We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not Very Good but Good Place, can be noisy...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #163 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Very Good but Good Place, can be noisy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is a charming place, old style, room can be small but well decorated, it is also very clean and well situated close to Canal Street Subway Station.
We were at the 11th floor but we could hear the street clearly, that can be annoying at night.

I really liked the place and my stay there but I have to say that there is something a bit "posh" about it, a little bit too serious... Staff is helpful but not very friendly.
People seemed to me a little bit judging, condescending. It is just a feeling.
The bar is beautiful, there is some salons that are also very beautiful, you should definitely explore and visit the place by yourself because no one will show it to you. And there are some very charming hidden spots to be discovered.

I don't regret my entire time in this hotel, it is still a good place but next time in New York, I will try another one !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julilali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    860
    359
    157
    115
See reviews for
297
1,007
196
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Soho Grand was once a really nice place to stay. Time has not been good to it. While the staff were all great and super friendly and helpful, I think it is time for a deep cleaning of the hotel itself! The main lounge area is adorned with faded, dirty, stained furniture and frayed carpeting. As this is such a key spot/offering for the hotel, why not replace the old tattered furniture? I agree with other reviewers that the darkness/dim lighting is over the top. The rooms are a cross between craftsman, cabin and eclectic design. For the most part my room was clean but the 'step to turn on' lamp had a protruding piece of broken plastic that cut my finger as I fumbled to figure out how to turn it on. Yes AC unit was very loud. While we were there a room was broken into. I called room service once and got a surly, terse staffer. This is a great location, with mostly great staff. Order the kale salad from Gilligan's. Very good. If you can get past the rough around the edges state they have slid into over the years, decent option for Soho area. P.S. very dog friendly!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank agj789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

So nice to stay in a property where you never "want." Great bed, awesome shower, beautiful view.

More importantly, everything worked perfectly/efficiently -- swift check-in, great service at Gilligan's, friendly staff, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Super staff, super dog friendly, super room, super concierge, super service, super hospitality, super place, super Soho Grand. We will see you again soon. Thanks for the perfect place to stay in NY if you want to feel like you are at home on vacation. FYI Louie loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkf8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed here for 16 years, and altho it's not quite the hipster attraction it was in the early days, rooms are clean and fresh, and service is better than ever, especially being greeted by Jose at the front door, he always recognizes and acknowledges my husband with a handshake and a smile. You can't beat the location for easy walking access to the Hudson, TriBeCa, Meat Packing, NoLita and the Village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Soho Grand over 4th of July weekend. The location, on West Broadway, was perfect. We were close to subway stops, shopping, and fabulous restaurants. Our concierge, Alicia, got us reservations at Jimmy's at the James hotel for the 4th. I don't know how she pulled that off, but we went to the front of the line and were let in immediately while others were turned away as it was "guests only" at that point.
Great bar in the lounge; all around good spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed the location of our hotel, much more that staying in Times Square. The shoppingthere was perfect, and the transportation needs were easily met: subway, taxi's whenever you needed them wherever you were going. We had stayed on Wall Street before and the transportation was unreliable, so we were a little worried, but it was perfect. There was a shopping map the Concierge gave us showing every little nook and cranny shop in the entire area, making it really fun and easy to just set out walking and to come up with a plan of where to go next .

There were many coffee shops and small restaurants to stop off at on your way in our out of the hotel. Also it was not a packed pedestrian street, so you could walk at your own pace, so much different than staying in Times Square.

The bed was perfect, bathroom, typically small and clean. There was a coffee machine on every floor with good coffee so the mornings could start leisurely. The AC had a little to be desired, but it was all in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#148 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#60 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#201 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#21 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#44 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#301 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing