We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Stewart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stewart Hotel
Ranked #202 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location for all sight seeing attractions, great staff very nice place to stay, with clean and well decorated rooms. Free wifi in hotel lobby.Good food and service in Niles restaurant and bar. I would recommend this hotel for family's and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,165
    1,736
    736
    327
    199
See reviews for
1,507
1,543
206
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in this great hotel in mid town manhattan, we have been here for 6 nights and leave tomorrow. it is Ideal for exploring New York City. The staff are very friendly with the 5pm wine libation is a welcome chill before the evening adventures. We took our 2 girls (13 and 11) and had a double room. At first we thought it was a bit on the small side, but it was perfect for our stay. I was concerned about the noise from the fire engines before we came but we hardly experienced this at all. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suarezno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good looking hotel, issue with deposit they made us leave on our credit card which has still not been credited back, been home now 7 days. Noise level not acceptable . Rooms average for NY. Would have expected better. Brill location, , clean and served its purpose. no frills in rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

the lobby area looks great and has a very modern feel to it, and the room/bathroom also look modern at first glance but for a 4* hotel it felt very cramped, it didn't feel clean and comfortable, it looked dark and depressing...we choose 4* hotels because at the end of a full on day we need a little bit of rnr and we avoided going back to the hotel as much as we could because we felt cramped and totally not relaxed in that room...i dont think i need to upgrade to get a decent room in a 4* hotel...whether in NY or anywhere in the world. We have been travelling for 15 years and have stayed in a variety of hotel...some were 3* and we knew what to expect and as we carried on travelling around the world we decide we needed higher standards so we usually choose 4* and many times we go for 5*...the affinia was overall a disappointment. i also read reviews on tripadvisor for this hotel and did have better expectations, prefering to look at the positive reviews instead of the negative because i do think people moan and complain about the ridiculous things sometimes which can put people off their holidays but in this case i should've paid attention to the negative ones and maybe change the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ganchi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ganchi M,
Thank you for your honest feedback, I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We recently completed a top-to-bottom renovation including all of our guest rooms. The rooms were designed by the prestigious Rockwell Group, the color palette includes crisp white and gray with pops of orange and green accents. Our housekeeping team works hard to ensure all of our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards, if you are ever not satisfied please make sure to let our Front Desk Managers know as they are there to assist you in everyway. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
All the best,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was my second stay at the Affinia Manhattan. The position of the hotel is excellent for all attractions especially shopping. Easy walking to major shops, subway and easy taxi ride to all neighbouring burrows. I stayed in a room with my 19 year old daughter. There was plenty of room, two comfortable double beds, small bathroom but to be expected but nice and clean. Staff were nice and friendly from check in, house keeping and great at helping you get a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Kimberly P,
Thank you for your glowing review of Affinia Manhattan! We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. We're so happy to know you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back every time your travels bring you to New York.
Best regards,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The one good thing about this hotel was that it was next to Penn Station. Oh, the salads we got through room service were better than expected and bar service and appetizers at Niles were a highlight!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. Lori D,
Thank you for your feedback, it's good to know that you were able to enjoy the food from Niles NYC. Niles offers a sleek setting with a contemporary American menu for an entertaining meal from morning till late night. They also provide hotel guests with room service from 7am until 11:30pm. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review.
All the best,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We picked this hotel via a friends recommendation and stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is well placed in the centre of Manhattan, right across the road from Madison Square Gardens. We arrived at around 6am, not expecting to have a room ready but to at least leave our bags so we could explore. Luckily, however, a room was available for us and we were allowed to check in early (usually to a charge but we didn't have to pay, which was very kind!) and so we popped our bags in our room and were able to freshen up before heading out for the day. I have to say, the room surpassed our expectations: It was very spacious with a lovely big king size bed (superking if you are British!) and a big TV mounted on the wall. The bathroom, whilst fairly small, was still big enough for a large shower space, and the views were great - not spectacular but still interesting enough! We weren't there to look out of the window though!
The concierge are EXCELLENT! Use them! They are extremely knowledgable and helpful and are full of ideas if you are stuck for something to do, or need a restaurant recommendation, for example. The rooms are pretty noisy but I was ready for that after reading other reviews on here but to be honest....you are in New York...what do you expect?! The hotel very kindly provides you with earplugs which you can pop in on a night which I thought was a great idea and helped block out much of the typical NYC car-honking throughout the night!
The only reasons this did not get 5-stars for me is because:
You couldn't get free Wifi in your rooms; after travelling in many hotels throughout the world, I would have expected free Wifi here. You could access it in the lobby but as a New York hotel, with many tourists, access to the Internet would have been very handy, and I wasn't prepared to spend $14.95 per day for it!!!
Whilst our room was excellent, I was shocked to see a different room, one our friends were staying in which was much, much smaller (and we'd both paid the same and booked at a similar time) with a tiny bathroom and not much floor space at all. I'd say ours was twice as big and I'm assuming that was simply down to luck, but if I came back to the hotel in the future, I would have been extremely disappointed to have been given their room!
However overall MY experience of the hotel was excellent, and I would definitiely come again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH_NYC, General Manager at Stewart Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear HuddsGlobetrotters,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to know that our Concierge Desk was so helpful in providing assistance during your stay. They're well versed on the city and are always happy to recommend restaurants, tours, shows and activities to do while you're here. As you know, our central location makes travelling anywhere in the city easy. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Best regards,
Joseph Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,342 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,173 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 467 in New York City
1,704 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 467 in New York City
4,629 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart Hotel

Property: Stewart Hotel
Address: 371 Seventh Ave, New York City, NY 10001-3984 (Formerly Manhattan NYC – an Affinia hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel with an airy, elegant lobby in Midtown (near the border with Chelsea), this property is less than a block from Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The lavish guest rooms have flat-screen TVs, iPod docking stations and WiFi (surcharge). Studios add a kitchenette, while the 1- and 2-bedroom suites add full kitchens and separate living areas. Some suites feature an additional bathroom and/or terrace. Shared amenities include an on-site fitness center, self-service laundry and a contemporary American restaurant. There is a complimentary wine hour for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stewart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Manhattan Hotel New York City
Affinia Manhattan New York City
Affinia Manhatten
Southgate Tower New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing