We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If only the rooms lived up to the lobby & bar...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #171 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“If only the rooms lived up to the lobby & bar...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Upon arrival at the Soho Grand, you fall under the impression that you are about to witness something special. The lobby and bar area of the hotel are beautiful and give the feeling of stepping back to a bygone era.

Unfortunately this illusion drifts away when you enter your room. Apart from the good amount of space, the decor and fittings are distinctly average. The shower in particular was in desperate need of repair, with the head coming away from the wall.

The saving grace of the hotel is the friendliness of the staff and the great bar, which gave us two excellent breakfasts during our stay. However, given the price of the hotel, I believe there are likely better options to stay when visiting New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    833
    352
    153
    115
See reviews for
293
974
190
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This meticulously restored hotel in the middle of the Soho district is charming, and inviting: the staff is punctilious and friendly, the ambiance cozy and comfortable. But there is a neglect of details that first-class hotels do not miss. For example, the bathroom sink does not drain properly; the toilet seat does not sit properly on the toilet bowl and the seat cover bumps into your back whenever you shift your weight (I discovered the hinge was broken); robes are provided, but no slippers; the thermostat was not reliable: we set it at one temperature and the room temperature fell below it in short order. The breakfast was good, but not cheap; even then, there were mistakes: my wife ordered granola and yoghurt with a side order of fruit; she received yoghurt and two servings of fruit.

In our room, we were greeted with a plate of complimentary cupcakes, which was nice, but it was accompanied by a personal welcome letter to "Mr. Carter" (we were not "Mr. Carter").

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so-sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

stayed here for business and chose the hotel because it was within the corporate budget and had the location i wanted. right on the bottom of soho, close to a myriad of restaurants and bars this place is all about location. the actual hotel is nothing to write home about - it has a 20s kind of decor and carries it quite ok but nothing too impressive. standard hotel room otherwise. i would recommend staying on the north side (uptown side) or a really high floor room because during the summer there is an open summer terrace on the downtown side that can generate quite the amount of noise

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The entire staff has taken such great care of me over my last few stays. As a former NYC resident, I had wrongfully assumed their main function to be a "nice-mojitos-outside-in-summer" type-deal. As someone who now frequently has to drive to New York with oddly-sized art objects in tow, their courteous and quick valet system has made my life a lot easier. I also really like Room Service in general, and theirs is genuinely excellent (Beef Stroganoff! Thoughtful wine list!) When a friend of mine took an interest in the bathroom wallpaper, the conceirge was prepared to provide me with thorough, concise details about both the artist and the design firm behind its creation. There's also nothing like a friendly, attractive, appropriately-diligent person handing you a glass of sparkling rosé after a harrowing 6-hour drive. Oh yeah, and once I left some nail polish behind and got a personal phone call from their security staff asking if I needed it to be sent back to me. I mean, that's pretty nice. Thanks, Soho Grand!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SarahHumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the SoHo Grand. The room had a beautiful view of the Freedom Tower from our 15th floor room. It is well located off of Canal Street and West Broadway, so very walkable to check out all of the local SoHo sites and flavors. The hotel has a workout room, unfortunately the tv reception in the workout area did not allow for me to view tv while exercising.
The hotel had free wifi and a nice lounge. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewesbeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My daughter just landed her first job in New York and we were in Soho looking for a nearby apartment. The staff was friendly enough to inquire about our reason for our stay, and cheered us on as we went through the difficult process of finding a place in lower Manhattan. They celebrated with us when we secured a place, and were full of helpful local advice. We want to pass along our gratitude to Martin at the door (he represented the attitude of the Soho Grand perfectly, from the moment we pulled up!) And Daniel at the front desk made every effort to make our stay fun, stress-free and warm. He was fast and professional with our reservation and requests - while taking the time to make us feel so welcome! Emma is another gem. Like Daniel, she made us feel like we were valued friends. They even provided some congratulatory surprises in our room when we landed the right housing deal. I will be coming to visit my daughter in Greenwich Village for years to come, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. I travel for a living - all over the world - and few hotels can match this quality of service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great hotel, perfect location if your in to the district of Soho and Nolita areas- millions of small shops, restaurants and bars around- just fab!
Super nice doorman- and very professional receptions staff- changed our room efficiently when we liked a higher floor. Rooms are on the small side- but this is NYC.. like the decor throughout the hotel- dimly lit and miles away from that cold contemporary thing some hotels got going now. Bar and lounge service is so so- seams understaffed and the girls working probably make enough tip without making much of a effort- if this would be adjusted- pretty perfect place. Did not use gym at all- so no comments.
Overall- love it - will definitely go back next time we are in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asakatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#71 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#137 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#220 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#14 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#293 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing