We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What It's Cracked Up To Be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #174 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not What It's Cracked Up To Be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We selected the SoHo Grand because of it's rating as an upscale hotel. We were very disappointed. The hotel staff could not have been nicer. They were the one bright spot. The facility leaves a whole lot be desired. It's tired and our experience, prone to things breaking down. We were moved to another room due to a strange smell and the new room had issues with a number of different things (tv, air conditioning, telephone service). Clearly a real let down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 368frankm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    814
    347
    149
    114
See reviews for
277
943
185
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at the Soho Grand for 5 days during a recent business trip to NY. The room was generally pleasant. I would have preferred a desk to a round table but otherwise it was well appointed. But there were a few disappointments that I hadn't anticipated. The lobby is pleasant and buzzing, but the hallways on the room floors were drab, dimly lit and uninviting. So artwork would have helped. The bathtub in my room was dirty, with many footprints that could have been removed with some cleaner. I called housekeeping after my first night and asked that it be cleaned, but it never happened. There is no coffee maker in the room, and the one in the ice room was out of order on my last day. I called to have it fixed, but that didn't occur before I left. Instead, I tried to call for room service (during the room service opening hours) but after repeated tries, no one answered. The safe in the room was broken and wouldn't lock, but it didn't matter since it was so small it couldn't lock up my under-sized laptop. None of these items was fatal, but it was not what I expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

SoHo Grand Hotel is perfectly situated in Lower Manhattan within walking distance to several cool shops, bars and restauants. The rooms are very large by Manhattan standards and the staff is excellent. I have heard that there is a lot of noise from the streets that keeps guests at this hotel awake at night, but I honestly thought it was pretty quiet compared other NYC hotels I've stayed at. This is a classy joint with a lot going for it. Its not the cheapest place to stay, but it won't break the bank either. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B and H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The staff at the Soho Grand has in my opinion always been this property's greatest asset - they are always friendly, service-minded and greeting guests with a smile. It is slightly unfortunate that the rooms are not quite up to the same standard, with fittings and furniture showing overall wear and tear.

The location is great however and very close to all the shops and amenities of Soho and surrounding areas.

Again, I could not commend the staff enough for the forthcoming attitude but the hotel property itself and in particular the guest rooms is certainly in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here 1 night for work. Hotel itself is very nice. Has a foreign look and feel with a NY swagger. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Had a nice stay overall. Comfy bed, nice showers, clean. Not much to say on this one. 1 block off Canal St, so very convenient to stores and shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missthang10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Grand just has a wonderful friendly atmosphere: every single member of staff we encountered were friendly and efficient, striking exactly the right balance between the formal and the familiar. Breakfast was good, bar is too. Gilligan's is a great place for a couple of cold ones post-shopping, pre-dinner. Whilst the room wasn't jaw-dropping and the bathroom a little tired, the bed was very comfortable and road and AC noise complained of by some other reviewers not an issue - I slept like a baby every night. Location is A1.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy_abstentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is a charming place, old style, room can be small but well decorated, it is also very clean and well situated close to Canal Street Subway Station.
We were at the 11th floor but we could hear the street clearly, that can be annoying at night.

I really liked the place and my stay there but I have to say that there is something a bit "posh" about it, a little bit too serious... Staff is helpful but not very friendly.
People seemed to me a little bit judging, condescending. It is just a feeling.
The bar is beautiful, there is some salons that are also very beautiful, you should definitely explore and visit the place by yourself because no one will show it to you. And there are some very charming hidden spots to be discovered.

I don't regret my entire time in this hotel, it is still a good place but next time in New York, I will try another one !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julilali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#141 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#92 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#217 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#116 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#290 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#7 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing