We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #165 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The service at this hotel is excellent. Everyone is friendly and accommodating. The restaurants on the property are also excellent. The food is delicious and the service is stellar. The rooms are very small but quite comfortable. Everything is stylish and clean. The bar in the lobby is a popular spot in the evenings and it can get quite crowded and loud. As with all properties of this caliber in NYC, it is pricey. I recommend this hotel for business people, couples and singles, but not for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    838
    355
    153
    115
See reviews for
293
981
191
723
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I got a discounted rate of about $380 on hotels.com a few weeks in advance, which seemed very reasonable and a no-brainer choice when matching against a courtyard marriott at the same price.
The building is just off some main streets, but somehow feels tucked away in a quiet spot.
Service was great from the doorman to the front desk.
Room was comfortable and had a eve of the Empire State Building in the distance.
Rooms have a hipster decor vibe going. Bed was comfy.

They have bikes available to borrow.

Would definitely recommend it if you can find a similar bargain.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kingpowder76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We travelled to NY from Australia and when we checked in to SoHo Grand - we automatically fell in love with it. We arrived at 2am so all we wanted was a comfy bed to rest ready to hit NY. The rooms ( albeit, not the biggest rooms in the world but what we expected in NY ) were extremely comfortable and importantly very clean. After all, we didn't plan on spending much time in the room. The staff all over the hotel were excellent and especially the bar staff were fantastic and friendly and really knew their Whiskey! The concierge were very friendly and helpful with where to go and what to see ( not the tourist traps ) - we borrowed the hotel bikes and rode to central park. I would highly recommend Soho Grand to anyone that wants to experience true NY hospitality with fantastic restaurants and options very close to the hotel. each night of exploring Manhattan, all we wanted to do was head back to Soho Grand. We look forward to heading back sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil23041981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

July 4 - 7, 2014 stay. Very well done hotel with a wonderful buzz. Service is excellent and accommodating, from the friendly doormen to the front desk, concierge and housekeeping. The public-area décor and appointments are cool. Good location on W Broadway just north of Canal. Easy walking to shops and dining in Soho and handy to Tribeca, Village, Chinatown, Little Italy, Brooklyn Bridge/Seaport and WTC area. Warm weather during our stay was a challenge to the AC in the room (1224). Pet friendly (!!) with a very nice private dog park adjacent to the property. Room service produces top notch yummy stuff. This was our first stay south of Central Park and found the Soho Grand to be well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheeshman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear sheeshman_13,
Thank you for sharing your review. The dog park is a big hit with both our guests and their pets. Soho is a wonderful area to explore on foot, you never know what wonderful gallery or store lays around each corner. You can stay informed on neighborhood events and things happening around the city by checking out our neighborhood guide on GrandLifehotels.com, to ensure you’re equipped with the local’s knowledge.
We look forward to having you back.
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were in town for a friends wedding that took place down the street, and many of the attendees stayed at the Soho Grand. It's still as classy as ever, yet has an energy that is really special. We were on the 11th floor so we had great views, (really great ones) and were able to take advantage of drinks in the lobby bar a couple times. Housekeeping was excellent as well; we were there for 5 nights and had impeccable service. We left a couple valuable items behind, and were afraid they were gone forever (as this happens often at hotels!) but when I followed up with the team, they assured me that they had been found and would be returned. What a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacethebace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear jacethebace,
Thank you so much for sharing your review. Happy to hear you were able to fully enjoy our hotel facilities. The overall experience is enhanced when you have fully immersed yourself in our culture and can truly say you’ve had a grand day.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wonder how to relax in the hectic NY? Look no further. You can feel the great atmosphere from the first second you enter and you just think: Wow, this is the place I have been looking for. Staff is relaxed but give you extreme attention. Coming back from the bustling streets of NY you go through the door of the hotel and your pulse goes down about 101%. Spend a few hours in the lounge with a drink (or a couple) relax and listen to the DJ play all sorts of great music and just seap in the atmosphere. Ask the staff about anything and you are taken care of in the best manner thinkable. Rooms are great and the whole building just marvellous. Might be the best hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear puaberg,
Just fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review. This is how we want all of our guests to feel. Please contact me before your next stay so that I can enroll you in our rewards program and make sure you enjoy the perks of our Grand life rewards. kfahey@sohogrand.com
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have recently spent 6 nights at the Soho Grand and it was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The staff were helpful friendly and genuine in their service without being fawning or fake in the way they dealt with you. The room was perhaps a little smaller than some I have stayed in but it was well appointed and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The location was great close to good lines on the subway for heading uptown and shopping in Soho is close by. However being at the southern end of Soho it also has a close access to a lot of good restaurants.
The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help us. The hotel seemed to excel at the little things, toiletries in the room were beautiful, we never saw a service cart in the hall at all for example and a number of interactions with the staff where they went above and beyond for us was a real highlight of our stay.I would stay at the Soho Grand again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAmbassador, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Erik W,
Fantastic review! Thank you very much for taking time to write this. We pride ourselves on service and it is great to hear when we have hit the mark. Please email me so I can tell you about our loyalty rewards program kfahey@sohogrand.com
We look forward to your return.
Best,
Kelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#62 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#146 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#219 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#298 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,686 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#7 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing