We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked this hotel for a 6 days vacation in New York. Arriving by train to Penn Station from Newark the hotel is perfectly situated on 7th Ave right across from the train station. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful and service is efficient. Our room was spacious and clean and quite comfortable. However, the bathroom was very small which subtracts from our overall impression.

The hotel is a perfect starting point for exploring Manhattan both uptown and downtown. Macy's and Empire State are very close.Only 5-7 mins walk from Times Square. Lots of restaurants and bars in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonashallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jonashallen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.
It’s wonderful to see that our central location in New York City was just what you were looking for and found it as a great base for exploring all that our City has to offer. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located on Seventh Avenue opposite Madison Square Garden as well as Penn Station making travel by Amtrak or any of the NYC Subways superbly simple. Many, many thanks for choosing the Affinia Manhattan!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    1,635
    690
    300
    180
See reviews for
1,377
1,455
186
791
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here from Wed 26th February to Friday 28th February 2014. The minute we saw our room we were very dissapointed on room size as we expected more after upgrading to a standard room. It was tiny. The carpets were not hoovered cob webs hanging from lighting and dust everywhere, especially on windowsill and lamp shades. Our bathroom toilet seat was yellow stained with hairs on the floor and in the shower.Windows single glazed with fire station on one side and police station on the other, noise and wind coming through the airconditioning vent with missing cover was hurrendous. We had booked in two other couples with us and rang us immediatley to say their rooms were of the same poor standard.
After speaking to staff we were eventually able to talk to the manager. We were told the hotel was fully booked out and there was nothing they could do for that night and if we wanted to move to another affinia that would be clean we would have to pay for it. alternatively will uprgrade us to a dulux room the follwoing night.. Given no choice we requested our rooms to be tidied and cleaned while we went out. We returned to our rooms that were not touched or cleaned in anyway. Not once appologised. Disgusted from Karen Lehane

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Karen L,

Thank you for your review.
I’m very disappointed to hear of your experience while staying with us and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize that we did not live up to your expectations.
Needless to say, this is not what our hotel is known for and I would love to be given the opportunity to correct this fault. Whenever you have the opportunity, would you please contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger as I’d love to speak with you personally. Once again, our guests’ feedback is a huge part of the success of our hotel and highly appreciate your comments. Thank you so much for staying with and I hope to speak with you soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice room good location not enough place for baggage.
The service was good but wifi was unable to get.
We were promised to get free wifi but was charged at last.
We are coming again in July 2014 for 10 nights!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Chaia K,

Thank you so much for your review and I’m very excited about your upcoming trip to New York City in July! I’m happy to see that you enjoyed our stay and loved our central location. Next time, please be sure to book your reservation on our website which provides for complimentary WiFi. Should that have been the case and the WiFi erroneously charged, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. Once again, many thanks for choosing the Affinia Manhattan.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here last week and I can honestly say it was the best holiday we have ever had, the hotel was so much more than we expected i would 110% recommend this hotel to anyone who was wanting to go to New York! The staff are so friendly and helpful :-) the rooms were small but very homey and suited all of our needs. There is a restaurant at the hotel which we ate there one of the nights and it was the best meal we had all holiday, the steak was unbelievable... Well worth the money. I cannot express how pleased we were with out stay we Would love to go back to NYC and I would definitely look to stay at the affinia manhattan again :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeNatasha91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear JadeNatasha91,

Thank you so much for your review.
Wow! I am incredibly delighted to hear about your experience at the Affinia Manhattan!
Our hotel is centrally located in the heart of New York City – right across the street from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and only a few blocks south from the world-famous Times Square. You are absolutely right about our restaurant, Niles – they serve some authentic American cuisine that you cannot go wrong with anything on the menu. Whenever you decide to come back, please be sure to visit our website for latest deals and some incredibly offers. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very nice hotel in Midtown Manhattan. Just one block from Penn Station. The rooms are very nice and the beds are extremely comfortable. We stayed twice in a three week period. The first room we occupied had heating problems. At first the heat didn't work and when they fixed the problem, the room became too hot. The next time we went, we had great accommodations and no complaints whatsoever. Overall it is a fine hotel and worth staying, especially if you take the train into Penn Station. The restaurant attached to the hotel (Niles) is a fine establishment with great food and service. On the whole we had a pleasant time. We have stayed at the Affinia Manhattan many times. It is our NYC go to hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachLDFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear CoachLDFB,

Thank you so much for choosing the Affinia Manhattan and being such a loyal guest.
I highly appreciate your kind comments and feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you experienced some challenges while staying with us initially, but am happy to see that our team swiftly resolved them. Thank you for staying with us this time and I look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I booked this hotel for location to Penn station during a business trip. I found the location to be pretty good. The hotel lobby looks just like the photos online. The room I was given, was EXTREMLY HOT. Granted it was in the dead of the on going snow storms, but the room had no ventalation, and the heat was not on. The warmth was extreme and the windows did not open. So needless to say i called and the maintenance person came and opened the 'in window' air condition. I was then able to turn on the air condition while in the room.

The room size was small, so small there was no dresser! They had a small short dresser in the closet. The hight of a night stand. The bathroom toilet was so close to the sink that i hit my elbow when sitting and getting up. The tub was a used traditional tub for a older NY building.

The outlets had very little juice and took over an hour to charge my cell phone.
But I think the beds were nice.

When i checked out the reservation system was down, it took 4 phones and two days later to get a copy of my hotel bill.

So with all that said. I am glad my stay was only two nights...and when i returned to the room, so exhusted i slept though it. Next time staying in the city, will not be staying here!

Make reservations with caution.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear washins,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review and feedback.
Overall, it looks like you enjoyed our central location and close proximity to Penn Station as the Affinia Manhattan is directly across the street. However, I am disappointed to learn that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. While we offer a wide variety of room types, some of the being petite and cozy, we do offer a large selection of suites as well, many of them featuring two bathrooms, terraces and fully equipped kitchens. Should you decide to give us another chance, I invite you to contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger. Alternatively, for the latest deals and in-depth descriptions of our suites, please visit our website. I thank you for staying with us and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Affinia Manhattan is a comfortable, well maintained with an amazing staff that cater to your every need. The location is excellent close to everything or a just a short cab ride away. I stay at the Affinia Manhattan when ever I go to the city. Hector Cortez goes out of his way to ensure you are pleased with every aspect of the Affinia stay. Hats off to him for excellent customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Malcolm W,

Thank you for your glowing review! I look forward to sharing your wonderful comments with our entire team-especially your praise of Hector! Thank you so much for being a loyal guest and always choosing the Affinia Manhattan whenever you are in New York City!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,660 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,846 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing