrived at the Affinia to find an Italian couple furiously arguing with the receptionist about their room. That set the tone for our stay. My wife and I had requested a quiet room on a high floor. What we got was a room on the sixth floor overlooking Madison Square Gardens on one side and a fire station on the other. It wasn't the people hanging out around Madison Square Garden that disturbed our sleep, it was the noise of the fire trucks sounding their horns at all times of the night that would wake us.

The room looked tired and shabby but as we had a packed schedule and were only resting our heads in the hotel it was passable.

On our second full day we had an answerphone message saying their was a message for us at reception. We went down to be told that their had been an error with our booking and that the room rate we had was invalid. We would need to pay an additional $50 a night.

For an extra $50 a night we could have stayed in a proper boutique hotel.

I went back to our room to get our booking confirmation. After ten minutes patiently arguing with a receptionist called "Diesel" they finally agreed to honour the room rates on our booking confirmation. It was at that point that I asked to speak to the manager.

I told the manager/supervisor that if it hadn't been for the offense caused by them asking us to pay an additional $50 a night and the patronising way they went about it I wouldn't have mentioned the following about our room:

- mould on the bath tub
- cracked sink in the bathroom
- peeling paint on the ceiling
- worn carpets
- cigarette burns on the table
- food stains on the sofa
- dusty and generally dirty

I showed the manager/supervisor our booking confirmation that said "welcome to the newly refurbished Affinia Manhattan" and asked whether we were staying in a refurbished room. Amazingly, he said we were! After listing out the issues with the room two or three times the manager agreed to send up a housekeeping manager to look at the room, to honour our original room rates and to deduct a further $50 from our bill. As we only had one more night, as we were tired and were now running late for brunch with friends we took it.

When speaking to the receptionist and the manager it felt as if they struggled to communicate with people when things went off script. It was if they couldn't use their initiative or common sense. There were a lot of "computer says no" moments.

Maybe we got a dud room but there seemed to be too many disgruntled visitors for that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McRedser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear McRedser,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
While I am disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel, I understand that our Assistant Director of Front Office Operations has already been in touch with you regarding the AAA rate you had booked, and I apologize should there have been any confusion. If we can be of more assistance in clarifying the AAA rate booking, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Extremely well located, and very good and friendly staff makes this a hotel I would recommend without any hesitation. We were in the Junior Suite, and our entire stay was pleasant and happy. Angel was really helpful and truly an angel for us. They went out of their way to do so many things that made our entire holiday easy and tension free. The check in and check out process was so swift that I was amazed at the efficiency. Housekeeping staff was friendly and reasonably efficient and the minor problems with the bathroom sink and the airconditioning was promptly addressed. I do suggest that the air conditioning in the bedroom be looked into as the bedroom has no window at all. All in all, excellent value for money hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilouferD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear NilouferD,

Thank you for such a lovely review and kind comments! It’s very exciting to read your story and our team was extremely happy that they made such a difference in your stay. Whenever you decide to visit New York City again, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly as we would love to accommodate you again.
Thank you for selecting Affinia Manhattan.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Looked good as we entered the lobby, but all downhill from there on. People were dissatisfied all along the counter, rooms not ready on time, giving other people,s room bookings to other people. Our room was not the one advertised online, they gave us a slightly bigger room , then tried to charge us extra for a room which we were told we would be having when we booked earlier. Friendly smiling staff, but front desk and bookings need sorting out

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Paul R,

Thank you for your feedback.
It seems that you enjoyed our friendly staff but am disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations this time and am reviewing your comments with our team. While we strive for operational excellence, we did experience a system glitch which affected our room type availability. This unfortunate incident has immediately been attended to and resolved allowing for normal operations to resume. I do hope that we’ll be given another opportunity to accommodate you in the near future and welcome any questions or inquiries directly at the hotel. Again, we highly appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Affinia Manhattan really saved our butts. My friends and I were travelling from Toronto and on our ride to NYC we got an email saying our previous (and cheaper) hotel had cancelled our reservations. Booking.com made some calls and the Affinia Manhattan had agreed to accommodate us. They only charged us what we had paid for the first hotel, and covered the rest of the cost themselves, which was nearly a $500 difference. We had a double room with two double beds. It was clean and accommodated four people nicely. The staff was all very friendly, except for the one older woman at the concierge desk who apparently felt the dire need to correct my pronunciation of "Houston." Two complaints, no free wi-fi in rooms and the street noise.For tourists, wi-fi is a must, but for students visiting, its too expensive! $15 for a 24hr period is ridiculous. Its very inconvenient and annoying, especially when you have a rude concierge. And the hotel is right beside a fire station, so sirens go off at all times of the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geetika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Geetika L,

Thank you for your review.
It looks like overall you enjoyed your stay and I’m happy to see that we were able to accommodate you in this situation. Next time, please be sure to book your stay with us directly on our website which includes complimentary Wifi. Thank you for staying with us this time.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Charged $50 additional dollars beyond the rate (not a $50 hold until they charged-- additional!) with no notice.
I stayed 6 hours (missed the last train home) the room was fine, though certainly nothing near being worth $380! But to add a fifty dollar 'hold' on my card in addition to that, with no warning, is outrageous.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Elizabeth W,

Thank you for your review.
I do apologize that the incidentals hold might not have been as clear. It is a standard practice for hotels to secure a certain amount for incidentals per night. Depending on the utilization of any incidentals, that hold is typically released upon check out. If this is not the case, kindly contact me directly and I will be happy to review your reservation.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

In the life of even great institutions and businesses you have bad days. We arrived at 4PM, gave our names and reservation numbers and were told that the rooms were not yet ready. Pardon me, it's way past check out time. As we looked out into the lobby there was a multitude of people with their bags draped all over the couches, chairs and floor. The people in line behind us and in front of us were all told that the rooms they reserved were not ready. Listening to the people in the lobby, they too were waiting for their rooms (which were not ready). After talking to the desk clerk, he said the Deluxe-Queen Room we reserved was not ready but they had a "petite" which came up ready. The wife and I are laid back, we were in town for a wedding so we took it. A "satisfactory room" neatly (and architecturally) wrapped around a service elevator shaft - nice, it is what I call an "airline crew room", just there to sleep in. It was, at best, "frayed" around the edges. The bathroom was tiny, the wall paper was curling up a little from the bottom, the bathtub porcelain was peeling, the full bed was comfortable, the room was "damp-warm". The staff was good and very nice to us and they appeared to be a little bit embarrassed. The bell staff at the front door seemed to more dedicated to keeping indigents and the homeless out of the lobby, rather than helping with bags and such and they appeared overwhelmed in any case. We had to wait with a large line of people at the elevators (the elevators were undergoing an overhaul project). When it rains it falls. The shock came at the end of the trip when we were advised that the "petite" sweat box cost us the EXACT SAME RATE as our Deluxe-Queen room would have. The clerk took pity and took off $40.00, (again looking embarrassed) as we said thanks and left (never to return).

Room Tip: Find another hotel. Remember hotels at or around a major transportation hub in NYC, such as the Penn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joejanet1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear joejanet1991,

Thank you for your review and feedback.
I’m extremely disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations this time. The feedback you provide is useful and am reviewing your comments with our team. While we strive for operational excellence, we did experience a system glitch which affected our room type availability. This unfortunate incident, which occurred in April, has immediately been attended to and resolved allowing for normal operations to resume. I do hope that we’ll be given another opportunity to accommodate you and your wife in the near future. We highly appreciate your business and sincerely thank you for selecting our hotel.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 466 in New York City
11,197 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#84 of 466 in New York City
1,642 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 466 in New York City
5,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#116 of 466 in New York City
831 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#128 of 466 in New York City
4,785 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 466 in New York City
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing