We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Superb - Best in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Great Family Escape
Ranked #2 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb - Best in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

This is going to sound a bit over the top but I had an exceptional stay at the Sherry Netherland and give the hotel my highest recommendation:

Location: A perfect location for exploring the city. Central Park is across the street, the exclusive Boutique shops of 5th Avenue and Madison are blocks away, Broadway Theater - Rockefeller Center - top Restaurants and Museums are all a short walk (there is also a beautiful restaurant off the lobby - Cipriani's - but we did not have a chance to visit).

Service: Warm, friendly and very crisp service was delivered throughout my stay. Housekeeping was flawless - with one of the most thorough evening turn-down services I think I have ever experienced. Every inch of our suite was immaculate.

Room: Staying at the Sherry is like having your own luxury apartment right in the city. We had a City View Suite with a lovely view, spacious living area, dining area, beatuiful bath with a fantastic shower and every bath amenity imaginable, and great bedding and linens. Fresh flowers, chocolates, and soft drinks were complimentary with a nice welcome note from the management. The decor was classy and elegant and included all of the modern electronic conveniences.

Summary: Staying at the Sherry makes you feel like a celebrity. It is so intimate and personal, yet offers everything (and all of the services) you can want. Hands down my favorite hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    50
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
152
227
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

When you arrive the door will be opened for you. When you get into the sequestered gilded lobby you will be introduced to each of the staff members who will be helping you during your stay. One of them will escort you to your room. This is a hotel for extreme privacy, right on the southern edge of Central Park. The spacious rooms evoke an old Holywood film, and you leave partly surprised you didn't meet Fred Astaire. If you've never felt special, this place will teach you some tricks.

  • Liked — superior service and privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

SN is a small jewel.
It has only 50 rooms and suites. Most or all are individually owned and furnished but run by the hotel. Rooms are recently renovated and are luxurious in traditional way.
It is like having your own opulent apartment at the best location in NY.

  • Liked — private ldeluxe apartment feeling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Absolutely gorgeous, large suite with expansive views on Central Park. It even came complete with binoculars and a bird watching book as well as a telescope - very nice touches! Lovely large master bathroom, huge living room that was really lushly appointed, not so large bedroom ( ! ) , sweet guest bath. Extraordinary views, excellent service, excellent room service, great location. If you don't mind spending - this is a wonderful choice.

  • Liked — Lushness of suite
  • Disliked — can't think of anything!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewindatourfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

Very nice hotel, a little overpriced. I do have to agree with a previous write-up, in saying that the front desk help are not very nice. You would think they would be a bit more courteous. Just remember there are plenty to choose from.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Watch yourself with this hotel! They wait until the night before you arrive to send out a confirmation email and they change the prices.

We booked ourselves into a suite 6 weeks in advance. A day before we arrived they sent a confirmation email with a 15% increase in price and an extra charge added for our intended use of the sleepr sofa for our two children.

The reservation clerk I spoke to giggled on the phone when I called to ask why the price had been raised.

The Netherland has seen better days - recommend avoiding it!

  • Disliked — Extremely poor service and attitude
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank EastCoaster1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCityRoadie, Rooms Division Manager at The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2007
The Sherry-Netherland regrets that this traveler felt he was overcharged, and that the hotel is overpriced. In the event a guest has not been sent a confirmation, The Sherry will make every attempt to honor the rate the guest thought he was entitled to. Our policy is to send a confirmation within 48 hours of booking, and on all confirmations it should state the price of an additional bed, $20. This clearly did not happen for this guest, and we apologize for the omission.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

I was put up here for the week by a client after the usual hotel I stay at fell through, and it was a pleasure. The room I was in was wonderful, though I didn't get the view of the city or park that other rooms would have. I'd like to complement them on being the first hotel I have stayed in where they actually have HDTV programming for the HDTV's (everyone else just has stretched standard TV signals on their expensive LCD TV's I find). The hotel gym was by far the best I've had in the past year on the road, with plenty of cardio equipment with individual LCD TV's, and a good selection of machine and free weights as well. The shower in my room was the best I've experienced as well, tons of pressure.

The only downsides to the hotel were that the wireless internet access was fairly slow, and would drop sometimes for a few seconds, and it just felt strange to me to have someone run the elevator for me. I didn't like having someone know that I was just stepping out to grab a burger down the street.

It's out of my price range when I come to NYC for fun unfortunately, but I do hope that work can put me up here again the next time I'm in town for business.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank smackrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,863 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#10 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,505 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Property: The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing