We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affinia Hotel Manhattan”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #202 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
dronfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Affinia Hotel Manhattan”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Hi. This was our first trip to New York. Overall we can say it was amazing and truly lives up to it's reputation. There is just so much to see and do with endless places to visit. The Affinia is ideally located in the central part of Manhattan and directly opposite the world famous Madison Square Gardens venue for which tours are offered to see all the interior, dressing rooms, suites and much more. We stayed on the 18th of 27 floors. There were 6 or so lifts and all were in working order. The room was very comfortable, clean with ample storage, effective heating and an efficient shower. We was surprised by the generous "Happy Hour" each night between 5pm - 6pm where free wine was provided in the lobby. All staff were really polite, helpful and efficient. In short - everything went according to plan so - well done evryone! Would definately go again.

Room Tip: Somewhat noisy at the front/side of the hotel due to traffic noise. It seems all drivers in New York...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear roger m,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.
What a delight it is to read about the details of your stay and see that you enjoyed the accommodations and our entire team you interacted with. Our daily Wine Hour has been extremely popular and our Managers hosting each Wine Hour have a great time chatting and catching up with our guests.
We look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    1,718
    724
    320
    195
See reviews for
1,476
1,531
201
865
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights for our belated honeymoon. Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and kindly given a room upgrade. Ours was situated on the 12th floor and whilst you could hear the traffic it was nothing out the ordinary with the exception of a fire engine every now and then.

The hotel is situated directly opposite Penn Station which makes for very easy access from JFK airport. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Macy's and the Empire State Building and Times Square can be reached within 10 minutes. All the staff were friendly and very attentive at all times and couldn't do enough. We didn't try the restaurant which forms part of the hotel as it seemed a little pricey and there are plenty of places to eat close to the hotel.

Although the main lobby has recently been refurbished, some of the areas on the upper floors could do with a lick of paint, this could still be part of the refurbishment and while these are cosmetic, wouldn't alter the fact that we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear garethvb,

Thank you for choosing the Affinia Manhattan for your most recent stay-especially for such a special occasion. I’m delighted that you enjoyed yourself and found our location central and our team friendly and attentive. All of us at the Affinia Manhattan take pride in being able to be a part of our guests very special experiences and look forward to welcoming you back for many more celebrations.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a good location...a minutes walk to Macy's!
The rooms are big!
The hotel is noisy though...noisier than other hotels in NY. The hotel must think so too....they provide ear plugs!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jo T,

Thank you for your review. The Affinia Manhattan is in one of the most central locations in New York City – across the street from Madison Square Garden and Pennsylvania Station. Some of the major attractions such as the Empire State Building, Macy’s Flagship Store, Times Square, Fifth Avenue Shops, just to name a few are just minutes’ walk away.
Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I mostly stay in larger brand name hotel when I come into NYC, usually for business but this was a short weekend trip and wanted to do something different. The staff was attentive and welcoming the second I walked in. They noticed my birthday was in a few days. I really felt like a guest, not just another person checking in. The reservation and front desk team were very responsive and accommodating if I had any request or questions. The restaurant and bar had a great atmosphere and I love the décor in the rooms. Overall, it was a great stay and i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nati218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Nati218,

Thank you so much for giving the Affinia Manhattan a try-and happy belated Birthday!!
I’m delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us and I especially appreciate the nice comments you had to say about our team. Thank you so much for recommending the Affinia Manhattan and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had our five night stay from 14th Feb for my son's 18th birthday. We arrived at about 11.00pm and checked in within minutes and were upgraded to a 2 bed suite with kitchen. The view from the window was not the best but being on the 5th floor was a bonus with ease of access. All the staff were very polite and from the front entrance looking right you got a fantastic view of Time Square. Would definitely stay here for my next trip. Thank you

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Karen b,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review regarding your most recent stay. It’s such a pleasure to hear that you chose the Affinia Manhattan for such a special occasion. It seems that your family enjoyed the stay, our fantastic location (and yes, you can see Times Square from in front of the hotel-just face north) and our friendly and attentive staff. And we’d definitely love to have you back as well!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oranmore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

It was my first time in New York, from the moment we hit the reception area until we left four days later I couldn't thank James on the desk,Matthew and Ash(bellboys) and our friendly plumber who saved us from a nasty leak from the lights in our shower room. We were transferred immediately into a larger bedroom/ The facilities in all rooms were very good, decor good with very handy kitchenette and sitting room area. The hotel is clean , bright and welcoming, A very busy place right on seventh avenue , thanks lads and to Ash who made sure my firend Marie was in time for her flight he did excellent work!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: have apre dinner glass of wine in the lobby every evening ..you get back from shopping and rest yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainenighabhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear ainenighabhann,

What a fantastic review! I write to you with pure delight knowing how much you enjoyed your stay and how our team assisted you in every way. We sincerely pride ourselves on providing superb customer service and help you to have the most memorable time in New York City! We understand that our guests are busy and have lots to do when in New York, so we simply do our best to assist our guests and help them enjoy themselves. Thank you so much for providing us with your review and I look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The location of this hotel is decent, not on a crowded street and easy access to some tourist venues. Nice bar/breakfast next to it. Nothing glamorous, decent for getting your basic needs done and then exploring the city. Beds were also comfortable - posturepedic.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jinga J,

Thank you for your review. It looks like you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Signature Affinia beds very comfortable with layers of linen and plush pillows. The Affinia Manhattan is right on Seventh Avenue and yes, we are very close to many of the major New York City tourist attractions-most of them just a short walk away. Thanks for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,211 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#84 of 467 in New York City
1,647 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#115 of 467 in New York City
833 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4,792 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing