We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location.”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #202 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently spent three nights here, our fourth visit, with family. We really love this hotel and its location, just opposite Madison Sq Garden and beside Macys ~ its brilliant. Great access to the city with Penn Station, under M Sq. Garden. We saw all the sights, walked Brooklyn Bridge and lots of shopping.

Lovely rooms, great location and walking distance from many of the sights.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerMaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear GerMaur,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you found the location attractive. We are across the street from Madison Square Garden, just down the street from Times Square and the theater district, and just several blocks away from the Empire State Building. We are also centered in some of the best shopping and dining in NYC.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,171
    1,736
    736
    327
    199
See reviews for
1,510
1,543
206
876
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

When i looked at trip advisor reviews, i were attracted by stunning lobby photo and boutique hotel's design taste and service. However, my friend and i were signed to the most terrible room setting:
1) Room condition:

two full side bed, no space to sit, no space to hang clothes, barely put luggages on grounds and stuffs on small tables; bed lightings are broken; bathroom is poorly designed: the door technically took the half of space in the bath room when it was opened; no space to put clothes, only one hanger behind the door, very small counter and facial sink, shower water pressure was low; internet is very expensive( unreasonable option, cannot even choose to surf for one hour, 24 hours costs 14.95$); air conditional is old; window is pretty small, not much sunlights.

2) Service:
Not very impressed by efficiency to check in; no concierge; Restaurant service is poor, simply can't meet extra service( allergic with certain diet, but no optional for choose); poor breakfast; not willing attitude;

Door man are very nice people! They took care and paid good attention to guests.

Overall experience worse than motel, not recommended to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Betty B,

Thank you for staying at the Affinia Manhattan. Our hotel boasts many different types of guestrooms with varying views of the city and a location second to none.

Our staff are warm and friendly, and are ready to assist our guests with whatever needs they may have.

We hope to see you again shortly.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stay here !! I have visited NYC 12 times (from the UK) and stayed in various locations. The Affinia is in the best location, and I always stay in this area - whenever possible at the Affinia! The rooms are very clean and modern and have a small fridge - perfect for storing milk for my cups of Tea in the morning. The radio/alarm was an IHome - my daughter was very impressed that she was able to charge her IPhone and listen to music. The hotel is only a few steps away from 34th Street - Macys, plus most of the affordable shops. The Empire State Building is just across the road. Also most of the main subway lines run through Penn Station (opposite hotel) and Herald Square (behind hotel), enabling you to travel anywhere in Manhattan quickly and comfortably. If you prefer to travel in a hot stuffy yellow cab, the taxi rank is just across the road (7th Ave) outside Madisson Square Garden and the consierge will call one over. We were looked after by Edgar - he put our luggage away when we checked out, and was very helpful when we returned with additional bags of shopping which we needed to pack into our cases before we went out for food. Edgar arranged our transport to the airport and made our departure from the hotel very easy. I had been back in the UK less than 1 week when I booked my return trip for April next year :-) There are several other hotels within this area, but value for money the Affinia has everything I need (most importantly a fridge).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Tracey G,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Affinia Manhattan.

We are pleased you found the location attractive. We are across the street from Madison Square Garden, just down the street from Times Square and the theater district, and just several blocks away from the Empire State Building. We are also centered in some of the best shopping and dining in NYC.

Thank you for taking the time to mention Edgar. He is a great team member, and we are proud to have him in our family.

We'll see you the next time you are in NYC.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the Affinia for only two nights, but it was a perfect stay. Clean and good rooms, quiet though it is in the middle of a crossing. And its a perfect location for shopping/sightseeing in Midtown/Upper Manhattan. Almost everything within walking distance.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room high up, and towards the back of the hotel for best sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Coldmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Coldmac,

Thank you for your review of the Affinia Manhattan on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you found the location convenient and the hotel enjoyable.

We look forward to your return.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location. Penn station across the road. Clean comfortable rooms. Kitchen area was clean and had enough equipment if you needed it. Laundry was a great surprise in NYC and cheap to use. Air con was a bit loud but the fire station was louder when the trucks went out. Bathroom Very tiny, nowhere to put anything and if you are a large size body, the toilet will be a squeeze. BUT it is NYC and overall was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to go high and avoid 30th st windows. The Fire station is right under them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Sandra S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities (kitchenette and laundry facilities).

We hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our hotel experience at the affinia manhattan. Everyone was so helpful and the accommodations were excellent. A special perk was the free wine in the evenings. The location was perfect for us! We were walking distance to so many wonderful places but if it was too far to walk Penn Station was right across the street. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay on our next trip to NYC

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Susan D,

Thank you for your review.

Our complimentary wine has become guest favorite. I am glad you enjoyed it. We offer it daily from 5pm to 6pm with a selection of premium red and white wines.

We look forward to your return visit.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling VA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was invited for a weekend trip so I did not pay for the room. However I was impressed with the hotel. The décor is different and pleasant. The room have a bedroom with two beds and a living area with a pull out sofa. It also had a kitchen with utensils, plates, etc., and two full bathrooms. It was plenty of room for four people. They could put in a small dining table and another end table as there was some space that was not used and could be better put to use. I also enjoyed the free wine from 5-6pm each day. The location is right across from Penn Station. We walked to Times Square and it was a bit of a hike but if you are up to it not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmith347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear dsmith347,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the Affinia Manhattan.

We are pleased to hear you liked the guestroom as well as the kitchenette. This is often a nice option for families or couples when dining in is preferred.

We look forward to your return.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 466 in New York City
5,184 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 466 in New York City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 466 in New York City
4,644 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#101 of 466 in New York City
1,710 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#130 of 466 in New York City
4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing