We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs welcome”
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #177 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Trendy hotel in lower manhattan. Dogs are welcome , but we stayed for 3 nights and never heard one bark. Nice bar area but the dining tables and chairs could be better. Rooms are small but nicely decorated. Bed was big and comfortable. Bathroom was well fitted out with both a bath and shower. Staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,971 - 1,977 of 3,014 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The people at SoHo Grand were very, very nice, great location, cool bar...But....I'd made my reservation a month early, I requested as high as floor possible away from the elevator-I sent a follow up e-mail to confirm this a week out- I called the day before my arrival.

Then I arrive... at midnight... to find the only room open is the lowest floor right NEXT to the elevator (mind you at almost 600. a night). I take it, I am tired and need a shower- The nice front desk guy named Ben promising better room for the next night.

I get to the room... then things got bad- the bedroom area is cleaned but the bathroom is a mess- it never got cleaned, towels on the floor, toilet not flushed - you get the picture-Yuk. They come to clean I go down to bar to eat- they comp the meal- it is now 1am and I've got morning meetings.

Next morning I hit the breakfast room- I order corned beef hash, my favorite- a greyish bowl of mush arrives- I can't eat beyond the half bite - Tommy, the sweet waiter, brought some scrambled eggs to replace the hash, but then I open the butter foil and there is mold...yeah they comped that meal too...

I get to my new room and the TV dosen't work- yep - just dosen't work- I try calling the front desk and can't get through- go down - line at check in- phones all busy- went and got dinner came back and got the manager- TV got fix- Then I go to plug in my phone charger and they only brought half of it when they moved my things to the new room- at first they said there was not anything they could do- but soon re-thought that went to the old room and got the other half (that midnight guest hadn't arrived yet!).

Everyone always aplogized- and very graciously fixed things- Zoe the assistant manager was embarassed I could tell-

This is supposed to be a first class place- compared to Gramarcy Park at least I could see in the hallways (so dark I had to use a flash light there to get in my room) - and the rooms had good lighting and were laid out well- But I am still on my search for a well located, really good hotel (note I didn't say great- just really good)-

I am sorry to say spending top dollar doesn't get the best in this case-

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oenomelej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Rooms are trendy, but like most New York hotels, are pretty small. What stands out is the bar area, which I type this from. We've been here for the last five hours; cocktails, people-watching and some great music have kept us here. I'm pretty sure we had other plans, but never mind!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DavidA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Be prepared to have loose dogs all over the place - running, barking, totally out of control. AND, although illegal in NYC, this place allows dogs to be in their restaurant. That means while you are eating, dogs will be running between your legs, jumping on the couch next to you, barking, begging for food and of course the owners (for the most part) think this is cute.

There is no effort to stop a dog from barking all night. I told the front desk that the dog in the next room barked incessantly and nothing was done after 7 complaints.

The furniture is early Goodwill so be prepared to stay at a DUMP.

On the other hand, the staff (except for not responidng to my complaint which is probably owner-driven) is marvelous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LenInMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can't imagine any place to be more "new yorker" than the Soho Grand. Chic in a low profile and elegant way, and cosmopolitan, it would be the perfect set for an episode of "Sex and the City". Rooms are not as large as you would expect in a hotel in the US, but the attention to every single detail will make you love it. It is expensive, however, and not surprisingly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Interesting stylish hotel in Soho, very good position for shopping and nice restaurants, I suggest Salume, 330 WB , for breakfast, lunch and great aperitivo. People are friendly and professional, amazing concierge service.
Rooms so and so: incredibly noisy air conditioning and poor acoustic isolation from the street. Price above average.
I would recommend . But Be careful to check room position .... And air conditioning system!
A

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent service and staff - rooms are tiny but very clean - great location. Room service is faster than promised - food was not gourmet but better than average. My room got very hot and dry through the night - didn't find the temperature control.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalcy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#185 of 469 in New York City
1,428 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#93 of 469 in New York City
970 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#72 of 469 in New York City
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#21 of 469 in New York City
537 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#248 of 469 in New York City
1,035 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $272 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing