We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,280)
Filter reviews
6,280 results
Traveler rating
2,833
1,981
827
382
257
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,833
1,981
827
382
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaffinia manhattanpenn stationmadison square gardenniles restaurantnew yorkone bedroom suitetimes squarewine hourstreet noisean upgradesmall kitchensofa bedcity that never sleepsempire state buildinglight sleepercentral locationupon check
Filter
Updating list...
4,565 - 4,570 of 6,280 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas and I couldn't fault the hotel or location one bit! During this busy time it was good being within walking distance of major shopping stores so we could drop off our bags and have a rest. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear mrrigos,

Thank you for choosing the Affinia Manhattan for your holiday trip to New York City. I’m glad that you enjoyed our central location steps away from Madison Square Garden, the Macy’s flagship location and just blocks away from Times Square. Thank you for recommending the Affinia Manhattan and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

When we arrived from Penn Station, I couldn't believe how close the hotel was…it was literally across the street which was super convenient for us. Check in was easy (even when they had someone in training) and fortunately our room was ready when we arrived.

Our first room was located on a pretty high floor but it was super noisy from the sirens (room number ended with 15). We called down to the front desk to see if another room was available to switch to and they were able to find a better suited room for us. Even though our second room (room number ended with 21) was next to the elevators, it was quieter than the first. It also happened to be larger; there was a kitchenette (microwave, mini fridge, gas stove, cutlery, bowls, mugs, glasses, coffee maker, kettle, sink, dish soap and j cloth) which would have been great for longer stays. Both rooms had a long table and chair, bedside table, and safe. The bathroom was adequate for the two of us but I can see it being tight quarters for others. It had a shower/tub, rectangular sink, 2 glass shelves over the toilet and not much counter space or hooks. The bottom drawer did house extra toilet paper and a hairdryer. I appreciated the "electric mirror" as there was no fan to exhaust the steam from the shower. There were some issues with the shower; half the water would come through the shower head and the other half would go through the faucet so a lot of water was wasted. While you showered, you also stood in the dirty water pooling by your feet…the drainage was not working properly. The beds were fine and the duvet was nice in the cold weather (as it was unseasonable cold for this time of year) but there was a draft coming from the windows.

Housekeeping never made it to our room, however, we did bump into her twice (once to ask for tea and the other to change our towels). This was not an issue for us as we were not staying long.

We had in room wifi included in our rate and had no problems accessing it, otherwise there's free wifi in the lobby area. There is also wine hour between 5-6 pm, however, we never made it back in time to try it. We did not use the concierge so I can not comment on them. If you ate in the hotel restaurant, you can get 20% off. There were so many other places we wanted to try that we didn't opt for this.

There are 2 entrances to the hotel, however, they closed off the side entrance while we were there…perhaps because of the snow?

While I was reading the hotel book on the last day, I noticed they offered several kits which would of been helpful if we were staying longer: Experience kit (free-information & amenities about NYC), walking tour kit (iPod, city guidebook of walking tours, city map, pedometer and towel), stay fit kit (yoga mat, stretching blocks, DVDs, workout bands, wrist/ankles weights, city map) and BYOB kit (neoprene wine carrier, byob guidebook, discount coupon for local wine boutique, picnic blanket)

Every time we encountered someone working at the hotel, they've been friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the same hallway ending with 21 if you want a more quiet stay.
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank crazy_cat_sab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear crazy_cat_sab,

Thank you for staying at the Affinia Manhattan and providing us with a detailed review. We pride ourselves on the exceptional service we provide on a daily basis and I am delighted that you experienced the same. Moreover, our convenient location cannot be beat – as you mentioned we are right across the street from Madison Square Garden as well as Penn Station. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, you have easy access to it all-whether you chose a subway, bus, taxi or choose to walk to your destination. And next time please be sure to customize your stay on our website with some of the complimentary kits and dreamy pillows.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at the Affinia, Manhattan at 31st and 7th Avenue over Christmas….right across from Penn Station. Easy access to everything, excellent dining at their restaurant, thoroughly enjoyed the gratis wine in the evening and Jenny in reception could not have been more helpful! Large two room two bath suite; would definitely return to both the hotel and the restaurant on my next trip to NYC. Annie S

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a great view but do have a longer wait for the elevated….worth it in my estimation.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13AnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear 13AnnS,

Thank you for choosing the Affinia Manhattan. I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Affinia Manhattan and your dining experience at the Niles restaurant. Our complimentary Wine Hour every evening (5-6pm) has been a huge success thus far with our guests loving the mingling they get to do with one another and with our team.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Location is really why you book this hotel. Its fantasticly located, and it is a safe area. Rooms are big and have a kitchenette which is handy, except for the bathroom which was tiny! My only complaint about this hotel would be that the airconditioning in our room was so hot, even during December, that I developed a bad chest infection/cold that required medical attention from being outside in the snow and coming inside to a sauna. Beautiful lobby though. Would stay here again, a terrace room would be lovely if you could afford it.

Room Tip: Get a terrace room if you can. They look amazing!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Stephanieleanne,

Thank you for your review! I do hope that you are doing well now…New York City has undergone some drastic temperature fluctuations in the last month, in some cases 40-50 degrees over a two day period which required some adjustment on the property’s heating and AC units. Nevertheless, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel especially our convenient and central location. And yes, we do have terrace rooms which are especially lovely in the summer. We definitely look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is great! I was there with my wife back in the summer of 2013 and we had an excellent stay at this hotel. The rooms are absolutely great! They remodeled all of them, and they include a great atmosphere along with all the amenities you need. The WiFi speed is actually not bad at all, and they have a nice mini fridge and working area for you to use your laptop.

Beds are also very comfortable.

Sound is something that is not escaped in NY, but a little tip would be to get a room not on the main street...it does make a little difference on how many sirens you hear outside. I don't think there is ANY hotel that you can escape noise in...that being said...there was not much noise from outside at all in this one.

I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a place right in the heart of Manhattan, and it is DIRECTLY across from the train station...it doesn't get any better!

Have fun!

Room Tip: Select a room off of the main road for a quieter night sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pioneers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear pioneers2001,

Thank you for choosing the Affinia Manhattan for your visit to New York City in the summer. That’s such an excellent point that you make – you truly do not get any closer to the heart of New York City than our location, right here on Seventh Avenue opposite the Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. Time Square, Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue Shops are only a few blocks away. Truly a perfect location for anyone interested in exploring the City and taking it all in.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your great review and we do look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews