We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Excellent. Tragically hip.”
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #169 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent. Tragically hip.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time, the Soho Grand is a fine accomodation and I would recommend it to anyone visiting this part of the city. The only problems we experienced occurred on Tuesday and Wednesday, 3/19 and 3/20, when I figure the "B" team was working. On both of these days our breakfast order was completely wrong and the concierge never replied to us concerning booking transportation to the airport. The previous days all was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bird_and_Food_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    901
    373
    164
    119
See reviews for
317
1,064
209
751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

For the price, you can be very comfortable at this hotel, and sometimes treated very well. Don't count on them for consistency. They will have lots of excuses for why they couldn't do things right. But most of the time they are fine, and if you are independent and spending more time in the City than in the hotel, it is great. I loved the fresh juice, the gold fish (although they needed to clean the bowls), and the few nice people. If you like things sparkling clean and bright this is not the place for you. It is dark and smoky. Overall they treated us average with one very below average experience. For the location and price and fresh juice I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pelz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We live here in the area and know this hotel well. My wife and I stayed here as a night out to get some sleep because we have a new baby. We were completely shocked by how uncomfortable the bed was for such a nice and well-known boutique hotel.

We would never go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetter43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here. Rooms small and a bit noisy but but most of the hotels in New York are. The staff were fabulous the hotel is very modern and boutiquey. Loved it would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Soho Grand is not only perfectly located in the best part of town, it is just right for what we want to do. Pop in and out. Have a glass of wine in the lounge, mingle with interesting people. The rooms are chic-ly appointed and the bed is as comfortable as any I have ever slept in.

The food.... fantastic!

T boot...we brought our seven year old and she was in hog heaven! Thanks for a wonderfully friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The only reason I don't give it a 5 star is the room was small. But, this is NYC. Love the location, food in the restaurant, great beds and bathroom amenities. A couple of "extras" like the check-in champagne and coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine, along with a newspaper rack, in the ice machine area was great. Recommend the mexican/Japanese restaurant a half a block away. Can not understand any criticism about the staff. They were helpful and friendly. No attitude at all. Loved being on West Broadway in Soho.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tuscany7a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very comfortable, downtown hotel. Great location in shabby chic Soho. Good bedrooms with very comfortable beds. Reasonably quiet. Bedroom windows open for fresh air. A very comfortable stay. I will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonhoLusitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#14 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing