We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but the room was super small”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #212 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 12, 2013

although i got my hotel room through hotels tonight, and it was an ideal location in manhattan but the hotel room was SUPER SMALL. The size of the room i didnt mind but for the price for the room size i felt wasnt really well correlated. ive been to cheaper hotels that was located 6 streets away for a fraction of the price. all in all the room was super clean and very very nice i just wish i had a little more space to walk around comfortably.

Room Tip: i would suggest to ask the sq ft size of the room before purchasing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Patrick A,

Thank you for reviewing the Affinia Manhattan. Many of our guest rooms are unique is their layout and vary in size and shape.

We hope that the next time you are in New York City, we are your hotel of choice.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,273 - 4,279 of 5,505 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for a week in a one bed suite with terrace. I've stayed before several times and it was great as usual. Everyone is lovely and the nightly wine tasting is a nice addition and a good way to mingle. It was my husbands first stay at the hotel and he now knows why I keep returning. The location is great and the room lovely will all the facilities you need.
Bathrooms tend to be small but functional but the rest of the room is huge and nicely decorated.
Loved it - thanks to Daniela x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X_PhileMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear X_PhileMiltonKeynes,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at the Affinia Manhattan. We are so pleased that you continue to return to our hotel.

We look forward to your next visit. We hope it's soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a Fantastic time in the Affinia Manhattan, It is a lovely hotel, Good sized rooms and the most comfy bed I have ever slept in. We were worrired that the hotel rooms would be noisey due to the busy location, but we didn't find it noisey at all. The Location was great close to macy's and the empire state and about 10 mins walk to time square. We had a fab time here, would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vix-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear vix-111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are so happy that we have provided you with the "most comfy" bed you have ever slept in. That is a great compliment for a hotel.

We look forward to your return.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just checked out of this hotel and have had a lovely stay but there are some things that could easily be fixed that bugged me.

The lobby to the hotel is lovely and staff very helpful, but the room I stayed in was like a shoe box. The bathroom was like a broom cupboard, a bit dingy and there was no consistency with what towels we were going to get each day. There was no where really to store cases and not enough easily usable plug sockets (the main ones weren't working). Other than the bathroom there wasn't anywhere else to use a plug socket near a mirror (2 girls sharing a room so this was an issue). I just think the general layout of the room wasn't great and could be sorted at a minimal cost. Also it would be a nice touch to leave a bottle of water in the fridge as not everyone drinks the hot beverages with the equipment provided.
The good bits were the helpful staff, the ear plugs provided to drown out the noise of the fire engines on our block (we were on the 17th floor and didn't need them as noise wasn't a problem), the fridge and safe in the room and the free wifi in the lobby. Location was great as everything seems to be very accessible from here, as opposite penn station and Madison square garden and just a couple of blocks down from Macy's.

If I were to return to NYC then I would certainly consider coming back to affinia manhattan.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Natasha D,

Thank you for posting your reviews on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you liked the location and the room amenities.

We hope you choose us when next you are in New York City.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had an apartment type hotel room. Everyone was helpful and friendly! Location was great, across the street from Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, and Subways' was close and very easy to figure out. We could walk everywhere. Time Square about 2 miles down the street. Our room had two bathrooms, two queen size beds, a couch which turned out to sleep two more. Kitchen equipped with everything you may need. Staff was very helpful!
We stayed on the 21 floor and we had the best Housekeeper. Her name is Agata! She really made our stay wonderful! I would stay there again! I WILL BE BACK!!!!!
Our stay was September 5-10,2013. The weather was great as well.

Room Tip: Did not use pool or spa, not sure if they have either. To busy enjoying NYC and all that it offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Stephanie P,

We are so pleased to hear about your wonderful stay. I am happy the room and layout was to your liking.

It is always a pleasure to hear great comments about our staff. We have shared them with Agata in Housekeeping, and it simply made her day.

We await your return, and hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not impressed. This review piggy-backs off of my spouse's (Ann) review. Initially taking advantage of a web-based promotional package, this stay turned out to be a huge disappointment.
In addition to those factors mentioned in Ann's review (citing only one: unpacking and packing the car on 7th Ave. upon arrival and departure was nightmarish, with luggage and belongings piled on the sidewalk and carried up the stairs to lobby). There were/are other concerns which folks ought to know about.
1. There is no hotel-owned parking lot. There is a lot with which the hotel has an affiliation, and a subsequent nightly charge. Visitors need to know that a day trip will cost a double fee for re-parking upon return.
2. The one time I did take my car out, the hotel clerk on duty made a mistake with billing, and then affixed the excess to me despite my protestations.
3. Don't use the mail shoot! Knowing that we'd be away from our home in Florida when my monthly bills came due, I posted checks to my creditors using the hotel mail shoot. Though stop-payments have been authorized, I have given up hope that any of these correspondences will surface. Hotel staff was not helpful in this regard.
4. Because we had such a dreadful stay (my spouse mentioned the room heat - Saharan! . . and due to the construction, we were also concerned with air quality), we checked out a day early. Staff refused to reimburse any expenses, despite our complaints, concerns and consternation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Goruss,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We hope you'll provide us with the opportunity to host you again when you return to New York.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I took my girlfriend over to New York for her birthday. We wanted to be close to the main attractions and close to the great shopping locations.. We got exactly what we were after by staying at this hotel!

We were a two minute walk from Macy's. A 5 minute walk from the empire state building, and a (just under) ten minute walk from Times Square. We both fell in love with just walking around the city and taking it all in, and this hotel was perfect for it!Every member of staff we dealt with were really friendly and all looked like they enjoyed their jobs.

I've seen people complain of the noise from the street and I agree it is loud, but what do you expect? You're in the center of New York City. One of the busiest places on the planet! We both brought some ear plugs which made a huge difference. No sound plus the big comfy beds? What's not to love?

Overall a great experience. It was our first time in New York and we both felt safe and at home at the Affinia Manhattan. We will be back at some point and will definitely stay at the Affinia again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear LiamHFC,

It sounds like you had a great time. We are extremely happy to hear that. Our location is incredible, and it feels like everything is "just around the corner."

I am glad our staff appear to love their jobs. Thank you for noticing.

We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon.

All the Best,

Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,927 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 471 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Midtown
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square So...
#179 of 471 in New York City
3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#178 of 471 in New York City
1,452 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#119 of 471 in New York City
916 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#45 of 471 in New York City
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $129 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing