We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #172 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for a week, my husband on business, me to explore the city. Hotel was well located for transport links, and SoHo a perfect antidote to the skyscrapers both up and downtown, with its boutiques, restaurants and galleries. Room was clean and light, bed (with down duvet and pillows) was fantastically comfortable, WiFi brilliant. Not the world's biggest room, but had everything we needed. Didn't hear from our neighbours, so the internal soundproofing must have done its job. That said, we were on the 15th floor and the traffic (with its incessant horn honking) was loud late into the night...not sure I'd like to be lower down. Bar was stylish - but with so many other wonderful places on your doorstep (Boqueria for tapas a particular favourite) why not explore? Make a point of going to Dominic Ansel on Spring St for breakfast pastries, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    833
    352
    153
    115
See reviews for
293
974
189
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

"Peter" from Concierge was extremely helpful and went above and beyond when helping to assist my boss! Always a plus when you have a beautiful establishment and a courteous and friendly staff to match! Thanks so much for all of your help :)

-Melissa C (Chicago)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I read some reviews about certain issues with the hotel, but I found none of them during my stay in August at the Soho Grand.

The room was clean and a good size for a NYC hotel room (I had a deluxe king); the hotel is nice with great bars and restaurants. We had a few drinks at the "Yard", which is an outside bar on the first floor and more of a lounge really.

Small details about the rooms - they were clean, the WIFI was free and had great signal; not sure how much TV you'd want to watch while being in NYC but they offer many more channels than your regular hotel. The AC in the room worked really well; we had to turn it off all the time b/c it was so cold.

I saw reviews about the staff being snobby (which I wouldn't have minded taken the area I'm in); but everyone was friendly. The valet guys were helpful and nice, the front desk was friendly enough and even gave me a late check out on a Saturday.

Overall, very happy with our stay. It's a great hotel in Soho, and in a great location. I paid about $350 per night so you expect a great stay for that money, but I'm happy to say I was indeed pleased with the Grand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The location is obviously great but the rooms are small, dirty, dark. It took me a long time to figure out the TV. The rooms are badly designed for working, plugs hardly reachable, eventhough Wifi works very well. A/C is noisy.
Hot water in the bathtub comes after 1 minute. Gym is so dirty and equipment outdated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean-michel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codogno, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've stayed here several times and I like this place. The location in the heart of Soho, the characteristic design and the bar are great. Probably, the staff is not very polite sometimes, but you can afford it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attilio70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed here many times as carefree singles, a married coupe on a business trip and most recently as new parents with 4 month old in tow. This place never disappoints and we never get a bill that makes us feel guilty. With a sexy bar, easy wifi and attentive staff amd killer comfy beds we always enjoy our stay. Even with a four month old in tow we didn't feel skid dish or out of place. They have a wonderfully diverse clientele that always makes the bar a great people watching pew. It's our home in new York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madcowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Soho Grand. Check in was a breeze and the staff was extremely helpful. Loved the glass of bubbly when we checked in. Hotel room did not have a coffee maker and at the hotel bar the drink prices were typical outrageous New York City prices. Skip the drinks at the hotel and head to Little Italy which is in walking distance for a reasonably priced dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PugConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#138 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#214 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#17 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#295 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Property: Soho Grand Hotel
Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing