We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, solid hotel in midtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stewart Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #209 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great price, solid hotel in midtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Affinia is a nice clean hotel in midtown with larger than average rooms and a great location close to the main department stores. Many rooms have small kitchenettes, which is convenient. As of October 2013 there's lots of construction in the lobby, but the friendly staff say this should be finished by mid-November. They are also converting many rooms to a newer design, so make sure you ask for an upgraded room. Price point is great for Manhattan.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Kevin A,

Thank you for your review of the Affinia Manhattan.

We are proud to say that all construction has been completed, and upon your return, you'll be stepping into a fully renovated hotel; complete with a new modern lobby, updated guestrooms and a daily wine hour from 5pm to 6pm.

We look forward to your return.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,847
    1,597
    678
    298
    172
See reviews for
1,321
1,422
177
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went to affinia manhattan as a birthday treat in December 2012 found the hotel very central to most things. Just a couple of blocks away was Macy's, across the road was Madison square gardens and less than 5 from Times Square. Although we spent majority of our time out exploring New York, the room service in hotel was lovely as was the restaurant downstairs in the lobby. Swordfish was amazing. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caela and Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Caela and Joe H,

Thank you for sharing your experience, and for choosing the Affinia Manhattan.

We are pleased you like the location as well as Niles restaurant. The swordfish is a favorite of mine as well.

We'll see you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel has a great location near to Madison Square Gardens and just off Times Square for exploring New York.
Our room was comfortable if rather compact-particularly the bathroom. We had an upper floor so street noise not an issue but the older style air-conditioning unit was rather noisy-but effective.

The hotel restaurant was excellent for dinner-great food and service. Breakfast rather chaotic and buffet rather limited apparently due to some 'technical' problems.

Staff very friendly and helpful especially conceirge where we booked a city tour based on their recommendation.

Would recommend for a few days exploring Manhattan

Room Tip: Go for high floors as street noise can be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandarinBlairgowrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear MandarinBlairgowrie,

Thank you for you review of the Affinia Manhattan.

We appreciate you comments concerning our staff, and are pleased they took care of you while you were staying with us.

We hope you choose us when you are next in New York.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

So I couldn't quite work out how I felt about this hotel whilst I was staying. It's apparently recently been refurbished and the lobby had a very modern stylish feel to it...and then you discover the rest of the hotel. The refurb just doesn't seem to have spread out to anywhere else in the hotel.

I stayed in a studio suite which give the hotel its due gave me a quiet room as requested. Yes, there was still a bit of traffic noise, but hey it's New York and there's complimentary earplugs if you really need them. The more disconcerting thing was how thin the walls were. The wall my bed was against was a bathroom wall in the adjoining room, and trying to go to sleep whilst hearing people in the room next door take a pee or a shower wasn't the most relaxing atmosphere. The room was big and the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was ok, but small things like a large missing chunk of tile, and small chunks missing in the bathroom door made the room feel old. The lighting also made the room feel dirty which it wasn't.

The location of the hotel is great. It's over the road from Madison Square Gardens, 5 minutes walk to the Empire State Building and 15 minutes walk to Times Square, It's also handy in that it's opposite Penn Station which is where the train from Newark Airport goes to.

Staff were mainly friendly and the conceirge generally helpful (some more than others)

The restaurant is part of the bar and if you don't like dim lighting and loud music, it's not for you.

Biggest gripe about this hotel - wifi is charged at $14.95 per 24 hours! Do hotels really still charge for wifi?! There is free wifi in the lobby but that's not always convenient and it's only free for an hour.

A lot of sites have this as a 4 star hotel, but it really doesn't match 4 star expectations. It's an average hotel that serves its purpose but won't leave you feeling wowed or add anything to your New York experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSPW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear GSPW76,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the ease of accessibility that our location offers. We are near to the best shopping, dining and sightseeing in the city. If you are in the mood for a show, well Broadway is just a few blocks away.

We look forward to your return.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was there in March with my friends! We booked 4 nights, the first in a smaller room (since we were 3) and for the 3 following days a bigger one (mini studio since we were 4). However, the receptionist directly upgraded us without paying more from the 1st night.
The hotel lobby was under renovation, but all the rooms were already renovated. Our mini studio was great very spacious (2 bathrooms, one mini kitchen, a living room, a dressing room, 2 LCD)
Also, the hotel has a big lobby and nice bar/restaurant.
No need to mention that the location is great, facing Madison Square Garden and Penn Station (the main train&subway station)
Finally, the prices are average, but it's hard to find something in this standing cheaper in the middle of NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaDaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear MichaDaher,

Thank you for sharing your stay with other on Trip Advisor.

We are glad we were able to upgrade your guestroom. Many of our guestrooms have great views of the city, spacious living rooms and kitchenettes, and generally feel more like an apartment than a guestroom.

We hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We (I and my wife) work in the Fashion Industry and so we travel to New York and Los Angeles. Our first choice in NYC is Affinia Group of Hotels and more particulalry Affinia Manhattan followed by Affinia Dumont. I have been visiting Affinia Manhattan since 2004 and now that its renovated and the rooms done up the property is even better. The best thing is the location - 7th Avenue, 31st Street, right in front of the Penn Station. So the train, subway, fashion district, Macy's, Empire State Building, Times Square are all closeby.

Our choice is one bedroom suite with kitchenette and so proximity of Kmart helps us get all the raw materials.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanditabhaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Nanditabhaya,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We're happy that your line of work brings you to the city often, and proud that we have become your hotel of choice.

We are centrally located to many great attractions such as Macy's, Madison Square Garden, and Times Square. Of course, we are right down the street from the Fashion District.

We'll see you on your next trip to the Big Apple.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I wanted to just take a moment to mention the fantastic customer service of someone at the Affinia who made my trip worth it.

Her name is Margaret Arocho and she was AWESOME. I was in town for my friends elopement. The elopement was at 8:30am and my train got in at 7:30 - I had two suitcases and I didn't want to schlep them from Penn Station to City Hall.

I went to the Affinia and explained to Margaret that I had a room later that day and even though check in was later, could I check my bags? Margaret accomodated and then gave me a special key to the bathroom since I wasn't an official guest yet. I left to go freshen up and forgot to take my luggage ticket with me. Margaret found me five minutes later in the bathroom to give me my ticket - she searched me down.

That's fantastic service. Thank you Affinia! I will stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanicmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Stanicmo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

It is kind of you to mention Margaret and the level of service she provided. I am pleased she could assist you. It is our pleasure.

I'll make sure to share your comments.

We hope to see you again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing