We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back!”
Review of Soho Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soho Grand Hotel
Ranked #174 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for a week, my husband on business, me to explore the city. Hotel was well located for transport links, and SoHo a perfect antidote to the skyscrapers both up and downtown, with its boutiques, restaurants and galleries. Room was clean and light, bed (with down duvet and pillows) was fantastically comfortable, WiFi brilliant. Not the world's biggest room, but had everything we needed. Didn't hear from our neighbours, so the internal soundproofing must have done its job. That said, we were on the 15th floor and the traffic (with its incessant horn honking) was loud late into the night...not sure I'd like to be lower down. Bar was stylish - but with so many other wonderful places on your doorstep (Boqueria for tapas a particular favourite) why not explore? Make a point of going to Dominic Ansel on Spring St for breakfast pastries, too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 3,009 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

"Peter" from Concierge was extremely helpful and went above and beyond when helping to assist my boss! Always a plus when you have a beautiful establishment and a courteous and friendly staff to match! Thanks so much for all of your help :)

-Melissa C (Chicago)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melissa1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I read some reviews about certain issues with the hotel, but I found none of them during my stay in August at the Soho Grand.

The room was clean and a good size for a NYC hotel room (I had a deluxe king); the hotel is nice with great bars and restaurants. We had a few drinks at the "Yard", which is an outside bar on the first floor and more of a lounge really.

Small details about the rooms - they were clean, the WIFI was free and had great signal; not sure how much TV you'd want to watch while being in NYC but they offer many more channels than your regular hotel. The AC in the room worked really well; we had to turn it off all the time b/c it was so cold.

I saw reviews about the staff being snobby (which I wouldn't have minded taken the area I'm in); but everyone was friendly. The valet guys were helpful and nice, the front desk was friendly enough and even gave me a late check out on a Saturday.

Overall, very happy with our stay. It's a great hotel in Soho, and in a great location. I paid about $350 per night so you expect a great stay for that money, but I'm happy to say I was indeed pleased with the Grand.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The location is obviously great but the rooms are small, dirty, dark. It took me a long time to figure out the TV. The rooms are badly designed for working, plugs hardly reachable, eventhough Wifi works very well. A/C is noisy.
Hot water in the bathtub comes after 1 minute. Gym is so dirty and equipment outdated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean-michel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've stayed here several times and I like this place. The location in the heart of Soho, the characteristic design and the bar are great. Probably, the staff is not very polite sometimes, but you can afford it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attilio70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed here many times as carefree singles, a married coupe on a business trip and most recently as new parents with 4 month old in tow. This place never disappoints and we never get a bill that makes us feel guilty. With a sexy bar, easy wifi and attentive staff amd killer comfy beds we always enjoy our stay. Even with a four month old in tow we didn't feel skid dish or out of place. They have a wonderfully diverse clientele that always makes the bar a great people watching pew. It's our home in new York.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madcowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Soho Grand. Check in was a breeze and the staff was extremely helpful. Loved the glass of bubbly when we checked in. Hotel room did not have a coffee maker and at the hotel bar the drink prices were typical outrageous New York City prices. Skip the drinks at the hotel and head to Little Italy which is in walking distance for a reasonably priced dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PugConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#183 of 469 in New York City
1,428 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#90 of 469 in New York City
968 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#75 of 469 in New York City
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#21 of 469 in New York City
535 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#249 of 469 in New York City
1,029 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Grand Hotel

Address: 310 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10013-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $276 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Soho Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City’s celebrated luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of downtown, Soho Grand features impeccably decorated guest rooms, chic bar and lounge and is steps from NYC’s best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Soho Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soho Grand
Hotel New Soho York
Soho Grand Hotel New York
Soho Grand New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing