We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Penn Station, that's about it!”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #207 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked this hotel based mainly on it's proximity to Penn Station (flying in from Australia and travelling on Amtrak train next day) and were not disappointed. It is virtually across the road under Madison Square Garden (the station that is). Prime position. The lobby looked spectacular but we were disappointed when we arrived in our room (2420). I don't think there was any soundproofing on the windows - you could hear a lot of traffic noise - a sign on the bedside table advises there are earplugs in the drawer (no joke). Bathroom was small, shower base dangerous with a huge dip from the floor tiles to the drain hole. Bathroom door opened back onto a heater which meant it never stayed fully open and collisions with the bedside table situated opposite occurred as you bumped off the door. Not good when you're jetlagged. While there appeared to be a kitchenette - the fridge was not turned on and there was no coffee/tea supplies - confused. Service by staff was terrific - no complaints there. Would stay again solely on location - but would not stay any longer than overnight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creativecatz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear creativecatz,

Thank you for your review and feedback. The Affinia Manhattan hotel is located in one of the prime locations in New York City – right across the street from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. Times Square, Empire State Building and the high-end shopping area on Fifth Avenue are just a few blocks away. I also appreciate your kind words regarding our staff who pride themselves on providing exemplary customer service on a daily basis. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,717 - 3,723 of 5,299 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I personally thought the hotel was lovely. When we first got there they were doing extensive renovations in the main lobby but within 2 days they had completely finished and it looked beautiful.

It is in such an amazing location, only a very short walk to central park, times square, empire state building etc.

Everyone who worked there was so helpful and made us feel so welcome. They helped recommend restaurants and helped us book trips.

The rooms are gorgeous, plenty of amenities. I thought the bathroom was a little on the small side but it didn't bother me at all.

I'm going back to new york this year and I will definitely be staying at the affinia. :)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank lalah1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear lalah1211,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased to read that you had a great experience at the Affinia Manhattan and enjoyed our newly renovated and stylish lobby. It certainly does look beautiful. Additionally, it looks like you had a great interaction with our team and I’ll be sure to share your great feedback with them. Thank you for selecting the Affinia Manhattan for your New York City trip – we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall enjoyed our honeymoon stay in a room with a good view but didn't start soo well. We arrived late in the day and the room we ended up with was cold with a problem with the seal around the window & air conditioning unit. They did move us the next day but the hotel was full that night and the complimentary food and cocktail in the bar next door did help warm us up! The room warmed up eventually after a few hours and a visit from the maintenance to tape the window up. After the room move we had no problems and the central location across from the garden was ideal. The power shower was great in the bathroom too. Disappointing that there is no complimentary wifi in the bedrooms as that is a fairly standard feature in less expensive hotels.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank scriv1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear scriv1979,

Thank you for your review.
Please accept my apologies for the not so smooth start to your vacation and I’ll be reviewing your feedback with our team. I am happy to see that your stay improved and you were able to enjoy your time in New York City. If your travels bring you back to New York City, in the near future, please don’t hesitate to contact me via Tripadvisor Messenger in advance.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I don't understand the negative reviews.Our check in with Jenna was terrific.She cc couldn't do enough for us! The bed was so comfortable as were our choice of pillows. Some parts of the suite were worn...to be expected with the turnover of tourists. Niles restaurant was fabulous, but Tony at the bar was terrific. We will stay again, same weekend for the next several years!

Room Tip: 2828 1 bedroom 2 bathrooms& quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Anita T,

Thank you for such a great review! I am thoroughly delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Affinia Manhattan and that our team made you feel welcome and assisted you with whatever you needed. Thank you very much for selecting the Affinia Manhattan and we can’t wait for your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Typical older Manhattan hotel. Older rooms, could use some updating and lots of noise from the streets. But like I said that is typical of a lot of the older hotels here, although you could say that about a lot of the newer ones also.
Affinia is located right across from Penn Station / MSG, great location. Perfect for someone working at the Garden, or even a tourist going to Times Square.
I guess I got lucky with my room, bigger than i am used too when staying in this area. The room is equipped with basically a small kitchen. Two burner stove, small convection style oven, mini frig etc. It comes furnished with pots, pans plates etc.

All in all, a typical older hotel, great location and large rooms. I wold stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirsmokeyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear sirsmokeyjoe,

Thank you for your review.
The Affinia Manhattan is located in the one of the prime areas of New York City – right across the street from Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and steps away from the Herald Square shopping district. Additionally, the Empire State Building is five minute walk and Times Square only a few blocks north. And thank you for mentioning or spacious rooms – many of them featuring fully equipped kitchens which allows you to create all the comforts of home right in the middle of New York City!
Once again, thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I travel to NYC almost every year. We have stayed at other hotels in the city (mainly other hotels from the Affinia family) but return to the Affinia Manhattan often due to it's proximity to Penn Station. This way, we feel closer to the family in Long Island. I am also partial to the Affinia Manhattan because I used to work there in the 80's when it was The Southgate Tower hotel. Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised with the renovations at the Affinia Manhattan this time around and will not hesitate to recommend it to friends/family as I am also a travel agent now. Congrats on the new digs and thanks for the upgrade to a corner one-bedroom suite. The huge room with its separate living area and kitchenette made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveofmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Loveofmex,

What an interesting story!! I am delighted that you had such a lovely time and enjoyed the spacious one bedroom suite. And yes, the Affinia Manhattan has newly been renovated and it’s in a very convenient location right across the street from Madison Square Garden as well as Penn Station, definitely making travel to Long Island such a breeze. It was such a pleasure having you at the Affinia Manhattan. We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My partner and I booked this hotel to stay for 9 nights within February 2013, when we planned to get married and have a honeymoon at the same time. Our family and friends then also decided that this hotel looked fantastic and stayed here also. In total we were a party of 10, and each of us absolutely loved our stay.
Upon arrival, and seeing my wedding garment bag, we were giving a room upgrade to a suite facing Madison square garden. It was great having a separate bedroom (closes out any city background noise - helps as I'm a light sleeper), a dining area, living area, kitchen and a desk. As our room was used for getting ready the morning of the wedding, and a meeting place for our group, the space was ideal. Having our own kitchen to make a morning coffee before the start of the day was also a plus.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and can not thank them enough.
It's ideally located opposite penn station, and about 10 mins walk to Times Square!
Everyone wants to go back here!!

Room Tip: If staying for more than 3 nights opt for a suite. The separate bedroom will help take away any city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artikspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Artikspirit,

There is nothing a General Manager wants to hear more than that the guests loved the hotel! Our entire Affinia Manhattan team is thrilled to get this feedback from you and we wish you all the best! Should you decide to return to New York City for your anniversary celebrations, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger.
And once again, thank you for selecting the Affinia Manhattan for such an important event!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 469 in New York City
11,586 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#111 of 469 in New York City
876 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#70 of 469 in New York City
5,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 469 in New York City
2,043 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#177 of 469 in New York City
3,846 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#132 of 469 in New York City
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#150 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $175 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing