We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #211 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I had a very nice stay. The rooms are very spacious which is unusual for NYC. The only negative, if there is one, is that the bathroom is teenie tiny. I don't think a man could fit into the shower in the room I stayed in. Other than that it was great! The beds are very comfortable, the room is very clean and the hotel staff was great.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Amy L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the room and your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the staff. It's our pleasure serving you.

Our hotel is a historic building, and some of the layouts are unique. Many of our bathrooms are spacious as are the guestrooms.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,128 - 4,134 of 5,611 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very friendly hotel. The Staff was wonderful. Rooms were very nice and bed was very comfortable. Girls weekend to see "The Eagles". Very convenient to Madison Square Gardens and the Empire State Building. Great location. Would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ms. Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Ms. Denise C,

Thank you for reviewing the Affinia Manhattan.

I am so happy you had a great time while staying with us. The Eagles...I'm a little jealous. Now that Madison Square Garden has reopened, we boast the perfect location for concerts and games.

We hope to see you again. Perhaps the next time the Eagles are in town.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

just back from a 5 day stay in new York stayed at the affinia hotel manhattan wen we arrived lobby was full of people checking in so we had to wait a little while when we got to our room the door of the closet was hanging off so I went straight back down to reception and was given a lovely room on the 14th floor went to the concerige and a lovely girl called Maureen was there to help she could not do enough for you she is a great asset to the hotel and jenny on reception was there to make sure that everything was excellent for you and you enjoyed your stay would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to new York it so centeral to everywhere in midtown manhattan cant wait to go back

Room Tip: we were on the 14th floor while there was noise from the street what do you expect your in the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Jacquie M,

Thank you for sharing your stay at the Affinia Manhattan.

It's great to hear you took advantage of out location to get some shopping done. Thank you for mentioning Maureen and Jenny. They are both great team members, and I will share your comments with them.

When you are ready for more shopping (the holidays are right around the corner), we'll be looking for you. We hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Wow, I wish I could have stayed here for my honeymoon! We stayed here for our 2 year anniversary and boy do I recommend it. It's wonderful value and the staff are amazing so helpful and every little detail is taken care of from the concierge to give wonderful information to the complimentary wine hour. The lobby is like hanging out in an art gallery! Thank you guys for a wonderful trip! Will definitely stay again next year when I return to the the city !

Room Tip: Book a one bedroom suite with one bed for a bit of luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tess186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear tess186605,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am glad you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us. It pleases us to be a part of our guest's special moments.

We'll see you next year.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great location and service. All the major tourist attractions were only blocks or a short bus or taxi ride away.
They had wine hour nightly although the time was not always clear.
Gym was great.
Restaurant was handy and billed back to room.
They had free wifi and lots of seating in the foyer which I thought was good for those who didn't pay for the room upgrade.
They also had a travel desk which helped with any tours etc we required.

Room Tip: We were a couple travelling with a 16 yold. We had a separate room and ensuite for us and our son wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nikki1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Nikki1507,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased you found our location convenient and had the opportunity to partake in out wine hour.

We look forward to hosting you again.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Chosen for us by our 5 children for our Pearl Wedding Anniversary. A magnificent choice. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and extremely helpful. We had a Studio Suite which was ideal. The bar and restaurnt beside the enterance was always buzzing. A great stop off after a busy day sightseeing or shopping. Location was perfect, central to everything. Would have no problem recommending The Affinia Manhattan to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Aul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Aul1,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to comment on your stay.

Congratulations on 30 years of marriage. Thank you for choosing the Affinia Manhattan, and for sharing this special time with us. I am glad you were able to visit the sights and get in some shopping.

We hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was the second time for us but this time we took our daughter and her partner. We stayed for thirteen days as we were there to attend our son's wedding. We were in a one bedroom two bathroom and kitchenette which was ideal. The pullout sofa bed in the lounge area was okay. We like the location and once more found the staff extremely helpfull and professional. Our room cleaner was just so nice. Only downside was although we booked many months in advance our room rate ranged between $380US to $557US exclusive of taxes even though we were on their extended stay rate. Definitely not worth $557 plus taxes.
We enjoy the hotel but will check others next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maccas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASpektor, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Maccas9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for choosing the Affinia Manhattan. I am glad we were able to host you for such an extended period of time. I am pleased that you liked the guestroom and kitchenette, and hope that we were a suitable "home away from home."

Please feel free to contact the hotel directly for future reservations and best available rate.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the Best,

Alex Spektor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,056 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#177 of 473 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 473 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#137 of 473 in New York City
1,684 reviews
Midtown
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square So...
#192 of 473 in New York City
4,012 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 473 in New York City
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#152 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $156 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing