We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced right and great service!”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #209 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went up for 3 nights with my friends. The hotel was under construction but that didn't get in the way at all the rooms are great, view was great and staff was perfect. My friend booked her 2nd trip there the day we got back!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFOL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear CFOL2013,
Wow, what a great review. We're honored to be your hotel of choice when traveling to New York. Best regards,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,307 - 4,313 of 5,421 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Cockroach in the bath tub, water leaking from ceiling, room rarely cleaned to a reasonable level of satisfaction. But the lobby is renovated, which is about as far as the renovations seem to have gone. Rough area - not a place you want to walk around at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff and good, clean comfortable rooms in a very large, stylish old building. Only thing that took getting used to was New York never sleeping, so noise is ever present outside the windows, but that would affect any hotel and this one was just fine. Ideally placed for the tourist in terms of shopping (large variety of local shops + Macey's 3 blocks away), sightseeing (Empire State, Madison Square Gardens, Times Square all under 10 minutes walk). Penn Street subway just across the street, this is a quick way to get around. The hop on hop off tourist buses run past the hotel going south and are great for getting downtown (Statue of Liberty ferries, Wall Street, Ground Zero) or if you walk to the stop, uptown (Central Park, Rockefeller Centre, Museums). We would thoroughly recommend this place and its staff. By the way, if you are flying back to the UK from Newark Airport do not take a taxi, it is expensive and can be slow with the NY traffic. Take the New Jersey Transit train from Penn Street station by the hotel. It's quick and cost effective - $25 for 2 singles, August 2013.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and the air conditioners on the service area roof below us were consisten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolomede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear dolomede,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed our central location, it seems you were able to get a lot done during your time in New York. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you're in New York.
All the best,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is a favorite of mine due to the proximity to the Amtrak Train and quality of accommodations. I always request the STUDIO SUITE size room with 2 Beds as it has a kitchen and plenty of room for relaxing and working. Rooms are updated and decorated with style. Lobby has lots of energy, but the room floors are quiet and clean. Entire hotel staff is friendly and makes my stay easy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Kathryn F,
We're proud to be your "favorite" hotel in New York! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very well located in mid town on 7th Ave, close to subway. Surprisingly quiet rooms (apart from the air con system which we switched off during the night). Products in bathroom fairly basic. We had a suite and were pleasantly surprised as to the size of the rooms. Very comfortable and very large bed in bedroom and sofa bed also reported as comfortable. Very clean. Small kitchen area reasonably equipped.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MrsTnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear MrsTnewcastle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. How nice of you to mention how comfortable and clean your room was, our Housekeeping team always works hard to ensure our guests are happy while staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location for all sight seeing attractions, great staff very nice place to stay, with clean and well decorated rooms. Free wifi in hotel lobby.Good food and service in Niles restaurant and bar. I would recommend this hotel for family's and couples.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in this great hotel in mid town manhattan, we have been here for 6 nights and leave tomorrow. it is Ideal for exploring New York City. The staff are very friendly with the 5pm wine libation is a welcome chill before the evening adventures. We took our 2 girls (13 and 11) and had a double room. At first we thought it was a bit on the small side, but it was perfect for our stay. I was concerned about the noise from the fire engines before we came but we hardly experienced this at all. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suarezno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,794 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#172 of 470 in New York City
3,911 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 470 in New York City
5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#174 of 470 in New York City
1,419 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#136 of 470 in New York City
1,648 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 470 in New York City
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $142 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing