We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soho June 2013”
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #174 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Second time staying @ the SohoGrand hotel. This time the room was 9th floor facing north. Cannot recommend. The room was towards Grand St with the local restaurants and 6th Ave to the west. It was noisy through out the night. Either it was the people, traffic or the garbage collectors. Still can recommend the hotel just make sure not to stay in the north facing rooms and higher the the 11th floor :-) There was a construction project starting on West Broadway but at the time of our stay, maybe because it was the weekend, there was nothing happening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeoReino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 3,029 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for the weekend. We chose it after checking out of another very dissapointing hotel that sounded good on line, lol. The Grand was a huge and positive surprise--and a very good value. We don't normally stay in Soho but enjoyed it and really loved The Grand. The rooms are not as small as some say. They are very comfortable for a boutique type hotel. Closet is large. Staff is great, food was excellent. I can't say enough how terrific this place is and we've stayed at lots of NYC hotels--from the Mandarin and Four Seasons to the chains (Marriott, Hyatt and Hilton) to the Ian Shrager boutiques. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nostical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I booked five nights at the SoHo Grand, which we booked using an online booking website. On arrival on the Saturday night, they apologised and said that the Deluxe King with City View that we had booked, and paid extra for, was not available until the next day. However, they had a lovely room on the 16th floor available with a great view of Downtown. They said we could take a look at the Deluxe King the next day and either move or stay where we were if we preferred the room we were already in. Well, the next day we were taken to see the Deluxe room and as the "city view" wasn't brilliant, we decided to stay where we were, as long as they only charged us the same rate as we had booked. This was agreed and they did indeed charge us that rate. They also gave us coupons for free continental breakfast each morning, and as our flight was a late evening flight, they let has have late check-out free of charge too. The young lady we dealt with was lovely and extremely pleasant to deal with. Nothing was too much bother.

On the downside, what we didn't like was the restaurant. We had dinner there on the Saturday night. It was extremely busy and we were left sitting at our table for quite some time before anyone bothered to ask us what we wanted to drink, never mind take our dinner order! This was explained by the young lady who was serving us as an oversight on her part "because we looked just like the two guests who had previously been sitting at that table"!. Well, it was extremely dark in the restaurant so maybe that is a good excuse! In face it was so dark, I had to use the torch on my Blackberry to read the menu! It was also so loud we couldn't have a conversation, so as soon as we had eaten, we got up to go and sit out in the lounge, but were, told rather aggressively, that we couldn't do this without the waitress's consent, and anyway, all the seats in the lounge were reserved! We decided to just go back to our room.

The rooms were rather small, but ours had just been refurbished, so we were more than happy with it, and the bathrooms were very clean. Housekeeping staff we also very friendly and we had no complaints there.

There is a mini bar in the rooms, but very expensive. However, just opposite our room was a coffee/tea/water/ etc station where you could help yourself 24/7.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CockneySparrow201150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was a trip for our 10th wedding anniversary, so we decided to splurge a bit on the hotel side. So you should know that this hotel is not cheap.

Beautiful hotel when you step inside, great location smack in the middle of Soho. If you're a shopping and food fanatic like me, it's perfect!

We started our stay with the notification that we received an upgrade for our wedding anniversary, but that unfortunately, the room was not ready yet. To be honest, the glass of pink champagne, the excellent service at the reception and the upgrade made us forget this.
The room was quite large by NYC standards, so that was perfect. The view was gorgeous, you could look out over Soho. Bed: comfortable. Bathroom: it looked ancient, but that was the look they are going for, don't be mistaken, the amenities are in tip top condition. Noise level: next to nothing from the hallway and the other hotels. Of course, when you open the window, you get the NYC noises, but I love those :-)

We had an excellent stay. The bar is great, we had one of the best coffees there and the service is really nice. The people behind the concierge desk know what they're doing and they are extremely friendly. The same can be said for the doormen!
And if you think you see someone looking like a celebrity you know, it will probably be just that person!

Great stay, will certainly be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margot_VDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed at Soho Grand Hotel four nights on a business trip, last end of May 2013. This was my first time In this Hotel and must say the overall impression is positive. Let me said right the way what I dislike most: our room was a king-size, and although the interior and decoration (a bit too dark-mood though) are all-right, the bathroom is way too small; especially the bathtub and fosset which should be much bigger...On the other hand, the courtesy and helpfulness from the Hotel's staff let you soon to forget these "minors" discrepancies. The employees are alway there to serve and help with a smile! Excellent the location, just in the middle of Soho's top shopping and restaurants; but don't forget to try breakfast at the Hotel's main saloon, it's a must!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We checked in very late (having phoned earlier to inform the hotel about our late arrival) and this is a hotel that makes an effort. We had to find someone to check-in but they rushed about making us welcome after that, including a very welcome glass of champagne. We had booked a superior King and were so exhausted when we finally arrived that we just fell into bed. The bed was small, barely Queen size. The bathroom was tiny. It was all clean and well enough presented but we were surprised at the size of the amenities. When we mentioned the bed size at check-out we were told "well, that's actually a European King size bed". Live in Europe 6 months of the year; never heard of a European King..and anyway this is not a hotel in Europe and if you advertise a King bed it is what you should supply. We both felt the answer was unacceptable.

The area is great, the hotel is cool but I'm only giving it 3 stars because of the tiny bathroom and "European King" bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times.
The rooms are very clean, the hotel is neat, well frequented and in an good location in Soho.
I didn't like the bathroom size. Too too too small. Soo small it became a quote everytime I want to refer a small place.
But really, besides the bathroom, everything else is nice.
I wouldn't recomend it for travellers with more than 2 big suitcases either, because the room size is not big either. But it was indeed a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raquelmineira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#182 of 469 in New York City
1,438 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#96 of 469 in New York City
988 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#27 of 469 in New York City
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#245 of 469 in New York City
1,076 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#79 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 469 in New York City
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $244 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing