We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Good but Good Place, can be noisy...”
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #175 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is a charming place, old style, room can be small but well decorated, it is also very clean and well situated close to Canal Street Subway Station.
We were at the 11th floor but we could hear the street clearly, that can be annoying at night.

I really liked the place and my stay there but I have to say that there is something a bit "posh" about it, a little bit too serious... Staff is helpful but not very friendly.
People seemed to me a little bit judging, condescending. It is just a feeling.
The bar is beautiful, there is some salons that are also very beautiful, you should definitely explore and visit the place by yourself because no one will show it to you. And there are some very charming hidden spots to be discovered.

I don't regret my entire time in this hotel, it is still a good place but next time in New York, I will try another one !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julilali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,875 - 1,881 of 3,034 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Soho Grand was once a really nice place to stay. Time has not been good to it. While the staff were all great and super friendly and helpful, I think it is time for a deep cleaning of the hotel itself! The main lounge area is adorned with faded, dirty, stained furniture and frayed carpeting. As this is such a key spot/offering for the hotel, why not replace the old tattered furniture? I agree with other reviewers that the darkness/dim lighting is over the top. The rooms are a cross between craftsman, cabin and eclectic design. For the most part my room was clean but the 'step to turn on' lamp had a protruding piece of broken plastic that cut my finger as I fumbled to figure out how to turn it on. Yes AC unit was very loud. While we were there a room was broken into. I called room service once and got a surly, terse staffer. This is a great location, with mostly great staff. Order the kale salad from Gilligan's. Very good. If you can get past the rough around the edges state they have slid into over the years, decent option for Soho area. P.S. very dog friendly!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank agj789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

So nice to stay in a property where you never "want." Great bed, awesome shower, beautiful view.

More importantly, everything worked perfectly/efficiently -- swift check-in, great service at Gilligan's, friendly staff, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Super staff, super dog friendly, super room, super concierge, super service, super hospitality, super place, super Soho Grand. We will see you again soon. Thanks for the perfect place to stay in NY if you want to feel like you are at home on vacation. FYI Louie loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkf8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed here for 16 years, and altho it's not quite the hipster attraction it was in the early days, rooms are clean and fresh, and service is better than ever, especially being greeted by Jose at the front door, he always recognizes and acknowledges my husband with a handshake and a smile. You can't beat the location for easy walking access to the Hudson, TriBeCa, Meat Packing, NoLita and the Village.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Soho Grand over 4th of July weekend. The location, on West Broadway, was perfect. We were close to subway stops, shopping, and fabulous restaurants. Our concierge, Alicia, got us reservations at Jimmy's at the James hotel for the 4th. I don't know how she pulled that off, but we went to the front of the line and were let in immediately while others were turned away as it was "guests only" at that point.
Great bar in the lounge; all around good spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed the location of our hotel, much more that staying in Times Square. The shoppingthere was perfect, and the transportation needs were easily met: subway, taxi's whenever you needed them wherever you were going. We had stayed on Wall Street before and the transportation was unreliable, so we were a little worried, but it was perfect. There was a shopping map the Concierge gave us showing every little nook and cranny shop in the entire area, making it really fun and easy to just set out walking and to come up with a plan of where to go next .

There were many coffee shops and small restaurants to stop off at on your way in our out of the hotel. Also it was not a packed pedestrian street, so you could walk at your own pace, so much different than staying in Times Square.

The bed was perfect, bathroom, typically small and clean. There was a coffee machine on every floor with good coffee so the mornings could start leisurely. The AC had a little to be desired, but it was all in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlandoTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#181 of 469 in New York City
1,439 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#94 of 469 in New York City
989 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#30 of 469 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#243 of 469 in New York City
1,080 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#79 of 469 in New York City
557 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 469 in New York City
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $240 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing