We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,270)
Filter reviews
6,270 results
Traveler rating
2,825
1,981
825
382
257
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,825
1,981
825
382
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaffinia manhattanpenn stationmadison square gardenniles restaurantnew yorkone bedroom suitetimes squarewine hourstreet noisean upgradesmall kitchensofa bedcity that never sleepsempire state buildinglight sleepercentral locationupon check
Filter
Updating list...
4,551 - 4,556 of 6,270 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My partner and I booked this hotel to stay for 9 nights within February 2013, when we planned to get married and have a honeymoon at the same time. Our family and friends then also decided that this hotel looked fantastic and stayed here also. In total we were a party of 10, and each of us absolutely loved our stay.
Upon arrival, and seeing my wedding garment bag, we were giving a room upgrade to a suite facing Madison square garden. It was great having a separate bedroom (closes out any city background noise - helps as I'm a light sleeper), a dining area, living area, kitchen and a desk. As our room was used for getting ready the morning of the wedding, and a meeting place for our group, the space was ideal. Having our own kitchen to make a morning coffee before the start of the day was also a plus.
The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and can not thank them enough.
It's ideally located opposite penn station, and about 10 mins walk to Times Square!
Everyone wants to go back here!!

Room Tip: If staying for more than 3 nights opt for a suite. The separate bedroom will help take away any city noises you're not accustomed to
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artikspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Artikspirit,

There is nothing a General Manager wants to hear more than that the guests loved the hotel! Our entire Affinia Manhattan team is thrilled to get this feedback from you and we wish you all the best! Should you decide to return to New York City for your anniversary celebrations, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger.
And once again, thank you for selecting the Affinia Manhattan for such an important event!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were not very satisfied with this hotel at all. We believed we were checking into a 4 star hotel the rooms reminded us of a motel 6 at a truck stop.

The rooms were old and musty. The furniture was scratched up and peeling. The shower did not drain and filled up with water and backwashed with old hair from previous guests.

Overall it was not very impressive at all and there are much better places to stay in NY.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShyGirlSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear ShyGirlSam,

Thank you for your review. Needless to say, I am highly disappointed to learn about your experience at our hotel and I offer my most sincere apology. In order to learn specific details of your stay, I invite you to contact me directly via Tripadvisor Messenger. Thank you in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

After landing from Europe with jet lag, we arrived at the Affinia to discover a smaller room than we were used to -- the room was the one we ordered. Within minutes, James at the front desk arranged for a larger suite which we are thoroughly enjoying. This is a place that is responsive. Attention to customers is #1. Thanks, James.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol4859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Carol4859,

Thank you so much for this great review.
We at the Affinia Manhattan Hotel practice the art of hospitality and our goal is to ensure that our guests have the most memorable experience at a New York City hotel! And it looks like you did!
Many thanks for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We often stay at the Affinia because it is so convenient to Penn Station. Coming home from the Netherlands and stayed here for a couple days of decompression. The first room was quite small and the upgrade provided by James at the check-in desk was wonderful. The two room quite is definitely worth it and although it's 55 degrees in NY in early January, it's raining and we can't enjoy the terrace!! :( Hotel can't control the weather!! Beautiful room at very competitive prices. Love the upgrade on the fitness center, too. Thank you, James. We do appreciate the extra care.

Room Tip: Consider the suites... you have a serviceable kitchen, a living room and a large bedroom. If you don't want to eat out every meal, you'll save the extra money for the suite by eating in!! And Niles, the hotel restaurant, is superb!!!!! Try it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear RonL40,

…and THANK YOU! I am delighted that you are enjoying your suite, the balmy NYC weather (yes, that’s correct-55 degrees in January) and the attentive service provided by our friendly team. Now, if we could just do something about the rain….
Nonetheless, I’m delighted you are enjoying your stay and visit to New York City! Have a great time!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in a room with 2 double beds and a full bathroom high up with a view. Really stunning and comfortable room with all amenities. The staff, especially the concierge and doormen were unbelievably friendly and helpful calling large cabs and executive car services to the airport. The lobby has free wi-fi for an hour and online check-in services. Happy hour from 5-6pm with free drinks was also fun. Would definitely stay there again. The hotel is central, across the road from Penn Station and Madison Square gardens with all sight seeing nearby, Macy's for shoppers, as well as other great shopping, and decent restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to avoid as much noise from NY streets.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luanne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Luanne63,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this lovely review. The Affinia Manhattan is in one of the most central New York City locations – right across the street from world-famous Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Macy’s flagship location and the buzzing Herald Square shopping district. And when you are done with all the shopping and taking in the sights, our complimentary evening Wine Hour from 5-6pm is a welcome touch to help you ease into the evening and you found quite fun. Once again, many thanks for choosing the Affinia Manhattan!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews