We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #211 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 9:30am after a horror flight with children. Not only did they check us in, they gave us an upgrade to a suite with kitchenette! Room was spacious, beds comfortable, service was impeccable, and were very happy with the free WiFi given our 7 night stay. Close to Time Square and Empire State!

Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Sarah H. Thanks for sharing your review of your recent stay. A flight from Australia is never easy so I am glad we were able to upgrade you and your family to a nice room upon arrival. As you mentioned, our location makes it easy to explore all of New York. On your next visit please stop by our complimentary wine hour, served in the sparkling new lobby, every night.

See you soon.
Joseph Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,129 - 4,135 of 5,370 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Said at the Affinia on our recent trip to New York. The location was great as we came into penn station and only had to walk a short distance. The hotel is well located not far to time square or the Empire State Building. The room was a good size but the bathroom was very small not that this spoilt our stay. They offered free wifi in the lobby and complementary drink between 5-6 pm. A coin laundry in the hotel was excellent when travelling and very convenient. Staff where friendly and helpful overall a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Sharon H,
Thanks so much for your review of Affinia Manhattan. Our team is happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the great service you received. Glad you could join us for our complimentary wine hour in the evening. As you said, our location is ideal and we look forward to having you with us on your next trip to New York!

Best regards
Joseph Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As a business executive and news reporter I travel often to NYC. Manhattan as everyone can attest is a vibrant, exciting city full of activities and events and a good hotel and customer service is 90% of the experience. When attending a conference at the Affinia manhattan hotel I was welcomed with a smile from every employee and a willingness to assist in all my needs. From one request to the next not only was instantly executed but everyone went above and beyond!. In a city where they see thousands of people to have employees remember you from your last visit and to be grateful to your return was not something I was expecting to feel. The Banquet manager Franklyn Polonia was incredibly efficient, dutiful, sharp, welcoming and truly marvelous to be around. He truly embodies leadership and excellence. If you are looking for a unique, impressive hotel that embodies the best Hospitality and a special magical experience look no further than the Affinia Manhattan!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Fiobella,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your conference at the Affinia Manhattan. We appreciate the glowing comments regarding our staff and service. Thank you for highlighting Franklyn; he is one of our All-Stars!

We hope to see you again soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This Hotel would have to be in one of the best positions in New York. The staff were great,we even got an upgrade to a 1bedroom suite which had every thing you wanted for an 8 night stay. Each evening there was wine tasting in the Foyer which went on for 2 hours Maureen in the Concierge is a walking New York encyclopedia, her help at finding places was great. Walk every where you want,plenty of bars and resturants close by,The Dallas BBQ,Mustang Harrys,Molly Wee Pub and Plams which was outstanding.Buy a drink at the bar and you get a real drink.We would highly recommend the Affinia to anyone wanting to stay in Manhatton

Room Tip: Try to get a 1 Bedroom Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear redsquid,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

The location is great, and we are centered near so many restaurants, bars and clubs, that if nightlife is what you're looking for, just step outside our door.

We are happy we could provide you with a upgrade to your room.

We hope to see you again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 children- 6 & 9. We are from Australia and it was our first trip to New York. It was so hard to decide where to stay without it completely blowing out of control. On recommendation from someone we decided on a 1 bedroom deluxe suite at the Affinia Manhattan. Everything about the hotel was fabulous- the location, the staff, the actual apartment- such a bonus having 2 bathrooms and 2 wardrobes HOWEVER if you book please be aware of the NOISE. The windows are not sound proof, in fact it sounds like there is a window open at all times. I did complain and room changes were offered however it was all too much drama- however by the 4th night with road works right outside we took them up on their offer. They did bend over backwards to accommodate us but I felt I shouldn't have had to go through this with 2 young kids in the first place. If ANYONE is going to stay PLEASE ask for a room not located near 7th Ave or you will be awake all night. Maybe if enough people complain they will make their windows sound proof- which in light of the recent renovations, find it astounding that they are not sound proof.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from 7th Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear MVM81,

Thank you for your comments.

We're pleased that your first time in the Big Apple was with the Affinia Manhattan. We hope when you return, you make us for your hotel of choice.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I ended up at this hotel due to Priceline's Name your Own Price. They put me in what a front desk clerk called their "petite room" initially. Jenny came to our rescue and placed us in a different room which most likely has not been remodeled. That room had a shower fly infestation. I sent an email to the hotel manager but heard nothing before our departure. Judging from the other comments, I guess it was the Priceline quality rooms that I got. When I bid for a four star hotel, I expect a four star room. My bad!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rstary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Rstary,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for mentioning Jenny. It is great to hear positive comments about our team.

We hope to see you again.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from a four night stay. Lovely hotel, good location geographically.

Pro's:
Free in room safe.
Very helpful staff, always seamed to be someone around when we needed them.
Free wi-fi in lobby.
Six lifts to cater for the 28 floors so didn't have to wait long for one.
Spacious room (one bed suite) with a comfy bed and extra pillows if needed.
Concierge very knowledgeable.
Two entrances which was handy when one was busy due to check-ins.
General location in city was great.

Con's:
Fire station VERY close to hotel, we thought ''Surely there can't be that many fire's?'' but it really was noticeable. Each evening/night must have heard at least five so be prepared to be woken up.
As it's situated on main road you can also hear taxi's (mainly) beeping each other non stop all night as they all lane change and turn which is so annoying and effected sleep quality. They do offer ear plugs so use them if you remember, however that doesn't 100% release the issue.
Both above not hotels fault but still need to be said,

Design of sink (square and 100% flat) meant that it didn't drain properly so you have to clean it even more so than in the UK, not ideal when on holiday and itching to explore. Same to be said for shower.

Within a 10second walk of Starbucks, 5second walk of a Dunkin'Doughnuts, 30second walk to Subway(fast food chain not tube) a 2minute walk to McDonalds and a 30second walk to Penn Rail/Subway Station on 34th street (mainline station).

Found out MANY tips when exploring not relevant for this post so if anyone needs advice please feel free to email me :]

Room Tip: Higher room would be better, in room wi fi is sooo expensive so try use free lobby wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Tim G,

We are pleased you enjoyed the free wifi, spacious room and general location. We located near Times Square, Macy's, Broadway and the Empire State building. In addition, we are situated near some of the best dinning in NYC.

We hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 469 in New York City
11,701 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,456 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 469 in New York City
887 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#172 of 469 in New York City
1,399 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 469 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $142 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing