We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area”
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #164 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hip young hotel in good suburb of NYC .. Small rooms as old cool hotel ..walk to food ,subway easy and on Sunday comes alive with art market...stayed for 4 nites A great us style hotel eg not the big chains ...a bit of a dark place need to increase lights a little......air cond a bit of a noise but enjoy soho

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Mrsomelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,719 - 1,725 of 3,095 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

I love this hotel - it has a traditional & non-clinical style that is classy and consistent over the years. The care to customers is maintained throughout your stay and any issues are handled to completion & satisfactory. I would stay at the Soho Grand on every trip to NYC if I could (mostly is my choice even for work trips so no doubt I'll see you there ;o).
The location is perfect if you like being with the relaxed chic scene of Soho but only minutes away from the Village.
The food is tasty and the bar/restaurant is slightly tight fitting but that's because everyone piles in - it's a great atmosphere and you can just have cup of tea if you feel like it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I don't like American Hotels or Airlines. Best to get it out of the way. I find all that "have a nice day" forced friendliness, irritating and unnecessary. For my purposes the Soho Grand was the wrong end of the island - but was game to try something different. 'Different' is the appropriate word here - it had charm, stylish, non brash. Attentive without being over bearing. The service was subtle but effective. I stayed in one of the smaller suites - this was useful for my purposes as I needed to conduct meetings in private. I explained my requirements to the front desk on check-in - gave them a list of my meetings and requirements for food/drinks orders for room service for the entire week. They did not miss a thing and went way beyond what I would have expected...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zach f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel - it has a cool and chilled out vibe, at the same time as providing excellent service. I use it when I am working in the financial district - it's a lovely walk at the beginning/end of a busy day. The 'standard' rooms are great - I happily live in them for 4 nights at a time. The staff are always so friendly and welcome me back every visit.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank louise_richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location is great and the style is unquestionable but the service is dreadful. From check in, to breakfast to evening cocktails it really was all about looking good and nothing else. I have never had such poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have stayed at the Soho Grand Hotel numerous times for business...so suffice to say there is something about it worth coming back for.

Still I think this hotel lacks a few things for the price. The location is great, but the rooms are small and could do with a little lift. It needs to be bought into the new age. Also other than your tiny hotel room, there's not much added value here.

Do stay here, but i think there are probably better boutique hotels around now.

Customer service is ok. Nothing exceptional

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibeenthereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hit the mark, as I was looking for a nice hotel that was a 10 min walk or less from Hudson Square. Generally, it feels upscale, lobby on the 2nd floor (a bit surprising), with a nice view and good service, across the board (impressive). However, it could use some updating. They go for the classic feel, but at times, it just felt a bit dated.

Rooms -- solid by NYC standards. Very clean, and ample room (again, its contextual). The bed was super comfortable, firm but soft. Lots of light choices, and free wifi across the hotel (worked for Netflix too!). TV was not one of those hotel tvs with 8 channels that takes a year to change a channel also. Breakfast was nice as well.

Bathrooms were large enough, but very dated -- like my grandmother's bathroom from 1988. They need a complete refresh incl. new showers if they want to stick at this price point and image.

Location is good if its what you are looking for -- 5 min walk to the subway... or to the Holland Tunnel :) Canal Street intersection can be a traffic nightmare BTW. Pet friendly with a dog park next door.

Outside noise is an issue, but better if you get a room higher up. The local area is full of nice cafes and shops also. Fitness room was rather small but still functional.

Recommended, and I would consider going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#207 of 473 in New York City
1,456 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 473 in New York City
1,057 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#28 of 473 in New York City
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#249 of 473 in New York City
1,177 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#91 of 473 in New York City
590 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 473 in New York City
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $232 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing