We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great NYC value in Soho” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #161 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great NYC value in Soho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent last weekend at the Soho Grand and found it the perfect location and price point for a last minute NYC weekend getaway. We booked our room on the internet while driving down saturday morning from Boston. The process was easy and our room was ready when we arrived at 2:00 pm. Parking is right across the street so getting rid of our car was seemless. Our room had a view of West Broadway. It was small but very comfortable. The bathroom was actaully larger and nicer than some we hav evisited recently. The lobby bar was very active on both Saturday evening and Sunday brunch. The only negative of the hotel was that it had a very small lobby. if you like to read the paper in the lobby and watch the world go by this is not ofr you. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    860
    359
    157
    115
See reviews for
297
1,009
198
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and i recently stayed at the Soho Grand. We had a wonderful time. The staff are fantastic and very accommodating. The bars are wonderful. food and drink are all above average. The location of the hotel is it's biggest selling point. Within waling distance to many bars and restaurants. Concierge is very knowledgeable. the only negative this time is it didn't seem the thermostat was working properly. The room was too warm and I could not cool it down. Not a big deal though. This is not the first time we have stayed here. That should say it all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKLAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I live close to the city, but had to stay overnight in style for a work related project. The Soho grand was by far one of the most comfortable stays i've had. Great bed, great bar, with comparable prices, interesting decor, and a service minded staff thats friendly. Can't go wrong!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Upon arrival at the Soho Grand, you fall under the impression that you are about to witness something special. The lobby and bar area of the hotel are beautiful and give the feeling of stepping back to a bygone era.

Unfortunately this illusion drifts away when you enter your room. Apart from the good amount of space, the decor and fittings are distinctly average. The shower in particular was in desperate need of repair, with the head coming away from the wall.

The saving grace of the hotel is the friendliness of the staff and the great bar, which gave us two excellent breakfasts during our stay. However, given the price of the hotel, I believe there are likely better options to stay when visiting New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This meticulously restored hotel in the middle of the Soho district is charming, and inviting: the staff is punctilious and friendly, the ambiance cozy and comfortable. But there is a neglect of details that first-class hotels do not miss. For example, the bathroom sink does not drain properly; the toilet seat does not sit properly on the toilet bowl and the seat cover bumps into your back whenever you shift your weight (I discovered the hinge was broken); robes are provided, but no slippers; the thermostat was not reliable: we set it at one temperature and the room temperature fell below it in short order. The breakfast was good, but not cheap; even then, there were mistakes: my wife ordered granola and yoghurt with a side order of fruit; she received yoghurt and two servings of fruit.

In our room, we were greeted with a plate of complimentary cupcakes, which was nice, but it was accompanied by a personal welcome letter to "Mr. Carter" (we were not "Mr. Carter").

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so-sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

stayed here for business and chose the hotel because it was within the corporate budget and had the location i wanted. right on the bottom of soho, close to a myriad of restaurants and bars this place is all about location. the actual hotel is nothing to write home about - it has a 20s kind of decor and carries it quite ok but nothing too impressive. standard hotel room otherwise. i would recommend staying on the north side (uptown side) or a really high floor room because during the summer there is an open summer terrace on the downtown side that can generate quite the amount of noise

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The entire staff has taken such great care of me over my last few stays. As a former NYC resident, I had wrongfully assumed their main function to be a "nice-mojitos-outside-in-summer" type-deal. As someone who now frequently has to drive to New York with oddly-sized art objects in tow, their courteous and quick valet system has made my life a lot easier. I also really like Room Service in general, and theirs is genuinely excellent (Beef Stroganoff! Thoughtful wine list!) When a friend of mine took an interest in the bathroom wallpaper, the conceirge was prepared to provide me with thorough, concise details about both the artist and the design firm behind its creation. There's also nothing like a friendly, attractive, appropriately-diligent person handing you a glass of sparkling rosé after a harrowing 6-hour drive. Oh yeah, and once I left some nail polish behind and got a personal phone call from their security staff asking if I needed it to be sent back to me. I mean, that's pretty nice. Thanks, Soho Grand!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SarahHumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#153 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#61 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#201 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#19 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#42 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing